PDA

View Full Version : CRTC have passed the law that there is a limit


pigebear
2011-01-08, 04:19 PM
The courts in canada CRTC have passed the law that there is a limit on how much you download. 60 gigs are free, after that you have to pay 1$ per gig for a max of 30 gigs.(I guess it would be best to download 100g at that price) This stars in feb. So Download the F#@<hidden> now!

paddington
2011-01-08, 04:21 PM
Canada or Russia?


Is the internet access in Canada only available from the government or what?

doesn't seem like a government would impose a law like this that governs what ISPs charge... most ISPs would want to charge more... so why would the government want to impose a $30 tax?

tgunn2760
2011-01-08, 05:32 PM
The courts in canada CRTC have passed the law that there is a limit on how much you download. 60 gigs are free, after that you have to pay 1$ per gig for a max of 30 gigs.(I guess it would be best to download 100g at that price) This stars in feb. So Download the F#@<hidden> now!

Try reading this one more time:

http://ca.news.yahoo.com/internet-downloading-costs-rise-20110107-162621-824.html

uni-fi
2011-01-09, 04:26 PM
The courts in canada CRTC have passed the law that there is a limit on how much you download. 60 gigs are free, after that you have to pay 1$ per gig for a max of 30 gigs.(I guess it would be best to download 100g at that price) This stars in feb. So Download the F#@<hidden> now!

Your statement is very misleading...It makes it sound as though you will only be able to d/l 90 gigs total and then be shut off. The fee is actually more than a dollar per gig, and it goes to 20 gigs not 30, and there are other fees as well. Here is the actual plan.


Under the plan, Bell will charge wholesale ISPs a flat fee for connecting to its network, and for a set monthly usage limit per customer. Beyond that set limit, users will be charged per gigabyte, depending on the speed of their connections.

Customers using the fastest connections of five-megabits per second, for example, will have a monthly allotment of 60 gigabytes, beyond which Bell will charge $1.12 per GB to a maximum of $22.50.

If a customer uses more than 300 GB a month, Bell will also be able to implement an additional charge of 75 cents per gigabyte.

The CRTC is also requiring Bell to make any "usage insurance plans," which give its own retail customers extra monthly usage for a small fee, available to wholesale ISPs.

Small ISPs took the CRTC's approval of Bell's plan as an inevitability, but weren't pleased with some of the details.

"The rates are absolutely atrocious. How the hell are we doing above one dollar for extra usage?" said Rocky Gaudrault, president of Chatham, Ont.-based Teksavvy. "It's in the thousands of multiples beyond what the costs are."

Thulani
2011-01-09, 04:58 PM
Customers using the fastest connections of five-megabits per second
LOL. Great ISP.

tgunn2760
2011-01-09, 08:25 PM
Bell owns the lines, and other companies basically rent them from Bell. Bell introduced usage based billing, but the companies that rent their lines offered their customers unlimited bandwidth. So many clients left Bell, myself included.

Now Primus is forced to charge its clients based on usage. The cap with Primus is 25 GB/month(!!!!), Bell's is 60 GB/month. Other companies offer 200 GB/month, and anything over that is charged at 50 cents per GB, so there are opportunities to shop around.

This is for DSL. I don't know if they will do the same with cable.
But you can expect high speed internet costs to rise across the globe as bigger and bigger files are being downloaded.

paddington
2011-01-09, 10:46 PM
I get 5.5 Mb up / 28Mb down for something like $34.99 with my cable package. It's unlimited.

Free market competition for the win.

Jeff Aspern
2011-01-10, 04:33 PM
Would this affect the satelite highspeed internet providers like explornet?

paddington
2011-01-10, 04:34 PM
Would this affect the satelite highspeed internet providers like explornet?


just out of curiosity, how fast is "Satellite Highspeed?" I have always found that satellite was last resort... a bit better than dial up

Jeff Aspern
2011-01-10, 04:38 PM
Don't know specs. Not a tech guy. It's pretty fast for most things. Utube delays repeatedly and depending on the day, TSN clips aren't worth watching. But everything else loads as quickly as the cable internet at work. I'm in a rural environment--only way to get high speed (Bell can't provide it here, thankfully). I have no compaints.

paddington
2011-01-10, 04:39 PM
Don't know specs. Not a tech guy. It's pretty fast for most things. Utube delays repeatedly and depending on the day, TSN clips aren't worth watching. But everything else loads as quickly as the cable internet at work. I'm in a rural environment--only way to get high speed (Bell can't provide it here, thankfully). I have no compaints.


http://www.speedtest.net/

Jeff Aspern
2011-01-10, 04:44 PM
Thanks Jameskg. That was enlightening, although I can't make inferences based on the results. I'm 1.44 mbps dl and .24 to .29 ul (tested twice with consistent results).

Homebrew101
2011-01-10, 05:02 PM
Thanks Jameskg. That was enlightening, although I can't make inferences based on the results. I'm 1.44 mbps dl and .24 to .29 ul (tested twice with consistent results).

I thought satellite used dial-up for the upload part and only your download was over the sat

edit: looks like your speed test proved that

tgunn2760
2011-02-06, 01:34 PM
Would this affect the satelite highspeed internet providers like explornet?

This only affected DSL, as Bell only offers DSL, cable and satelite wer not affected.

In fact, the CRTC decision is expected to be overturned:

http://www.cbc.ca/money/story/2011/02/03/tech-crtc-internet-service.html

Primus, my last ISP already scrapped the new usage based rates, but I left them and went to cable. 15 mb down, 1 mb up, unlimited usage for $55/month.
Never saw speeds like this. It's at least 3 times faster, no throttling.

At first I thought I was being seriously throttled, I placed my cursor over the utorrent balloon on the task tray-this way it shows the down and up speeds- and saw 1.3 something down, but didn't realize it was 1.3 mbps not kbps. Never saw anything higher than 500 kbps with Primus.

co9ol
2011-06-11, 10:28 AM
I've had rogers for a while (cable Internet) and for a while you could get packages with out caps, but now you can't. All the Internet packages have a "cap" mine is 60 gigs. So for the monthly rate I can download up to 60 gigs, but if I go over, just like bell they start charging extra. (they call them "over usage charges")

tgunn2760
2011-06-21, 12:41 PM
I've had rogers for a while (cable Internet) and for a while you could get packages with out caps, but now you can't. All the Internet packages have a "cap" mine is 60 gigs. So for the monthly rate I can download up to 60 gigs, but if I go over, just like bell they start charging extra. (they call them "over usage charges")

http://www.acanac.ca/cable.html

co9ol
2011-06-28, 08:13 AM
Interesting, I might do some looking into this. Do you have it?