The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #631  
Old 2005-10-07, 12:31 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Video DVD burning problem

i usually just select all files > drag to the red Video_TS folder...try again, if it doesn't work, i would post in the show's thread and see if others are having any prblems
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #632  
Old 2005-10-07, 01:13 PM
TheMamba's Avatar
TheMamba TheMamba is offline
I love them redheads!
70.51 GB/140.66 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Florida
Re: Video DVD burning problem

Have you tried re-burning the show? Just a thought...could be some weird funk-o/pseudo burn screw up...
__________________
Audio List

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpermaLopez
Sorry, I'm still a n00b.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #633  
Old 2005-10-07, 03:07 PM
feralicious's Avatar
feralicious feralicious is offline
dare to discover
63.44 GB/133.90 GB/2.11
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: occasionally
Re: Video DVD burning problem

I don't know why it won't play in your stand alone, but the fact that VLC plays it but Showtime won't makes me think you may be missing a codec of some sort. Will Showtime play it off your HDD?
__________________
feralicious goodies
Don't get even.
Get odd.

....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #634  
Old 2005-10-07, 04:01 PM
onemanguitarband onemanguitarband is offline
62.31 GB/55.68 GB/0.89
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Re: Video DVD burning problem

I'm not really sure why it is having trouble with your computer play back. But I wonder about your standalone player. Have you used any DVD+/-R burned by other people in it? The particular model you have seems to have some terrible reviews.

I have a Samsung Upconverting DVD player (their top of the line player) and it is great in many regards, but can be quite picky about the burner used to create the disc (even using the best quality media). In fact you can use crappy media as long as you use an HP 630i burner.

The playback problem on the computer is puzzling, if you haven't played back DVD+/-Rs before, you might want to see if you can get your hands on some that were burned by someone else, to narrow down the problem.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #635  
Old 2005-10-07, 07:11 PM
slslbs's Avatar
slslbs slslbs is offline
48.26 GB/47.73 GB/0.99
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: MA
Re: Video DVD burning problem

I may have figured out the problem. When I went to play the video, I got a message saying that I need to purchase the DVD video plug in for $24.99. Anyone know of an alternative?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #636  
Old 2005-10-07, 07:31 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Video DVD burning problem

just use VLC...screw 25 buckz for DVD viewing on yer comp
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #637  
Old 2005-10-07, 09:13 PM
slslbs's Avatar
slslbs slslbs is offline
48.26 GB/47.73 GB/0.99
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: MA
Re: Video DVD burning problem

I would like to burn the video to DVD. can i do this with VLC (I couldn't figure that out). I thought I should be able to do that with Nero without buying extra stuff.
thanks
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #638  
Old 2005-10-08, 07:10 AM
brentmac1 brentmac1 is offline
19.21 GB/12.77 GB/0.66
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Another newbie dvd burning question....

After downloading a moe. dvd I have used sonic recordnow to burn the data on to dvds. They won't play on my home dvd player. I downloaded the free version of burnatonce, how do I use it to burn playable dvds?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #639  
Old 2005-10-08, 11:52 AM
alg alg is offline
106.37 GB/57.87 GB/0.54
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
DVD menu issue

Sorry again to post re dvd burning. I have searched with no joy prior to posting.
DVD -nero 6 reloaded-drag video_ts to left box method results in initial menu and playable disc. I cannot get the track selectable menu to appear on the dvd. I khow there is one from HD playback.

The nero 6 software does include a menu section on setup but I do not seem to be able to spot my mistake.

Should I open the video_ts folder and select files to left box or does someone fnow what I am doing wrong ???
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #640  
Old 2005-10-09, 01:07 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Another newbie dvd burning question....

you probably burned it as a "data disc"...you need to choose DVD-Video disc format for playback on yer standalone
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #641  
Old 2005-10-09, 01:10 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: DVD menu issue

are you using Nero Burning ROM or one of the other nero programs? what disc format are you selecting at the beginning?
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #642  
Old 2005-10-09, 08:39 PM
alg alg is offline
106.37 GB/57.87 GB/0.54
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Re: DVD menu issue

Using dvd-video from initial dvd menu in nero 6 suite, then drag 'n' drop of video_ts folder into lefthand window nero opens. It then reads and we go to menu 'customisation' window which shows menu from disc.
It is a PAL/NTSC mix and nero asks re conversion. I have burnt as both and the only problem is the failure of the menu to be interactive ! Works fine on HD playback
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #643  
Old 2005-10-09, 10:25 PM
mcganahan
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Another newbie dvd burning question....

I downloaded a Dead video from here and when I went to burn it to DVD with Toast, it told me that the VIDEO_TS folder was encrypted. I thought encrypting was against TTD policy and so far I haven't been able to get anyone to respond on the actual video thread. Any help here? I'm running a Mac Powerbook using Toast 7. Thanks.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #644  
Old 2005-10-09, 10:29 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Another newbie dvd burning question....

We don't allow encrypting of any sort here. Are you sure you burned it correctly? Did you burn it as Data > DVD-ROM (UDF) or Video > DVD-Video? And which options did you check off? Did you add an AUDIO_TS folder or an EXTRAS_TS folder?

And, finally, did you run the md5 checksum against the files to make sure they all downloaded correctly?
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #645  
Old 2005-10-10, 02:11 AM
ffooky ffooky is offline
14.55 GB/14.61 GB/1.00
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Another newbie dvd burning question....

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcganahan
I downloaded a Dead video from here and when I went to burn it to DVD with Toast, it told me that the VIDEO_TS folder was encrypted. I thought encrypting was against TTD policy and so far I haven't been able to get anyone to respond on the actual video thread. Any help here? I'm running a Mac Powerbook using Toast 7. Thanks.
Just a thought...Were you still seeding the DVD at the time ? It might have been one of the ones for which Toast wants to alter the IFO/BUP files.

Alternatively, have you checked that the VIDEO_TS folder/files within is/are not Read only ? Seems a lot of the time, Windows makes files/folders this way and Toast would encounter the same problem if it wanted to alter the BUP/IFO files
__________________
Two tracks for a desert island:

Black Keys - I Got Mine
Tintern Abbey - Vacuum Cleaner
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Problems burning dual layer DVDs - Tubular Technobabble 68 2009-05-04 12:58 PM
Problems burning dvds, answer asap!! - popeye Technobabble 1 2007-02-17 01:11 PM
CD burning problems...Nero... - Gratefulzepp Technobabble 3 2006-04-12 09:41 PM
Need help with burning problems - taylordb Technobabble 7 2006-02-18 10:40 PM
Burning audio problems - Greengoat Technobabble 5 2005-01-15 07:07 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts