The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 2006-06-02, 11:32 PM
fatjay_69r's Avatar
fatjay_69r fatjay_69r is offline
21.62 GB/12.23 GB/0.57
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Re: Does Azureus have to be such a CPU hog?

I had Bit Lord for about a week before i got rid of it. I couldn't connect to any trackers at all, (Firewall was off and all) and it just had problems. Then i got Bit Comet, and although it looks almost exactly the same, it has worked perfectly for over a year now. I like the fact it gets updated so often because i know that the guys developing this program are putting effort in, not just letting problems come up. I never liked UTorrent or Azureus, i had some problems with my firewall. I knew the problem would be solved if i turned my firewall off, but i didn't want that, i want to have it on all the time, just to feel safe . So if you are still having problems i would get bit comet, if not stay with your program you have now. Just an opinion.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #17  
Old 2006-06-03, 06:29 PM
randytravis's Avatar
randytravis randytravis is offline
791.86 GB/10.16 TB/13.14
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Georgia
Re: Does Azureus have to be such a CPU hog?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatjay_69r
i know that the guys developing this program are putting effort in, not just letting problems come up.

except for the fact that it abuses the superseed mode of clients, by connecting and disconnecting to them rapidly in order to appear as a new peer and get more data. bitcomet (and it's ripoffs, bitspirt and bitlord) is banned from a number of private trackers due to it's past abuse of the private flag and the aforementioned problems with abusing the protocol.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #18  
Old 2006-06-07, 12:12 AM
Malth Malth is offline
10.19 GB/15.92 GB/1.56
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Re: Does Azureus have to be such a CPU hog?

utorrent is probably the best client ever made

If you properly forward your ports, it will give you no problems
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #19  
Old 2006-06-13, 09:00 PM
E_rock's Avatar
E_rock E_rock is offline
93.01 GB/90.94 GB/0.98
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Re: Does Azureus have to be such a CPU hog?

O.K. after all the discussion, I had to find out for myself, so I switched to Utorrent. Been using it for 4 or 5 days and everthing's fine. Yes, it's a lighter load and a very nice program but it doesn't seem to be as "tweekable" as Azureus. Does anybody have any suggestions on how to get better UL spd.? I can download like the dickens. I was getting moments of 80-90 kbs. ULing with Az. using the help links posted here, now I can't seem to break 45 or so. Just asking, don't want to spend another year experimenting, Thanks.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #20  
Old 2006-06-16, 03:21 AM
randytravis's Avatar
randytravis randytravis is offline
791.86 GB/10.16 TB/13.14
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Georgia
Re: Does Azureus have to be such a CPU hog?

n/m
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Azureus help - habalushy Technobabble 0 2007-11-27 07:38 PM
Azureus 2.4.0.2 - toys Technobabble 14 2006-03-21 10:54 AM
Azureus 2.3.0.6 - pmonk Technobabble 3 2005-12-30 08:58 AM
Azureus Help - Cyndiotta Technobabble 9 2004-11-16 02:49 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts