The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2017-01-21, 11:48 AM
skinneej's Avatar
skinneej skinneej is offline
768.72 GB/920.83 GB/1.20
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Jersey
Question Tape Stuck w/ Error Message - Sony PCM-R300 DAT

Hadn't used my R300 home deck in awhile... plugged it in the other night to check out some old recordings and maybe transfer a few. Popped in a DAT, spot checked a few sound samples (it played fine), rewound the tape, and when it rewound the beginning of the DAT, I went to eject the tape and all of a sudden got a "CAUTION" error message...

now the tape is stuck in there.. cant eject it, cant play it, cant fwd/rew... nothing is spinning or moving. It just powers on with a "CAUTION" message.

I popped open the cover of the machine, the top of the tape "shell" is still open and the actual tape is still positioned through all the rollers inside.

never had any problems with the machine, but like i said hadnt used it in awhile.

any ideas what to do?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2017-01-21, 04:42 PM
Luke_of_Mass's Avatar
Luke_of_Mass Luke_of_Mass is offline
Knee-Deep In The Hoopla...
108.01 GB/155.75 GB/1.44
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New England
Re: Tape Stuck w/ Error Message - Sony PCM-R300 DAT

I'm assuming you tried cutting all power to it, and reconnecting...

if the tape is still strung through the rollers, you might need to completely dismantle the unit to get it out... what tape is it? if no other copies exist, then I imagine it's worth the effort to somebody
__________________
Still doing trades now and again

Check out my list here
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2017-01-22, 11:09 AM
Unidecker's Avatar
Unidecker Unidecker is offline
TTD VIP
2.28 TB/31.75 TB/13.91
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: right here ..where you are.
Re: Tape Stuck w/ Error Message - Sony PCM-R300 DAT

take it to a svc center and get the heads and transports cleaned
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2017-01-24, 10:48 PM
skinneej's Avatar
skinneej skinneej is offline
768.72 GB/920.83 GB/1.20
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Jersey
Re: Tape Stuck w/ Error Message - Sony PCM-R300 DAT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unidecker View Post
take it to a svc center and get the heads and transports cleaned
thanks for the reply... what type of place would service a DAT machine?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2017-01-24, 10:49 PM
skinneej's Avatar
skinneej skinneej is offline
768.72 GB/920.83 GB/1.20
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Jersey
Re: Tape Stuck w/ Error Message - Sony PCM-R300 DAT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke_of_Mass View Post
I'm assuming you tried cutting all power to it, and reconnecting...

if the tape is still strung through the rollers, you might need to completely dismantle the unit to get it out... what tape is it? if no other copies exist, then I imagine it's worth the effort to somebody
thanks for the reply.. yes, i tried cutting power, reconnecting, etc..
Of course I'd love to salvage the tape, but I just want to get the tape out and get the deck up and running again
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2017-01-25, 11:25 AM
GRC's Avatar
GRC GRC is offline
Trader since 1980
1.87 TB/1.38 TB/0.74
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Re: Tape Stuck w/ Error Message - Sony PCM-R300 DAT

Much will depend on the deck, but my inclination would be to get some plastic tools, cocktail sticks, toothpicks, etc. and CAREFULLY unpick the tape from all the guides and rollers, taking X care not to touch the head drum.

If you can access the reel hubs and get the tape back in the cassette, all good and well. If it becomes necessary to cut the tape, do so.

Then power up the machine and try to eject it
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2017-01-25, 06:59 PM
Luke_of_Mass's Avatar
Luke_of_Mass Luke_of_Mass is offline
Knee-Deep In The Hoopla...
108.01 GB/155.75 GB/1.44
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New England
Re: Tape Stuck w/ Error Message - Sony PCM-R300 DAT

Quote:
Originally Posted by GRC View Post
If it becomes necessary to cut the tape, do so.
Would it be possible to reconnect the tape with some type of adhesive or carefully with scotch tape to salvage the recording? I would imagine you'd lose a couple seconds if this is the case
__________________
Still doing trades now and again

Check out my list here
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2017-01-27, 11:50 AM
GRC's Avatar
GRC GRC is offline
Trader since 1980
1.87 TB/1.38 TB/0.74
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Re: Tape Stuck w/ Error Message - Sony PCM-R300 DAT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke_of_Mass View Post
Would it be possible to reconnect the tape with some type of adhesive or carefully with scotch tape to salvage the recording? I would imagine you'd lose a couple seconds if this is the case
Most every maintenance source counsels against splicing tape which functions with a rotary-head system - VHS, Betamax, DAT etc.

If it comes to this, I would recommend losing more than a couple of seconds - join the tape, and play back to a point before the splice, and stop. Fast forward, and replay from a point after the splice. Do not, absolutely do not, play over the splice.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
error message - thoughtjewel Technobabble 1 2008-03-24 03:14 PM
Error message - m00nd0g Technobabble 4 2007-04-27 09:06 PM
Error message - flow00 Technobabble 4 2006-05-25 04:03 PM
Error message!!! - DMergs Technobabble 2 2006-03-23 08:10 PM
Error message - jaybird07c Technobabble 8 2005-06-01 06:05 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts