The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #961  
Old 2018-05-24, 01:31 AM
Audioarchivist's Avatar
Audioarchivist Audioarchivist is offline
Recording/Mastering Engineer
583.98 GB/2.08 TB/3.64
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by PearlJamAmerica.com View Post
I need some help. I am unsure exactly how to fix SBEs. I am going through some of my 2005 Pearl Jam FLAC shows released by Nugs a couple years back and they are riddled with SBEs.

What settings should I be using? Here is an example of the SBE output for one of the shows.
If you use the "fix" feature in the dropdown box in TLH when you're converting your files, it will append (add) the data outside of the sector boundary to the beginning of the next track. We're talking fractions of 1/75th of a second here, so the resulting files shouldn't sound too different. Being a live show with applause between tracks, fix should keep a gapless fileset ready for CD burning. If you use "pad" it will add null samples (silence) to round up to the next sector boundary CD frame 1/75th of a second, which will make little hesitations in the files of a live show. No good!

Does that help?
__________________
"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side."
- Dr. Hunter S. Thompson (1937-2005)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #962  
Old 2018-05-24, 02:09 AM
PearlJamAmerica.com PearlJamAmerica.com is offline
1.01 GB/49.80 MB/0.05
 
Join Date: May 2008
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Audioarchivist View Post
If you use the "fix" feature in the dropdown box in TLH when you're converting your files, it will append (add) the data outside of the sector boundary to the beginning of the next track. We're talking fractions of 1/75th of a second here, so the resulting files shouldn't sound too different. Being a live show with applause between tracks, fix should keep a gapless fileset ready for CD burning. If you use "pad" it will add null samples (silence) to round up to the next sector boundary CD frame 1/75th of a second, which will make little hesitations in the files of a live show. No good!

Does that help?
Thanks for the reply, I really appreciate it.

Should I be checking the box that says "Pad last file with zero-bytes"?

What should I select in the ACTION dropdown? It has shift backward, shift forward & round as options. I don't know what this stuff is or what it means or what I should use of it.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #963  
Old 2018-05-24, 04:56 AM
GRC's Avatar
GRC GRC is online now
Trader since 1980
1.90 TB/1.39 TB/0.73
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by francois truffaut View Post
Can you let me know what these mean

Audience
(Recorded with a microphone from the audience)

Soundboard
(rec with a direct feed from the soundboard/mixing desk in the venue)

Pre-FM
(Radio stations would record concerts for later broadcast. These would be stored on magnetic tape or similar. A pre-FM is taken directly from one of these tapes - i.e. it hasn't been 'broadcast' over the air, but taken from the source that preceded the broadcast

FM Broadcast
(Someone has recorded this from a broadcast on an FM band 'over the air' using a radio tuner and recorder)

Matrix
(Combination of AUD and SBD sources mixed together)

Studio
(Something recorded within a genuine recording studio, such as would be used by professionals to record their albums)

IEM/ALD
(Recorded from an Inner Ear Monitor system or Assisted Listening Device)

Multi Track Stereo
(Similar to Studio, but taken from original multi-track tapes)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #964  
Old 2018-05-24, 01:14 PM
roann's Avatar
roann roann is offline
TTD Staff
1.22 TB/594.30 GB/0.48
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by PearlJamAmerica.com View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audioarchivist View Post
If you use the "fix" feature in the dropdown box in TLH when you're converting your files, it will append (add) the data outside of the sector boundary to the beginning of the next track. We're talking fractions of 1/75th of a second here, so the resulting files shouldn't sound too different. Being a live show with applause between tracks, fix should keep a gapless fileset ready for CD burning. If you use "pad" it will add null samples (silence) to round up to the next sector boundary CD frame 1/75th of a second, which will make little hesitations in the files of a live show. No good!

Does that help?
Thanks for the reply, I really appreciate it.

Should I be checking the box that says "Pad last file with zero-bytes"?

What should I select in the ACTION dropdown? It has shift backward, shift forward & round as options. I don't know what this stuff is or what it means or what I should use of it.
a) Important: Always fix SBEs per CD, do not fix the whole fileset. So fix tracks 1-01 to 1-09, then tracks 2-10 to 2-23, and finally tracks 3-24 to 3-37.

b) Check the box that says "Pad last file with zero-bytes". Should work without doing this because usually your CD burner will do the padding, but you never know...

c) Just use the default setting in the "Action" dropbox (backward).
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #965  
Old 2018-05-24, 04:54 PM
PearlJamAmerica.com PearlJamAmerica.com is offline
1.01 GB/49.80 MB/0.05
 
Join Date: May 2008
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by roann View Post
a) Important: Always fix SBEs per CD, do not fix the whole fileset. So fix tracks 1-01 to 1-09, then tracks 2-10 to 2-23, and finally tracks 3-24 to 3-37.

b) Check the box that says "Pad last file with zero-bytes". Should work without doing this because usually your CD burner will do the padding, but you never know...

c) Just use the default setting in the "Action" dropbox (backward).
Thanks so much for the reply and information roann I appreciate this software too. I hope someday you find interest or time in updating this tool.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #966  
Old 2018-09-08, 09:49 AM
pernod pernod is offline
357.69 GB/388.37 GB/1.09
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Holland
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Since about a month, I have no idea why, I have to manually restore integration of TLH into Windows Explorer context menu every time I start my PC. Does anyone know if there's a solution for this? I have it checked under Options > Preferences > Shell integration so that's not the reason.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #967  
Old 2018-09-08, 03:15 PM
tunic's Avatar
tunic tunic is offline
The Great Destroyer
224.07 GB/404.22 GB/1.80
 
Join Date: May 2005
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by pernod View Post
Since about a month, I have no idea why, I have to manually restore integration of TLH into Windows Explorer context menu every time I start my PC. Does anyone know if there's a solution for this? I have it checked under Options > Preferences > Shell integration so that's not the reason.
I don't know, but did you try a clean install of TLH (uninstall, reboot PC then reinstall)? Did you perhaps install any other programs around that time that are messing up with TLH?
__________________
what comes first,
the music or the words?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #968  
Old 2018-09-11, 02:25 PM
pernod pernod is offline
357.69 GB/388.37 GB/1.09
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Holland
Re: Trader's Little Helper

A clean install did the trick, thanks. Something messed it up for sure but I have no idea what, it's worked just fine for years.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #969  
Old 2018-09-14, 04:37 PM
pernod pernod is offline
357.69 GB/388.37 GB/1.09
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Holland
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Spoke too soon. Same problem again, clean install didnt solve it.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #970  
Old 2018-09-16, 09:59 AM
FLashfan FLashfan is offline
5.10 TB/12.65 TB/2.48
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Beverly Hills, FL USA
Re: Trader's Little Helper

I was using Trader's Little Helper Version 2.7.0 today to convert some .shn files to
> FLAC, and I ran into a problem. It worked fine for the first couple of
> shows I was converting, but all of a sudden TLH showed that the files
> had been successfully converted with no errors, but when I went to the
> destination folder, it was empty. I tried converting them to the same
> folder, and when it was finished only the original .shn files were
> there.

> I tried uninstalling TLH and re-installing it, but it's still the same.

> Anyone got an idea what to do?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #971  
Old 2018-10-06, 03:14 AM
pernod pernod is offline
357.69 GB/388.37 GB/1.09
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Holland
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by pernod View Post
Since about a month, I have no idea why, I have to manually restore integration of TLH into Windows Explorer context menu every time I start my PC. Does anyone know if there's a solution for this? I have it checked under Options > Preferences > Shell integration so that's not the reason.
Suddenly, without explanation, it started working again. Thanks for listening.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #972  
Old 2018-10-23, 06:54 AM
roann's Avatar
roann roann is offline
TTD Staff
1.22 TB/594.30 GB/0.48
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Earth
New release (2.8.0.178)

Just released TLH v2.8.0 (build 178).

It's a maintenance release, so no new features. Some fixes and tweaks. Latest FLAC and MP3 decoders/encoders.

In previous releases settings cannot be saved and shell integration cannot be restored if the user account belongs to the Standard User group, or, under Windows Vista and higher with UAC enabled, belongs to the Administrators group. For these tasks it's not required anymore to execute TLH via "Run as administrator...". Now the program will automatically open a UAC elevation prompt to ask for the rights needed.

Robert
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #973  
Old 2018-10-25, 03:49 PM
Unidecker's Avatar
Unidecker Unidecker is offline
TTD VIP
2.28 TB/31.75 TB/13.91
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: right here ..where you are.
Re: Trader's Little Helper

thanks roann for all your hard work

now integrate it into a shell like some other apps =)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #974  
Old 2018-11-07, 09:46 PM
ironchef ironchef is offline
ironchef
31.78 GB/37.17 GB/1.17
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Re: Trader's Little Helper

After my old PC died, I'm finally getting all my usual programs loaded on the new machine. The only one I'm having trouble downloading is TLH b/c Windows Defender thinks it's a virus. Before I go and bypass the WD warning, is there a better place to grab TLH than http://tlh.easytree.org ?

Thanks,

Ironchef
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #975  
Old 2018-11-10, 03:34 PM
roann's Avatar
roann roann is offline
TTD Staff
1.22 TB/594.30 GB/0.48
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by ironchef View Post
After my old PC died, I'm finally getting all my usual programs loaded on the new machine. The only one I'm having trouble downloading is TLH b/c Windows Defender thinks it's a virus. Before I go and bypass the WD warning, is there a better place to grab TLH than http://tlh.easytree.org ?

Thanks,

Ironchef
http://tlh.easytree.org is the only place where you should download the TLH installer, because this is the official TLH homepage.

Virus/trojan/malware warnings are false positives!

Up to v2.7.0 TLH is a single file (tralih.exe). With v2.8.0 (the latest release) there is a second file called external.exe. It is required for the Options menu (tasks that need elevated rights).

Both tralih.exe and external.exe are compressed .exe files (same compressor app, same settings). Compressor apps exist for many years, but still some AV/Anti-Trojan/Malware apps detect whatever malicious when scanning a compressed .exe file. tralih.exe passes the scan, but external.exe sometimes does not. No idea, why...

So, set an exception for external.exe in your security app. Or use TLH without external.exe: you won't be able to use the features in the Options menu, but all other features will work because they do not need external.exe. Or downgrade to TLH v2.7.0.

Robert
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Tags
tlh, traders little helper

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
trader's little helper ? - Mills1988 Lossy or Lossless? 4 2008-03-25 11:19 AM
Trader's Little Helper Help? - dannyandamie Technobabble 2 2007-08-26 01:44 PM
TRADER'S LITTLE HELPER ERROR... - Tuttle Technobabble 6 2007-01-16 06:46 PM
Trader's Little Helper errors, need help please: - donovana Technobabble 4 2005-12-22 06:08 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts