The Traders' Den  

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble > Lossy or Lossless?

Notices

Lossy or Lossless? Please use this forum to post spectral and frequency analysis posts about shows you have your doubts about.

Old 2005-08-14, 02:09 AM
FEARANDLOATHINGINNJ
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---

Torrent to MP3 conversion

I'm new to torrents and was curious about the general attitudes towards converting torrents into lossy formats such as mp3. I saw some people saying in their seeds that they didn't mind. And if peope don't mind, how can it be done?
Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Old 2005-08-14, 02:17 AM
ilonarose
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---

Re: Torrent to MP3 conversion

Unless you want to put it on your IPOD, why would you want to?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Old 2005-08-14, 10:08 AM
TTD Staff
474.39 GB/2.01 TB/4.34

When people say they don't mind, they usually say "Do not convert to mp3 unless it is for your OWN PERSONAL USE". So, in other words, convert it to mp3 for your computer or iPod, but under no circumstances should you go and share those mp3s with anyone else. Only share the lossless files with others.

Old 2005-08-14, 02:23 PM
18.95 GB/8.96 GB/0.47

oh here we go...
Old 2005-08-14, 02:36 PM
crumpet-stuffer
TTD Staff
87.48 GB/884.33 GB/10.11

The idea, Mr Loathing, is to not pollute the trading pool with MP3 junk. If you want to convert them for your own use, like for an IPOD, that's what they are for.

If you trade MP3s to someone and they decide they need WMA for their litle PDA device, the WMA now have been through two different compression schemes. If that guy's buddy wants a copy, but he can only use MP3s, then Mr WMA converts the WMA files to MP3 and now those MP3s are worse than the original MP3, which should have never been traded to begin with, see?