The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #31  
Old 2005-06-27, 02:35 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: External DVD burner question (Mac)

I would think there would be no problem with that. Firewire is definitely the way to go!
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #32  
Old 2005-06-27, 02:40 PM
gsmyth79's Avatar
gsmyth79 gsmyth79 is offline
Happy little trees
TTD VIP
659.93 GB/7.41 TB/11.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bi-Mon-Sci-Fi-Con
Re: External DVD burner question (Mac)

Thanks Lynne, you're always on the ball!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #33  
Old 2005-06-27, 03:51 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: External DVD burner question (Mac)

what lynne said...i've had to daisy-chain before, and never had aproblem when running thru the firewire [i'd burn at a reasonable speed, just as a safety precaution]...

you can always pick up a firewire multi-hub later on to expand [they're gettin cheap]...
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #34  
Old 2005-06-27, 04:12 PM
outpostnorth outpostnorth is offline
VBT Mod
TTD VIP
2.02 TB/2.13 TB/1.06
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: External DVD burner question (Mac)

yes...just to reiterate...firewire loves to daisy chain
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #35  
Old 2005-07-22, 05:14 AM
Evenreven's Avatar
Evenreven Evenreven is offline
smile!
11.18 GB/48.46 GB/4.33
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: External DVD burner question (Mac)

Hey, this is nice info! I didn't know that was possible.

Btw, that burner is great. Never had any problems. And it makes it possible for me to read dvd+r's - a big plus.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #36  
Old 2005-07-22, 10:14 AM
gsmyth79's Avatar
gsmyth79 gsmyth79 is offline
Happy little trees
TTD VIP
659.93 GB/7.41 TB/11.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bi-Mon-Sci-Fi-Con
Re: External DVD burner question (Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evenreven
Hey, this is nice info! I didn't know that was possible.

Btw, that burner is great. Never had any problems. And it makes it possible for me to read dvd+r's - a big plus.
It's the best hundred bucks I've spent in a long time! I got a refurbished one and it's like new!
__________________
I was saying Boo-urns.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #37  
Old 2005-07-22, 11:21 AM
Evenreven's Avatar
Evenreven Evenreven is offline
smile!
11.18 GB/48.46 GB/4.33
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: External DVD burner question (Mac)

WHAT?! Hundred dollars? I bought one for my workplace for the Norwegian Kroner equivalent of 300 dollars.

It's more than a year ago now, though.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #38  
Old 2005-07-22, 01:01 PM
gsmyth79's Avatar
gsmyth79 gsmyth79 is offline
Happy little trees
TTD VIP
659.93 GB/7.41 TB/11.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bi-Mon-Sci-Fi-Con
Re: External DVD burner question (Mac)

I just got it from the lacie website. Refurbished firewire d2s are USD99.
__________________
I was saying Boo-urns.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #39  
Old 2005-08-06, 12:13 PM
LastHonestFool03
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Dual Layer DVD Burner?

I was looking on newegg.com for one, but I can't tell which ones are dual layer and which ones are single layer, anyone got anyhelp?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #40  
Old 2005-08-06, 01:23 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Dual Layer DVD Burner?

plextor px-716...by far the best
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #41  
Old 2005-08-06, 01:29 PM
LastHonestFool03
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Dual Layer DVD Burner?

thanks, and I heard I might need to get firmware, and flash it? I have no idea what that means...and also, how would I install it on my laptop?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #42  
Old 2005-08-06, 02:39 PM
TheMamba's Avatar
TheMamba TheMamba is offline
I love them redheads!
70.51 GB/140.66 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Florida
Re: Dual Layer DVD Burner?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LastHonestFool03
I was looking on newegg.com for one, but I can't tell which ones are dual layer and which ones are single layer, anyone got anyhelp?
If it's dual-layer, it will most definitely tell you.
__________________
Audio List

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpermaLopez
Sorry, I'm still a n00b.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #43  
Old 2005-08-06, 03:14 PM
guygee's Avatar
guygee guygee is offline
Non Serviam
1.17 TB/2.93 TB/2.50
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Astro Intergalactic Infinity
Re: Dual Layer DVD Burner?

I've been a loyal Plextor fan for many years, and I bought the Plextor PX-716A, but when I tried to flash the bios something went wrong, and now I get the dreaded "double flashing amber light". I went through the whole troubleshooting procedure on the Plextor website, but to no avail. I have to RMA it. In the meantime, I needed a DVD drive, and I went with the Sony DRU-800A (which is really just a rebranded LiteOn 1693S). Both of these drives have Dual Layer capability, whcih I do not plan to use since I want downward compatability. I should add that the Plextor is rated 8x DVD+R write, but it only seemed reliable up to 6x (this could have been the media, though) while the Sony easily writes 16x, even with system load like ABC running.

Plextor may produce a higher quality product with respect to jitter and other technical specs, but there is also the issue of system interoperability. I notice that Plextor does not appear in the list of manufacturers when you try to add hardware to Windows XP. The last Plextor drive I bought, a year or two ago, was the PX-708UF external, and I can't get Windows to recognize it anymore. I don't know, maybe it is fried, but it really wasn't used all that much.

Then there was the tiff over Plextor lawyers shutting down the free source PxScan and PxView projects, just so they could try and make money on their PlexTools Professional Software ( you can read all about this incident here:
http://yro.slashdot.org/article.pl?s...139203&tid=185 )
Hardware vendors suddenly trying to generate revenues from software products is usually a bad sign (e.g. SGI). I have to wonder if Plextor is slipping a bit. Any informed comments welcome.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #44  
Old 2005-08-06, 03:19 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Dual Layer DVD Burner?

all you have to do to update firmware is to go to the website [for instance, plextors main site if you buy a plextor], find the Firmware downloads page, and d/l the appropriate fw for yer drive model.
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #45  
Old 2005-08-06, 04:28 PM
guygee's Avatar
guygee guygee is offline
Non Serviam
1.17 TB/2.93 TB/2.50
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Astro Intergalactic Infinity
Re: Dual Layer DVD Burner?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LastHonestFool03
thanks, and I heard I might need to get firmware, and flash it? I have no idea what that means...and also, how would I install it on my laptop?
For your laptop you should get an external DVD with USB 2 or Firewire (IEEE1394) interface. If your laptop doens't support these, you can get a PCMCIA Card to support either. USB 1.x is too slow. The Firewire is slightly faster than USB 2 (I've done the measurements). Most external drives support both.

As for flashing the firmware upgrade, be very careful! (See my post above). Read the manufacturers instructions carefully, and also read the troubleshooting guides before you flash. Usually, you have to disable DMA before you can successfully flash your firmware. This goes like: Contol Panel->System->Hardware->Device Manager->IDE ATI/ATAPI Controllers->open->right click Properties-> (Uncheck "let BIOS select" if needed), then choose PIO mode for both primary and secondary channels. Reboot, flash, then reverse the procedure to turn DMA back on.

The Plextor website didn't mention tunrnng off DMA until after the fact (If you have a problem...then turn off DMA), while the Sony website told me upfront. This is probably the cause of the failure I had with my Plextor drive.

Once you disable your DMA, the procedure is very simple, you just download the firmware upgrade application from the manufacturers support webstire and run it. If you follow the instructions carefully, it should not be difficult.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
internal burners - x-ray man Technobabble 2 2007-11-09 09:08 PM
What DVD Burners do you recommend? - Doug Gabriel Technobabble 14 2007-05-29 08:21 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts