The Traders' Den  

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Old 2004-12-19, 09:02 AM
10.41 GB/12.20 GB/1.17

Bit Torrent for Dummies

Hello, I am a regular trader on direct connect hubs and i understand that pretty well. I downloaded Bit Torrent yesterday and already have downloaded two shows but i have many questions that i cannot find the answers for.
For Example:

Once i close the BT window on a show after it is complete and noone is uploading from me, is it not accessable to other users?

If not, how can i make it accessable once again?

What happens if i move a show into my shared folder for direct connect?

What exactly is available from my PC to share?

I have about 100 gigs of shows in my HD and would love to be a contributer to this site, but i seem to be very lost about how to do so. Any advice would be awesome..........THANKS
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Old 2004-12-19, 11:25 AM
TTD Staff
474.39 GB/2.01 TB/4.34

Re: Bit Torrent for Dummies

Let's see Tide Pools....

First, check out our Other Links (under Quick Links) for a list of other resources to help you out. Also, we have a lot of information in our FAQ (also in the menu bar) that should help you out.

Quote:
Once i close the BT window on a show after it is complete and noone is uploading from me, is it not accessable to other users?
Once you close the window, no one may connect to you any longer. Common etiquette says you shouldn't close your window until you have allowed people to upload from you as much as you downloaded from others (a 1:1 sharing ratio).

Quote:
If not, how can i make it accessable once again?