The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2008-05-08, 11:44 AM
MourningStar's Avatar
MourningStar MourningStar is offline
50.34 GB/220.55 GB/4.38
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Question No Need To Burn As DVD

Sorry if this has been discussed previously. I learned on another forum that a dvd show burned as a data disc (which I've been doing for back-up/archive purposes) will play 'normally'. I tested this with a few stand alone players and sure enough! My backups play the same as those I burned as 'dvd'. Suddenly, my supply of blank discs has doubled! I'm thinking this is too good to be true, there's gotta be a catch. I'm here lookin' for a 2nd medical, uh, er, technical opinion/confirmation. If true, why do the burners have the two burning modes? Thnx!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2008-05-08, 12:52 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: No Need To Burn As DVD

a data burn can be any random data.

the dvd data torrent seeds just happen to be offered in the standardized playable format.

if you change the root folder names - they wont be playable.

did that make sense ? I dont feel ive told you anything you didnt already know.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2008-05-08, 07:13 PM
wharfrat73's Avatar
wharfrat73 wharfrat73 is offline
362.41 GB/843.48 GB/2.33
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Maryland
Re: No Need To Burn As DVD

Quote:
Originally Posted by XiKano View Post
Sorry if this has been discussed previously. I learned on another forum that a dvd show burned as a data disc (which I've been doing for back-up/archive purposes) will play 'normally'. I tested this with a few stand alone players and sure enough! My backups play the same as those I burned as 'dvd'. Suddenly, my supply of blank discs has doubled! I'm thinking this is too good to be true, there's gotta be a catch. I'm here lookin' for a 2nd medical, uh, er, technical opinion/confirmation. If true, why do the burners have the two burning modes? Thnx!
You're correct. You can burn a video DVD as data and it will play fine. Some player will have problems if you put the info files, artwork, checksums, etc in the root folder. None of my (3) players have a problem with those files though.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
how to burn a DVD - vichtor Technobabble 4 2007-12-07 08:59 PM
My 1st DVD Burn - MourningStar Technobabble 2 2007-11-04 03:33 PM
How to burn dvd - Flowbie Technobabble 3 2007-07-05 12:43 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts