The Traders' Den  

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Old 2005-06-28, 07:15 PM
ledzeppelinfan1963
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---

Thumbs down help under standing down load process.

i just joined here,this is my first post.my question is,what exactly is it i need to do to download and burn my downloads?i'm a novice compueter opeartor at best.
what does torrent mean,how do i pick between loose and lossey,how do i convert the files over to burn them,and is my computer just slow,and why does it take so long for me to download stuff?SOMEBODY HELP ME PLEASE............................

Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Old 2005-06-28, 08:04 PM
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27

Re: help under standing down load process.

well, first off, i'd recommend reading thru ALL of the FAQ...it seems like alot, but it'll help yer understanding of everything immensely...

also, TTD only deals in "lossless" shows, meaning its "pure audio"...so you don't have to "choose" cuz we DON"T allow lossy [i.e. mp3 or ogg or etc...]

Bit Torrent is a form of filesharing, and therefore you'll need a Bit Torrent client, such as Azureus, BitTornado, etc. [links in the FAQ]

To download a show, you'd open the .torrent file link with your BT client--the torrent file link is usually at the bottom of a show's first post [Audio shows are in the Audio Bit Torrent Downloads http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...splay.php?f=12 ...DVD shows in the Video Bit Torrent Downloads http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...splay.php?f=13 ]

the rate at which yuo can d/l a show depends on yer internet connection speed, the number of "seeders", the number of "leeches", and the size of the show...i've d/led DVD shows that took 3-4 days, and i've also gotten shows in a matter of hours...all depends--but trading via Bit Torrent takes patience!