The Traders' Den  

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Old 2007-02-23, 10:33 AM
9.42 GB/3.30 GB/0.35

Transfering DATs to My Computer??? Help requested!

Hi guys, I've been taping for 30 years or so. Virtually all of my collection is on cassette or DAT. Everything from 70s radio programs, to 80s audience recordings here in Toronto through to SBD recordings from the '90s (some traded, some not) as well as other shows that I've obtained through trades.

I've been pretty inactive for a couple of years because of 2 small kids at home. And, now that I've gotten into torrents it's about time I started converting my collection to digital files.

Can any of you point me to a FAQ or website that can walk me through what I need to get to dump what I have on tape into my computer, convert it to MP3s and then edit it down to separate MP3s by song?

At this point I'm clueless, do I need an interface? What software (ideally freeware) would you recommend for the conversion and editing?

Once I've got that going I'll start posting a few torrents.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Old 2007-02-23, 11:36 AM
267.31 GB/2.55 TB/9.76

Re: Transfering DATs to My Computer??? Help requested!

You could do this "on the cheap" by connecting a male-male 1/8" stereo mini jack audio cable between your DAT and your PC (or MAC) sound card line-in. You will need some recording software. I use Cool Edit Pro, which is known as Adobe Audition now - there is a free trial of Audition out there I believe.

Then you just press Play on the DAT and Record on your recording application and adjust the recording level so it doesn't clip (i.e. peak at too high a level) and once the levels are set, restart the recording w/o touching the levels again.