The Traders' Den  

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Old 2007-03-01, 03:51 AM
18.24 GB/11.75 GB/0.64

VHS to DVD capture

Hi there guys,

Its seems to be very common for many traders to transfer there shows from VHS to DVD and nobody seems to trade VHS nowadays..I am a new trader but I have a few special shows on VHS that I would like to transfer..I do not have a TV card on my pc..Do I need a TV card to transfer, I presume I do..I have a very tight budget, I am from the UK and found this..

http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s...html?LEA-PVR3K

Still this is fairly expensive at $105 USD...

Would I need anything else for the transfer..i.e. what kind of cables?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Old 2007-03-03, 08:54 AM
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27

Re: VHS to DVD capture

here's a thread with tons of info...
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...ad.php?t=31742
Old 2007-03-06, 02:38 AM
251.68 GB/255.12 GB/1.01

Damn I laugh every time I read your sig, AAR

Thanks for the link to that master thread. Lots of good info in there.
Fwiw, I like to capture vhs using an analog capture card multiple times
using the lossless codec Huffyuv at 720x480, then make sure all the avis
(3 or 5 of them) are frame for frame identical, then crop off the black borders
to 704x480 (the only resolution that will maintain the true aspect ratio of a
VHS when viewing the DVD on a PC or standalone) then average the captures
to remove the induced noise, then post process using Avisynth and VDubMod to
filter the inherited noise, adjust colors, mask the head switching noise, and
possibly sharpen a bit, then sync up new audio to the video in Premier Pro
using 32/96 depth and sample rates, then encode to MPEG-2 with CCE using
CBR 7 or 8Mbps if possible or 7 pass VBR if not, and also encode to H264/AVC