The Traders' Den  

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Old 2008-08-14, 04:59 AM
177.29 GB/665.90 GB/3.76

Question Capture and posting of fm radio show

Sorry, this is a long one. Please bear with me as I'm new to all this....,

Some background first. In 1996 Michael Brecker and John Scofield brought their bands to London as part of the Oris London Jazz Festival and on November 14th played a double bill at the Royal Festival Hall. The year after, 1997, BBC Radio 4 broadcast on FM a two hour special on the pair, featuring interviews and music from their RFH sets. I captured the whole show using a Yamaha analogue FM tuner, analogue left / right out from the tuner to the analogue left / right in of a Tascam DA-20 DAT recorder at 44.1 KHz

I’ve then taken the analogue output of the DA-20 into the analogue input of a MOTU 828 Mk II Firewire interface (part or my recording studio setup) and then into Cubase SL running on a Mac G5. From Cubase I can export an audio file again at 44.1 KHz so I’ve ended up with a single .aif file of around 800 meg which I can either post as a single track or break up into smaller tracks using cdspin.

So, is the above method of capture to audio file acceptable? If not, any suggestions on how I could improve it? And, of course, can I post the show? It’s good music and interesting interview in good quality and it seems a shame not to share it.
Old 2008-08-14, 05:19 AM
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27

Re: Capture and posting of fm radio show

yes, that capture method is fine

however, you can't torrent it here due to the fact Scofield has asked that we not allow any torrents/downloads of his work [regular trading via snail mail is okay]...our list of Band/Artist Restrictions is here:
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...nd_restriction