The Traders' Den  

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Old 2007-05-07, 03:24 PM
132.89 GB/95.86 GB/0.72

Question regarding speed/pitch correction

I am a newbie to the world of speed correction, and since there are plenty of great shows out there that simply didn't run correctly, I took it upon myself to try and fix them for public consumption. I used Goldwave recently to slow down a short Mogwai show from 1997, for example, that ran too fast.

I slowed it down to 98.5% (-2.5) on the scale until the pitch of the song, "New Paths to Helicon 1," matched that of the original recording and live shows. I've been told I have perfect pitch; the only problem is my understanding of musical theory is a bit shoddy. I can tell you if a note matches or if it's off, but I couldn't tell you if it's in A sharp or B flat or whatever.

Basically, my first main question is this: once I've corrected the pitch, am I done? Does correcting the pitch automatically adjust the speed to its intended setting; i.e., the way it was played live?

Thanks for taking the time to read this.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Old 2007-05-07, 05:07 PM
Recording/Mastering Engineer
775.22 GB/3.83 TB/5.05

Re: Question regarding speed/pitch correction

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordy
I am a newbie to the world of speed correction, and since there are plenty of great shows out there that simply didn't run correctly, I took it upon myself to try and fix them for public consumption. I used Goldwave recently to slow down a short Mogwai show from 1997, for example, that ran too fast.