The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #886  
Old 2005-12-18, 05:02 PM
rherron's Avatar
rherron rherron is offline
Columbia, SC
108.77 GB/109.04 GB/1.00
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: Problem viewing DVD on DVD player

You must open all ifo files and look in the bottom window at those lines of text. You are just looking for instances of NTSC or PAL. If you see the words PAL anywhere you might have a problem.

Go up to the Technobable Archive and scroll down one or two posts to a thread entitled PAL to NTSC (or something like that) and look in there at my post. It explains how to "convert" one to the other.

Rob
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #887  
Old 2005-12-18, 07:23 PM
diggrd's Avatar
diggrd diggrd is offline
1.10 TB/1.70 TB/1.54
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SWNH
Re: 2plies dvd into normal

You mean like this one? Or even cheaper? That just doesn't seem right although you get what you pay for I guess
__________________
DEMONROAST
LIST
Scene of a Perfect Crime


Quote:
Originally posted by frankenberry
anybody else who decides to call me a fuckhead troll newbie (you know who you are) should be made to listen to phish bootleg taped by a '73 led zeppelin taper
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #888  
Old 2005-12-19, 08:08 AM
lastepic's Avatar
lastepic lastepic is offline
256.15 GB/348.70 GB/1.36
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: Problem viewing DVD on DVD player

One very important point to remember, using the IFO method you aren't actually 'converting' anything - you are just 'tricking' your DVD player into thinking it's playing an NTSC disc. If your player- or your TV - has no PAL support at all, you will still not get it to play correctly.

There is another inherent problem. Athough the DVD 'standards' were drawn up to make all things equal, the two formats have different 'standards'..For instance, PAL includes MPEG audio in it's permitted standards- NTSC does not, so many manufactured for NTSC markets DVD players will not handle anything that has got MPEG audio. So, even if you've got a DVD player that you know can handle the PAL format discs because it's played back a pre-recorded disc in the past, it may well not play a 'homemade' PAL disc that uses MPEG audio. This usually shows itself in a strange way- the sound will play back ok, but the picture will either freeze or you'll get very choppy, blocky video.

To be honest, the best solution is to grab a cheap player that can handle anything you throw at it. For instance, the Cyberhome 300-under $40 at best buy and under 20 with mail in rebates off the net - will first of all try to play the disc back in it's 'native' format- if it can't, it will do an 'on the fly' conversion which gives a very decent output. There are other players out there that will do this, but I know of the Cyberhome one as it's used by many people on other video/DVD lists i'm on.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #889  
Old 2005-12-19, 09:28 AM
jaytarn
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Problem viewing DVD on DVD player

Thanks..

I understand that I would just be "tricking" the player into thinking it's playing an NTSC DVD.

Turns out that my DVD player supports both, but also had a setting for what the TV supported. That setting was set to "multi" even though my TV ONLY supported NTSC.

When I set that correctly, the DVD (even the original I was given ) will now play correctly on my TV and DVD players.

Now the question is will it work on "my friends" DVD player and TV ??

Stay tuned.
And thanks for the education...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #890  
Old 2005-12-19, 09:48 AM
lastepic's Avatar
lastepic lastepic is offline
256.15 GB/348.70 GB/1.36
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: Problem viewing DVD on DVD player

It's worth delving through his DVD (and TV ) settings to see if there is a settings change like you've done. A lot of times, even though the player doesn't say it's multi standard, it may well actually handle either format. It should do really, because you can buy commercially released 'Region 0' discs that could be either PAL or NTSC. Sometimes, manufacturers just 'mask' all of it's capabilites, so a Google search for your make model and then 'firmware' after it may well direct you to upgraded firmware that can turn your region 1, NTSC only machine into a multi region, multi format one.


It's more likely to be the TV that causes the problem because very few North American TV's have PAL compatibility.

Finding out whether your disc is PAL or NTSC-probably the easiest way is to use your DVD playing software. I use Power DVD, and on that, with the DVd playing, just right click the screen and choose 'Configuration' and the info will tell you what the TV format is.

Last edited by lastepic; 2005-12-19 at 09:57 AM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #891  
Old 2005-12-21, 01:02 AM
pyro's Avatar
pyro pyro is offline
the USA pyro
70.48 GB/56.66 GB/0.80
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: occasionally
Re: Burning A Video DVD Using MAC OSX? (Error)

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne
Hey Toto, check this out and then see if ffooky or Graham or pyro checks in:

http://u2lynne.sandsmuseum.com/burning.html#anchor9
hey that's me .... too bad i'm 2 months late and don't know the answer anyway though
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonnnnn
Comments were originally designed as a place to have an open discussion about a torrent, in an easily accessible location, hence on the torrent page. *It was never intended to be a place to show 'gratitude'. *Its purpose was to discuss any issues that might arise from the torrent, give informed opinions about the torrent, notification of any problems with said torrent, ask for different formats, etc.

Then it devolved into this thankfest thing that, while stroking the uploader's ego, is absolutely useless for any real purpose.

This whole 'thanks whoring' thing is a fairly recent phenomenon, and is in fact a bastardization of what the feature was intended for.

Personally, the # of people who download one of my uploads tells me far more about whether or not I did good than any number of 'Thank You!s' ever will.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #892  
Old 2005-12-21, 01:07 AM
wilson's Avatar
wilson wilson is offline
TTD VIP
61.11 GB/79.12 GB/1.29
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Burning A Video DVD Using MAC OSX? (Error)

the simplest way to burn a video_ts on a mac can be done very easy with out pay ware

google dvd imager for mac ....download that small free program....simply image the dvd and then use the disk utility to burn the image

lynne link is the way to go
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #893  
Old 2005-12-21, 10:48 AM
ffooky ffooky is offline
14.55 GB/14.61 GB/1.00
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Burning A Video DVD Using MAC OSX? (Error)

If DVD Imager doesn't work for a particular vid, you can try LiquidCD which will be free for a little while longer at least.
__________________
Two tracks for a desert island:

Black Keys - I Got Mine
Tintern Abbey - Vacuum Cleaner
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #894  
Old 2005-12-24, 08:08 AM
micenzo's Avatar
micenzo micenzo is offline
223.23 GB/152.44 GB/0.68
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Slovakia
Re: 2plies dvd into normal

Oh fellas, I am drawning here. In my country, double layers DVDs arent standard. they're not sold around here. They are comming on the market slowly, with the players. I got this dvd (the beatles 2layers one) from a friend, who's sister lives in holand, she got it from there.

Is anyone going to believe? one more time: In my country, double layers DVDs arent standard. (i love copy and paste)
__________________
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #895  
Old 2005-12-24, 03:16 PM
alfienoakes101
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: 2plies dvd into normal

Quote:
Originally Posted by micenzo
Is anyone going to believe? one more time: In my country, double layers DVDs arent standard.
I hate to contradict you, but dual-layer DVD players are standard everywhere, and as far as I know, always have been. Even the cheapest players you can buy. I'm pretty certain that it would be more expensive for manufacturers to build and stock two variants, than to have a single standard.

I believe that the issue of single and dual-layer drives only arose with the advent of the DVD burner, and even single-layer burners function as dual-layer ROM drives. Perhaps your issue is something else. There are double-sided, as opposed to dual-layer discs. Could that be what we're talking about?

There is a simple way to verify whether you can play dual-layer discs. Take some commercial DVD's that do work in your player, place them in your PC's drive, go to "My Computer", and right-click the disc to get the properties of the DVD. If the used space value on any of those discs is over 4.4GB, then they are dual-layer.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #896  
Old 2005-12-25, 11:16 AM
micenzo's Avatar
micenzo micenzo is offline
223.23 GB/152.44 GB/0.68
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Slovakia
Re: 2plies dvd into normal

Quote:
Originally Posted by alfienoakes101
I believe that the issue of single and dual-layer drives only arose with the advent of the DVD burner, and even single-layer burners function as dual-layer ROM drives. Perhaps your issue is something else. There are double-sided, as opposed to dual-layer discs. Could that be what we're talking about?

There is a simple way to verify whether you can play dual-layer discs. Take some commercial DVD's that do work in your player, place them in your PC's drive, go to "My Computer", and right-click the disc to get the properties of the DVD. If the used space value on any of those discs is over 4.4GB, then they are dual-layer.
I will check it (aint home now.) but the matter is, No one can play this dvd, no one I know, but one person with some fucking expensive dvd burner that can read it. will check what it is. Merry christmas to all
__________________
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #897  
Old 2005-12-27, 03:38 PM
micenzo's Avatar
micenzo micenzo is offline
223.23 GB/152.44 GB/0.68
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Slovakia
Re: 2plies dvd into normal

Oh fuck, how can I check it, when I insert that dvd into my PC SONY dvd reader and it shows nothing? No CD/DVD inside?
__________________
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #898  
Old 2005-12-28, 12:08 PM
bvm bvm is offline
16.50 GB/15.49 GB/0.94
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
To make DVD's of Heavy Metal Kids dld

Hi there.

I have just finished downloading Heavy Metal Kids (all 12gb of it-phew!), anyway, If i want to convert it to its full 3 disc glory, what do I do- all the files are in DVD format, and are recognised by Nero showtime. Is it simply a matter of burning all the files to DVD?, or do I have to use an authoring app like Sony DVD architecht?

Thanks in advance, and merry xmas to everone
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #899  
Old 2005-12-28, 12:58 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: To make DVD's of Heavy Metal Kids dld

for each disc you'll see a VIDEO_TS folder that you downloaded with .vob, .bup & .ifo files.

when you burn you need to use this VIDEO_TS and also an empty AUDIO_TS folder and nothing else on the DVD. Take a look at how any dvd in your collection looks when you view it in explorer and you'll get an idea how your burned disc should look.

Nero has a "VIDEO DVD" mode that creates the folders for you.

no reauthoring necessary!

hope this helps

happy holidays
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #900  
Old 2005-12-28, 02:03 PM
bvm bvm is offline
16.50 GB/15.49 GB/0.94
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Re: To make DVD's of Heavy Metal Kids dld

Thankyou so much.

This is by far the best bootlegging hotspot on the net, everyone is so wonderfully kind and helpful, its how the net should be.

Also, I want to get my ratio up, but am having slow up speeds. My ports are forwarded, and I'm using BitLord (it seems noone else is, so that could be my problem!). Please Help me to help!

Thanks a bunch
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Problems burning dual layer DVDs - Tubular Technobabble 68 2009-05-04 12:58 PM
Problems burning dvds, answer asap!! - popeye Technobabble 1 2007-02-17 01:11 PM
CD burning problems...Nero... - Gratefulzepp Technobabble 3 2006-04-12 09:41 PM
Need help with burning problems - taylordb Technobabble 7 2006-02-18 10:40 PM
Burning audio problems - Greengoat Technobabble 5 2005-01-15 07:07 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts