The Traders' Den  

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Old 2008-01-24, 04:29 AM
1.89 TB/4.90 TB/2.60

Inability to download .torrent files

I've been using Trader's Den for a couple of years now, and have had no technical issues until the last twenty-four hours.
I use Internet Explorer as my browser, and have been downloading the .torrent files (from the individual threads) using DAP.
For reasons which are not clear to me, when I now try to download the .torrent file, rather than coming up with the name of the torrent as before, a lengthy number is coming up, and what I download is therefore not the torrent file!
I've had a quick look through the past threads and can't see an answer to this problem.
Curiously, and whether this is a connected issue I don't know, when I now log onto the website, whereas in the past it has automatically recognised me, I now have to log in on every occasion.
Any ideas anybody please?
Many thanks
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Old 2008-01-24, 09:48 AM
TTD Staff
474.39 GB/2.01 TB/4.34

Re: Inability to download .torrent files

It sounds like something has changed with your computer. Have you done any sort of 'upgrade' lately? Have about a reboot? When you login to the site, are you making sure to check the Remember Me box? And what happens if you right-click Save As for the torrent files?

Old 2008-01-24, 06:28 PM
1.89 TB/4.90 TB/2.60

Hi!
Thanks for you reply.
I've not done an upgrade, and so far as I'm aware nothing has changed or happened to my computer. I am still able to download .torrent files from other sites, and it is only my activity on Trader's Den which seems to be affected.
I have always used 'save target as' when right clicking against the .torrent file link, but as I've said, doing this now gives a ten digit number instead!!
Any ideas?
Many thanks