The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #61  
Old 2005-01-15, 10:22 AM
wharfrat73's Avatar
wharfrat73 wharfrat73 is offline
362.41 GB/843.48 GB/2.33
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Maryland
Re: Audiophilia - The shntool frontend, v0.0.1 released, alpha testers needed

If you're not using XP there's Command Prompt Here that will automatically navigate to the folder that you right click on so that you can run shntool commands on that folder.

Once you have shtool in your path perhaps the best thing to do is create batch files that allow you to drag and drop a folder and run a command. That way you don't have to type the commands every time. RainDawg has info on how to do that here .

So what you want to do is set up a batch file like this:
@echo off
%~d1 & cd %*
for %%T in (shn flac wav ape) do if exist *.%%T shntool len -u mb *.%%T
pause

You can change the bold part to do different things, for example, insert the command shntool md5 in place of shntool len. For commands that you'd want to output to a text file like shntool len or shntool md5 the batch file should look like this:

@echo off
%~d1 & cd %*
for %%T in (shn flac wav ape) do if exist *.%%T shntool md5 *.%%T>>shntool.len.txt
pause

This time you would change the bold text to whatever you would want to call the output file.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #62  
Old 2005-01-15, 05:30 PM
feralicious's Avatar
feralicious feralicious is offline
dare to discover
63.44 GB/133.90 GB/2.11
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: occasionally
Re: Audiophilia - The shntool frontend, v0.0.1 released, alpha testers needed

Thanks AndyL and wharfrat. Gonna try that stuff later on.
__________________
feralicious goodies
Don't get even.
Get odd.

....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #63  
Old 2005-01-20, 09:30 AM
pmonk's Avatar
pmonk pmonk is offline
510.95 GB/621.08 GB/1.22
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Audiophilia - The shntool frontend, v0.0.1 released, alpha testers needed

Bumping this up to the front!

I am a soldier in the "I have no fucking idea how to get shntool to work" army
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #64  
Old 2005-01-20, 08:27 PM
Tom
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Audiophilia - The shntool frontend, v0.0.1 released, alpha testers needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmonk66
Bumping this up to the front!

I am a soldier in the "I have no fucking idea how to get shntool to work" army
I can't get it to work via the WinXP command line, but if you want it to examine tracks for sector boundary errors, I use the following command in a .bat file:
Code:
shntool len *.flac > shnlength.txt
(You can substitute flac for any other audio extension)

Then, drag the bat file into the folder of files you want to analyze and start it up. The results will flash off the screen quickly, but will be saved to a text file within the directory. I've never had a problem with this method, I don't know why the other fancy commands in wharfrat's post are ever needed.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #65  
Old 2005-01-20, 09:46 PM
wharfrat73's Avatar
wharfrat73 wharfrat73 is offline
362.41 GB/843.48 GB/2.33
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Maryland
Re: Audiophilia - The shntool frontend, v0.0.1 released, alpha testers needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom
I've never had a problem with this method, I don't know why the other fancy commands in wharfrat's post are ever needed.
Because it will run shntool len on any format you don't need seperate batch files for every file type.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #66  
Old 2005-01-21, 02:00 AM
Tom
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Audiophilia - The shntool frontend, v0.0.1 released, alpha testers needed

Ah, looks like I'll be using your method then. Thank you!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #67  
Old 2005-01-21, 05:12 AM
rerem
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Audiophilia - The shntool frontend, v0.0.1 released, alpha testers needed

When it comes to the meanings of/ % \~~~~ and all that I go into a dos-trance and so I seem command line impaired. Shntool has been like this neat book I got for $2,a 100yr old leather bound Illiad...which I can't read as it is either in Greek or dos. As with the book,a translation into my native language of point-n-click will make Shntool more than a bunch of dormant kilobytes
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #68  
Old 2005-01-21, 08:20 AM
wharfrat73's Avatar
wharfrat73 wharfrat73 is offline
362.41 GB/843.48 GB/2.33
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Maryland
Re: Audiophilia - The shntool frontend, v0.0.1 released, alpha testers needed

Btw, don't thank me this is RainDawg's stuff. Check out the links in his sig. It's very helpful.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #69  
Old 2005-01-22, 08:52 PM
toys
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Audiophilia - The shntool frontend, v0.0.1 released, alpha testers needed

Previously downloaded the shntool frontend and was able to generate shntool md5 files with it easily. Just went to use it again so I could seed another show here, and for some reason it no longer works for me. Instead of generating the shntool md5 file as it did before, now it is giving me a file with no file extension, and under file type instead of indicating it is an md5 checksum file it is listed only as "file". I uninstalled, reinstalled, and the exact same thing is still happening.

Same PC with the same operating system as before when it worked fine, so I don't know what is going on? Maybe some Windows update that I downloaded messed with the program? But then when I uninstalled and reinstalled that should have taken care of it... so maybe I just forgot one simple thing from when I used it before? Ideas? Suggestions?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #70  
Old 2005-01-23, 01:13 PM
uhclem
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Audiophilia - The shntool frontend, v0.0.1 released, alpha testers needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by wharfrat73
If you're not using XP there's Command Prompt Here that will automatically navigate to the folder that you right click on so that you can run shntool commands on that folder.
<snip>
In WinXP just drag the FOLDER you want to check onto your shnlen batchfile and it will check it for you. That's what the %~d1 & cd %* line is for. I should know since I'm the one who originally wrote this particular batch file. (Strictly speaking it should be 'cd %1' but that's ok).
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #71  
Old 2005-01-23, 01:34 PM
RainDawg's Avatar
RainDawg RainDawg is offline
Renegade Geek
10.20 GB/20.72 GB/2.03
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Passing swiftly through The Moor
Re: Audiophilia - The shntool frontend, v0.0.1 released, alpha testers needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by uhclem
In WinXP just drag the FOLDER you want to check onto your shnlen batchfile and it will check it for you. That's what the %~d1 & cd %* line is for. I should know since I'm the one who originally wrote this particular batch file. (Strictly speaking it should be 'cd %1' but that's ok).
Actually, it was originally %1 when you wrote it, but I altered this to %* at one point because it works better passing arguments to some programs where there are spaces in the filename or pathname. Md5check specifically is one of these where it just wouldn't work consistently from the shell with %1, but when I changed to %* it did. It became habit, and I changed all my batch files to this nomenclature.

But yes, your suspicions are correct, this batch file is certinaly derived, by me, from the one you posted on STG for -len. Give credit where credit is due .
__________________
Through the clouds,
Throught the lies,
We'll never see,
What's never been,
At the ending of life and the coming of death,
Pass not through its gates but into the dark.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #72  
Old 2005-01-23, 04:09 PM
wharfrat73's Avatar
wharfrat73 wharfrat73 is offline
362.41 GB/843.48 GB/2.33
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Maryland
Re: Audiophilia - The shntool frontend, v0.0.1 released, alpha testers needed

I suppose to be totally accurate a lot of this work really should be credited to Caleb Epstein.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #73  
Old 2005-01-23, 05:36 PM
uhclem
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Audiophilia - The shntool frontend, v0.0.1 released, alpha testers needed

Md5Check should be credited to Caleb Epstein, w/o a doubt.

Raindawg, to get around the problem you mention put quotes in there thus:

%~d1 & cd "%1"
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #74  
Old 2005-01-24, 12:07 PM
RainDawg's Avatar
RainDawg RainDawg is offline
Renegade Geek
10.20 GB/20.72 GB/2.03
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Passing swiftly through The Moor
Re: Audiophilia - The shntool frontend, v0.0.1 released, alpha testers needed

Toys, did you try adding the std extension to the file? Or opening it with notepade to see if the checksum data got there, but that it just didn't name the file correctly?
__________________
Through the clouds,
Throught the lies,
We'll never see,
What's never been,
At the ending of life and the coming of death,
Pass not through its gates but into the dark.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #75  
Old 2005-01-24, 12:11 PM
RainDawg's Avatar
RainDawg RainDawg is offline
Renegade Geek
10.20 GB/20.72 GB/2.03
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Passing swiftly through The Moor
Re: Audiophilia - The shntool frontend, v0.0.1 released, alpha testers needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by uhclem
Raindawg, to get around the problem you mention put quotes in there thus:

%~d1 & cd "%1"
Yes, I tried this, and it still had certain times it would not work. When linking the batch file to a command in the right-click context menu through, basically just calling the batch file stored in the registry, it wouldn't work. I needed to change it from "%1" to %* to ensure that it sent all of the directory's path to md5check.

Note that the batch file created when you run the official installer program uses just %1, no quotes, and as thus won't work for anything where there is a space anywhere is the filename or pathname. It can be fixed by changing that to %*, or at least, it worked on my system.
__________________
Through the clouds,
Throught the lies,
We'll never see,
What's never been,
At the ending of life and the coming of death,
Pass not through its gates but into the dark.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Shntool frontend - uhclem Technobabble 23 2005-05-28 05:43 PM
Audiophilia - The Shntool Frontend Update - RainDawg Technobabble 3 2005-02-23 03:43 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts