The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 2006-12-20, 02:32 PM
STLBlues's Avatar
STLBlues STLBlues is offline
Seiwa-en
TTD VIP
515.69 GB/744.37 GB/1.44
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ozarks
Re: Is it possible to put 24 Bit PCM audio on a DVD video?

O.k. I have successfully created a DVD-Video with 24/48 audio, and not only that, but 24/96 audio as well. For the 24/96 bitrate of 4608 kb/s, I had to render my video at a max bitrate of 5000 kb/s. I was working w/ a Hi8 master, and cannot tell a difference in picture quality versus a 8000 max bitrate. This brings new meaning to the picture being half the experience, and the audio being the other half. Literally. Your DVD player must be capable of outputting a 96k signal, as well as your receiver. Otherwise it will be down-sampled to 48k and not use all 24 bits. This was accomplished with DVD Lab PRO 2.0. Again, Sony DVD Architect is not capable of this. But working w/ 24/96 WAV's can be tricky, because most programs will not work with WAV files over 2GB in size. SoundForge, Vegas included in those programs which cannot handle it. But there is a loop hole, so to speak. If there are any questions about that, I can answer them.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #17  
Old 2006-12-20, 03:29 PM
wilson's Avatar
wilson wilson is offline
TTD VIP
61.11 GB/79.12 GB/1.29
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Is it possible to put 24 Bit PCM audio on a DVD video?

final cut has supported 24bit PCM audio for years

you pc people and all your complicated shit
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #18  
Old 2006-12-20, 04:25 PM
STLBlues's Avatar
STLBlues STLBlues is offline
Seiwa-en
TTD VIP
515.69 GB/744.37 GB/1.44
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ozarks
Re: Is it possible to put 24 Bit PCM audio on a DVD video?

Cool.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #19  
Old 2007-01-02, 03:36 AM
rocknroll's Avatar
rocknroll rocknroll is offline
472.60 GB/420.87 GB/0.89
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: District of Columbia
Re: Is it possible to put 24 Bit PCM audio on a DVD video?

Excellent. Thank you for your input.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Synching Audio w/ Video - bosscheech Technobabble 4 2008-04-06 06:39 AM
Dvd Audio/video sync fix - GeoffP Technobabble 1 2007-10-29 06:03 PM
No audio when I FF to missing video section w/audio sync - aikox2 Technobabble 0 2006-08-26 04:24 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts