The Traders' Den  

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Old 2005-12-05, 06:26 PM
Qstick333
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---

External drive - good choice?

AS a complete newbie getting ready to purchase my first dvd burner I am a bit confused by all the terminology. I am wondering if you could tell me if this product would be a good choice?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827187037

If not, what features should I be looking for?

Thaks for the help,

Zach
Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Old 2005-12-05, 09:09 PM
Columbia, SC
108.77 GB/109.04 GB/1.00

Re: External drive - good choice?

I can't speak about this particular drive -- I don't have it and am not familiar with the brand nor the model (personally I have a Sony and I really like it -- model SONY DVD RW DRU-710A). Anyway, I wanted to ask why go external? If you have a space open in your PC internal is cheaper and very, very easy to install.

Rob
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Old 2005-12-05, 09:17 PM
Qstick333
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---

I'm not sure if I have space or not. The installation scares the living daylights out of me. I am a complete computer idiot.

My current configuration is a Dell Dimension. I have 2 drives currently. The top is a dvd (play only) drive and the bottom is a cdrw drive. Assuming I would change one of them, what would I want to end up with configuration wise? Just how simple is the installation?

Thanks for any help,

Zach
Old 2005-12-06, 03:27 AM
Utterly Bastard Groovy
75.55 GB/92.04 GB/1.22

External - try LaCie. Thing with an external is that you can move it between machines. If that is what you want to do.
Old 2005-12-06, 04:52 PM
Columbia, SC
108.77 GB/109.04 GB/1.00

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qstick333