The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 2005-12-03, 10:23 PM
Qstick333
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Newbie - confused about flac

I downloaded Burnnn and have had no problems making copies of stuff on my hardrive. However, I cannot figure out how to burn something off of a cdr onto my hardrive. I cannot get Burnnn to recognize anything in the drive, however foobar does recognize (but I don;t think I can burn to my hardrive with foobar???) the cdr.

Dell Musicmatch also recognizes the cdr if that matters. What is the preferred way to get flac and other (some are mp3) files from a cdr onto my harddrive so that I can burn them onto another cdr?

Thanks for the help,

Zach
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #17  
Old 2005-12-03, 11:31 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Newbie - confused about flac

a program called Exact Audio Copy

Nero doesn't make an exact audio copy
Neither does Easy CD Creator et al

exactaudiocopy.de

also check the link in my signature to learn how to compensate for the offsets for your specific drives. this is also very important!
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #18  
Old 2005-12-03, 11:46 PM
DoIFeelLucky's Avatar
DoIFeelLucky DoIFeelLucky is offline
89.39 GB/113.04 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto
Re: Newbie - confused about flac

Yeah, EAC is definitely the way to go. Just for clarity's sake, though:

"burning" refers to creating a CD or DVD from files already on your hard drive.
"Ripping" is the term used to describe extracting digital media from a CD or DVD onto your hard drive.

Exact Audio Copy is pretty much the greatest audio CD ripper for Windows, which is why it's usually the first one that people here will recommend. Burrrn only burns audio CDs - it has no ripping capability.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #19  
Old 2005-12-04, 02:16 AM
SundayDriver's Avatar
SundayDriver SundayDriver is offline
72826
77.39 GB/133.18 GB/1.72
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: the swamps of Jersey
Re: Newbie - confused about flac

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoIFeelLucky
Yeah, EAC is definitely the way to go. Just for clarity's sake, though:

"burning" refers to creating a CD or DVD from files already on your hard drive.
"Ripping" is the term used to describe extracting digital media from a CD or DVD onto your hard drive.

Exact Audio Copy is pretty much the greatest audio CD ripper for Windows, which is why it's usually the first one that people here will recommend. Burrrn only burns audio CDs - it has no ripping capability.

Doesn't CDWave also support digital extraction?
without all the pops

I use burnatonce for burning audio CDs, works great.
The only minor issue with it is that the default is a 2 second pause in between tracks. You have to go back, and switch that manually for each track, you can't just change it once for all of them. But at least it gives you that option, not like other crap programs such as Nero.

Nero
You can't fathom the number of coasters I've burned with Nero.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #20  
Old 2005-12-04, 05:12 AM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Newbie - confused about flac

Quote:
Originally Posted by DumbLuck
Doesn't CDWave also support digital extraction?
without all the pops

I use burnatonce for burning audio CDs, works great.
The only minor issue with it is that the default is a 2 second pause in between tracks. You have to go back, and switch that manually for each track, you can't just change it once for all of them. But at least it gives you that option, not like other crap programs such as Nero.

Nero
You can't fathom the number of coasters I've burned with Nero.
what pops?

can cdwave compensate specific read and write offsets? can burrrn? I think not!

Try copying an audio cd to an audio cdr and re-extract from that and generate checksums from both to see if your copy is 100% exact. Using EAC I can get an exact copy. That's what I'm talking about.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #21  
Old 2005-12-04, 06:37 AM
DoIFeelLucky's Avatar
DoIFeelLucky DoIFeelLucky is offline
89.39 GB/113.04 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto
Re: Newbie - confused about flac

Quote:
Originally Posted by DumbLuck
I use burnatonce for burning audio CDs, works great.
The only minor issue with it is that the default is a 2 second pause in between tracks. You have to go back, and switch that manually for each track, you can't just change it once for all of them. But at least it gives you that option, not like other crap programs such as Nero.
Actually, there's a way to set no 2-second pause as a default option for all CDs. Click the Settings menu, then Options... - in the window that opens up. There are four different groups of settings that you can choose from the list on the left. Pick Audio Mastering; one of the options available is "2 Second Pause." Now when I create an audio CD project, there is no pause between tracks by default. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #22  
Old 2005-12-04, 02:01 PM
SundayDriver's Avatar
SundayDriver SundayDriver is offline
72826
77.39 GB/133.18 GB/1.72
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: the swamps of Jersey
Re: Newbie - confused about flac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Five
what pops?

can cdwave compensate specific read and write offsets? can burrrn? I think not!

Try copying an audio cd to an audio cdr and re-extract from that and generate checksums from both to see if your copy is 100% exact. Using EAC I can get an exact copy. That's what I'm talking about.
Pops, as in little half second spikes in the wave form, easily seen in any .wav editor, and painful to listen to.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #23  
Old 2005-12-04, 02:14 PM
SundayDriver's Avatar
SundayDriver SundayDriver is offline
72826
77.39 GB/133.18 GB/1.72
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: the swamps of Jersey
Re: Newbie - confused about flac

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoIFeelLucky
Actually, there's a way to set no 2-second pause as a default option for all CDs. Click the Settings menu, then Options... - in the window that opens up. There are four different groups of settings that you can choose from the list on the left. Pick Audio Mastering; one of the options available is "2 Second Pause." Now when I create an audio CD project, there is no pause between tracks by default. Hope this helps.
Thanks, I set it up.

Now here's my other question about bao: does it automatically use TAO or DAO burning modes? From what little information I was able to find in this thread, it seems like TAO:

http://www.burnatonce.com/forums/ind...?showtopic=181

Or is it that since you're just burning a created image, it doesn't matter?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #24  
Old 2005-12-04, 03:34 PM
DoIFeelLucky's Avatar
DoIFeelLucky DoIFeelLucky is offline
89.39 GB/113.04 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto
Re: Newbie - confused about flac

That's a pretty old post. I'm not sure which it uses. The website says it's a GUI for a few things, including the cdrdao project from Sourceforge, which is a set of tools for DAO burning only.

Also, it has options for writing CD-Text, and that is only possible when burning DAO.

I dunno, I just use Burrrn for audio CDs these days, I find it suits my needs more than any other program right now. Been burning a lot of CDRs with that program these past few months, no problems.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #25  
Old 2005-12-04, 06:25 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Newbie - confused about flac

Quote:
Originally Posted by DumbLuck
Pops, as in little half second spikes in the wave form, easily seen in any .wav editor, and painful to listen to.
you're doing something wrong or else everything on this site would have those pops and it doesn't. everybody in the trading world uses EAC to avoid problems like you describe. perhaps you are accidentally using burst mode when it should be secure mode
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #26  
Old 2005-12-04, 09:28 PM
SundayDriver's Avatar
SundayDriver SundayDriver is offline
72826
77.39 GB/133.18 GB/1.72
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: the swamps of Jersey
Re: Newbie - confused about flac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Five
you're doing something wrong or else everything on this site would have those pops and it doesn't. everybody in the trading world uses EAC to avoid problems like you describe. perhaps you are accidentally using burst mode when it should be secure mode


How would I go about knowing/changing that setting in EAC?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #27  
Old 2005-12-04, 09:30 PM
SundayDriver's Avatar
SundayDriver SundayDriver is offline
72826
77.39 GB/133.18 GB/1.72
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: the swamps of Jersey
Re: Newbie - confused about flac

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoIFeelLucky
That's a pretty old post. I'm not sure which it uses. The website says it's a GUI for a few things, including the cdrdao project from Sourceforge, which is a set of tools for DAO burning only.

Also, it has options for writing CD-Text, and that is only possible when burning DAO.

I dunno, I just use Burrrn for audio CDs these days, I find it suits my needs more than any other program right now. Been burning a lot of CDRs with that program these past few months, no problems.
I just updated burnatonce for DVD burning. I'll take a look at Burrrn.

I would think that if it doens't have gaps, it would be DAO, but maybe not.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #28  
Old 2005-12-04, 09:37 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Newbie - confused about flac

Quote:
Originally Posted by DumbLuck


How would I go about knowing/changing that setting in EAC?
hit F10 to pull up drive options, make sure you're in secure mode

also check the link in my signature about EAC, you can learn to set the offsets and all that jazz. there's an article there called "the truth about offsets" which really helps to explain what is wrong with 99.9% of ripping progs.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #29  
Old 2005-12-04, 10:09 PM
SundayDriver's Avatar
SundayDriver SundayDriver is offline
72826
77.39 GB/133.18 GB/1.72
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: the swamps of Jersey
Re: Newbie - confused about flac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Five
hit F10 to pull up drive options, make sure you're in secure mode

also check the link in my signature about EAC, you can learn to set the offsets and all that jazz. there's an article there called "the truth about offsets" which really helps to explain what is wrong with 99.9% of ripping progs.


Only figures, I was in burst mode all this time. Thanks, I'll switch it to secure mode and switch the offsets and see what happens.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #30  
Old 2005-12-04, 10:12 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Newbie - confused about flac

cheers!

I'm glad to help you work that out.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
confused about wireless - newtdecay Technobabble 4 2007-05-04 05:30 PM
Newbie confused - zonecoach Technobabble 3 2005-05-06 06:44 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts