PDA

View Full Version : Intermitent Firewalling


mdshrk1
2010-12-07, 09:04 AM
Has anyone else come across this? It used to be that I was never firewalled. Then about a year ago, I was suddenly firewalled. This lasted about eleven months. As sudden as it appeared, the firewall disappeared. It was like that for two weeks, then the firewall was back for another two weeks, to disappear yesterday?

As Alice said, "Curiouser and curiouser."

m

U2Lynne
2010-12-07, 10:53 AM
I occasionally will suddenly show up as firewalled (and yeah, embarrassing to have *my* name listed as firewalled on a torrent here!) - no tweaking on my computer will change it. I'm firewalled on canyouseeme and yet I look at the router and the ports are open (supposedly). Then I restart the router and all is fine again. So, I blame it on the router. :)

dcbullet
2010-12-07, 11:24 AM
same happens to me. :dunno:

mdshrk1
2010-12-08, 06:29 PM
Fuck. I'm firewalled again! :nuts:

direwolf-pgh
2010-12-08, 07:45 PM
wait. if you're firewalled at canyouseeme.org - you really are firewalled.
consumer grade routers do require reboots :) good call

mdshrk1
2010-12-08, 09:32 PM
wait. if you're firewalled at canyouseeme.org - you really are firewalled.
consumer grade routers do require reboots :) good call

And to reboot them I?

U2Lynne
2010-12-09, 12:11 AM
wait. if you're firewalled at canyouseeme.org - you really are firewalled.
consumer grade routers do require reboots :) good call
Yep. Imagine my surprise the first time this happened!
And to reboot them I?
I unplug it, count to 30, and plug it back in again.

mdshrk1
2010-12-09, 06:48 AM
I've done that several times.

commander_hg
2010-12-09, 09:11 AM
I've done that several times.

That's a pretty weird hobby... :lol4:

jabulon
2010-12-09, 09:18 AM
I've done that several times.

That's a pretty weird hobby... :lol4:
:lmao:

U2Lynne
2010-12-09, 10:28 AM
I've done that several times.
And it's not working? I suppose you could reboot your computer at the same time.

Homebrew101
2010-12-09, 03:04 PM
what works for me is:

1. unplug modem
2. unplug router
3. turn off pc
4. power up modem, wait for boot up to finish
5. power up router, wait for boot up
6. power up PC

mdshrk1
2010-12-09, 05:27 PM
Did all those things. But now I'm not firewalled again. :wtf:

jabulon
2010-12-10, 02:17 AM
Did all those things. But now I'm not firewalled again. :wtf:
I thought that was the whole idea (I mean not being firewalled).

mdshrk1
2010-12-10, 06:08 AM
I thought that was the whole idea (I mean not being firewalled).

Yes, that is the idea. It is just strange, almost like the tide going in and out.

direwolf-pgh
2010-12-10, 07:53 AM
it sounds you've a static IP set in the router and DHCP handing out addresses.
meaning, your firewall setting would only work by chance.

mdshrk1
2010-12-10, 09:07 AM
your firewall setting would only work by chance.

That's pretty much the way I work anyway...by chance. :wave: