The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 2005-08-14, 12:35 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: help! i dont wanna be red :(

Unfortunately, I'm not a PC person... I was kinda hoping one would peek in here. But, you can tell what your current local IP is by opening up the terminal and typing "ipconfig". The 192.168.1.xxx is your local IP. That should be the one you put into your router. If you have everything right for a static IP, then that IP should *always* show up when you do an ipconfig on that computer. If it is dynamic, then the last number can change.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #17  
Old 2005-08-14, 09:10 AM
Chachi420's Avatar
Chachi420 Chachi420 is offline
db.etree.org/chachi420
TTD VIP
206.73 GB/1.15 TB/5.72
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: help! i dont wanna be red :(

I just bought a Linksys WRT54G wireless router to hook up my laptop.
1. Type you ip into the internet browser (ie Mozilla Firefox).
2. The default username and password is blank for username and "admin" for password.
3. Click "Applications and Gaming" > "Port Range Forward"
4. Forward the port range which your bt client is using (usually 6881-6889, but may be different)
5. Select "Both" for Protocol TCP & UDP
6. Then Click "Applications and Gaming" > "Port Triggering"
7. Type BitTorrent 6881 to 6889 6881 to 6889 enable
Save everything and restart the computer.
Hopefully that will help
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #18  
Old 2005-08-14, 09:49 AM
Chachi420's Avatar
Chachi420 Chachi420 is offline
db.etree.org/chachi420
TTD VIP
206.73 GB/1.15 TB/5.72
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: help! i dont wanna be red :(

Update: Well, I spoke too soon. I tried the above and it just got me to "yellow". I am using BitTornado T-0.3.9
I'm on the right track though...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #19  
Old 2005-08-14, 05:37 PM
Chachi420's Avatar
Chachi420 Chachi420 is offline
db.etree.org/chachi420
TTD VIP
206.73 GB/1.15 TB/5.72
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: help! i dont wanna be red :(

I'm green now!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #20  
Old 2005-08-14, 06:04 PM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: help! i dont wanna be red :(

What does blue mean?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #21  
Old 2005-08-14, 06:23 PM
LastHonestFool03
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: help! i dont wanna be red :(

oh, I didnt know I have to do port triggering as well

I'll try that out now!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #22  
Old 2005-08-14, 06:28 PM
LastHonestFool03
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: help! i dont wanna be red :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chachi420
I just bought a Linksys WRT54G wireless router to hook up my laptop.
1. Type you ip into the internet browser (ie Mozilla Firefox).
2. The default username and password is blank for username and "admin" for password.
3. Click "Applications and Gaming" > "Port Range Forward"
4. Forward the port range which your bt client is using (usually 6881-6889, but may be different)
5. Select "Both" for Protocol TCP & UDP
6. Then Click "Applications and Gaming" > "Port Triggering"
7. Type BitTorrent 6881 to 6889 6881 to 6889 enable
Save everything and restart the computer.
Hopefully that will help
do I actually type BitTorrent, or do I type the prgram name of my client? (ie: ABC1)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #23  
Old 2005-08-14, 06:57 PM
Chachi420's Avatar
Chachi420 Chachi420 is offline
db.etree.org/chachi420
TTD VIP
206.73 GB/1.15 TB/5.72
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: help! i dont wanna be red :(

I think you could probably even leave that part blank if you wanted. It is just as a reference so you will know what you are forwarding the ports for. FYI, I typed BitTorrent L for laptop and BitTorrent D for Desktop.
Also, I found that it should be TCP not both, but I'm not sure if it matters much.
Make sure you forward the ports 6881-6889 for the modem too.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #24  
Old 2005-08-14, 07:43 PM
LastHonestFool03
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: help! i dont wanna be red :(

how do I forward the modem?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #25  
Old 2005-08-15, 05:32 PM
Chachi420's Avatar
Chachi420 Chachi420 is offline
db.etree.org/chachi420
TTD VIP
206.73 GB/1.15 TB/5.72
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: help! i dont wanna be red :(

you type in the DNS Server address into your browser and access the modem setup menu that way. For mine I go to Expert mode > Configuration > NAT > Define a new service > forward 6881-6889 TCP ports.
(To find your DNS Server number, right-click the windows internet icon in the taskbar and click "status". On the 'support' tab, click "details". The DNS Server is what you want xxx.xxx.x.xxx or something similar.)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Pre- burned stuff i have, dont wanna throw them away - dorthyparker2002 B&P Offers 0 2008-08-27 02:47 PM
I DONT KNOW HOW TO USE THIS SITE - danieldilisio Site Announcements & Suggestions 1 2007-01-01 11:07 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts