The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 2006-09-06, 12:07 AM
saveferals
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Firewalled: Again????

should i change my port number to the number that is not firewalled? Unsure why 50000 is suddenly firewalled. Thanks for all of your help!!!!!!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #17  
Old 2006-09-06, 12:09 AM
tman88's Avatar
tman88 tman88 is offline
40.05 GB/41.95 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: May 2006
Re: Firewalled: Again????

Hi
I used a sight called firewalling dot com/routers.htm
to figure out this kinda of stuff
-t
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #18  
Old 2006-09-06, 12:13 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Firewalled: Again????

Quote:
Originally Posted by saveferals
should i change my port number to the number that is not firewalled? Unsure why 50000 is suddenly firewalled. Thanks for all of your help!!!!!!
Well, what I'm getting at is you are saying that you are using 50000, but something in your setup is not using that port and they are successfully using that other port. So, something is off in your setup. I don't care what port you use, but all your applications need to know what port to use and right now one of those applications is not using the port you said you told it to.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #19  
Old 2006-09-06, 12:13 AM
saveferals
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Firewalled: Again????

Thanks for the above but I had this working at one time!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #20  
Old 2006-09-06, 12:15 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Firewalled: Again????

Quote:
Originally Posted by tman88
Hi
I used a sight called firewalling dot com/routers.htm
to figure out this kinda of stuff
-t
Looks just like portforward.com . Perhaps a mirror site?
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #21  
Old 2006-09-06, 12:17 AM
tman88's Avatar
tman88 tman88 is offline
40.05 GB/41.95 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: May 2006
Re: Firewalled: Again????

Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Lynne
Looks just like portforward.com. Perhaps a mirror site?
somewhat the same I dont think a exact mirrior
-t
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #22  
Old 2006-09-06, 12:20 AM
saveferals
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Firewalled: Again????

Well, I added a different port that was working before and added it to everything. I don't have the firewaLLED sign anymore. Hopefully it will stay this way!!! Should I close the other ports or does it matter?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #23  
Old 2006-09-06, 12:20 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Firewalled: Again????

Quote:
Originally Posted by saveferals
Thanks for the above but I had this working at one time!
And, it is working currently for port 24907. You said you were using 50000 for your bt client, but it seems to want to use that other port and that port is fine. You were using port 24907 (not firewalled) and then five minutes later you switched to port 50000 (firewalled). Why? You are manually doing something to firewall yourself.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #24  
Old 2006-09-06, 12:23 AM
saveferals
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Firewalled: Again????

I switched to port 24907 because you said it was working! Which it seems to be. I manually set up the 50000 initially when I started using the client weeks ago. Since you said 24907 was working I changed to that...
I have no idea where or why 24907 came from because I didn't set it to that before..
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #25  
Old 2006-09-06, 12:24 AM
saveferals
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Firewalled: Again????

my dl speeds are up again to 104 kbs/sec
uploads are at 32

Firewalling makes a huge difference
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #26  
Old 2006-09-06, 12:31 AM
saveferals
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Firewalled: Again????

Resolved-thanks very much.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #27  
Old 2006-09-06, 12:36 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Firewalled: Again????

I have a feeling it's not resolved. I think your bittorrent client is set to randomly select a port. You might look into that. (I asked before what bt client your were using and you never said). I guess we'll hear from you after your next reboot.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #28  
Old 2006-09-06, 12:39 AM
saveferals
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Firewalled: Again????

I set the bittorrent settings to accept port 24,907 so why wqould it randomly choose upon reboot?
I'll check the version
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #29  
Old 2006-09-06, 12:42 AM
saveferals
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Firewalled: Again????

Version 4.20.9

Should the "enable automatic port mapping" box be checked in the settings of bittorrent????
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #30  
Old 2006-09-06, 12:42 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Firewalled: Again????

Quote:
Originally Posted by saveferals
I set the bittorrent settings to accept port 24,907 so why wqould it randomly choose upon reboot?
I'll check the version
Are you using the official bittorrent client, BitTorrent? Other clients, like uTorrent and ABC (I think), have a Randomize Port option. Make sure that is Off and check what port that show is being used at the time you turn it off.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
FIREWALLED - Buckeyedog Technobabble 19 2009-03-12 12:37 AM
Firewalled - canon Technobabble 1 2007-02-04 12:07 PM
Firewalled??? - dannyandamie Technobabble 1 2007-01-31 07:01 PM
there is no way i am firewalled.... - trip4life Technobabble 2 2007-01-25 04:08 PM
Firewalled? - wbaetz Technobabble 8 2007-01-11 05:33 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts