PDA

View Full Version : MediaInfo a GSpot alternative for Linux?

jabulon
2010-03-16, 03:55 AM
I'm using Linux myself and I was looking for a program like GSpot for Linux. In the FAQ section and here I couldn't find it, but on a Linux forum I found this freeware program called MediaInfo http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/en I wonder if anybody here has any experiences with this program and its results? It is also available for Windows and Mac. Note from website: Mac OS and Linux GUI are not complete, work is under progress

lintoni
2010-03-16, 04:05 AM
I've no experience with it my self, and I'm not really a video buff - but won't VLC give you the information you require?

jabulon
2010-03-16, 05:46 AM
I've no experience with it my self, and I'm not really a video buff - but won't VLC give you the information you require?
Yes VLC gives most of the required information, but I'm not sure about the video bitrate. VLC showes you the streaming bitrate (no average or nominal bitrate). MediaInfo also gives you info about colorimetry, scan type/order, ID etc.

harpsichord
2010-03-16, 08:54 AM
I've used Totem, Avidemux, and VLC to gather the info I needed and double-check the specs (even GSpot thru Wine), but I'll have to check out MediaInfo. Thanks for the heads-up.

lordsmurf
2010-03-18, 09:28 AM
Yeah, I'd run Gspot through Wine. :)

jabulon
2010-03-18, 03:26 PM
Yeah, I'd run Gspot through Wine. :)
I can't get GSpot running through Wine. Every time I try to start up GSpot it immediatly crashes. I'm using Karmic and I've tried both versions of Wine with GSpot V2.70a. Any suggestions here?

Thulani
2010-03-18, 03:51 PM
Run a virtual Windows machine.

harpsichord
2010-03-19, 08:05 AM
I really don't like to run apps in Wine unless there's no choice, and haven't had to in a while, so I can't say whether GSpot runs okay in Karmic. Are you running it from a dual-boot, or is it installed?

Once I confirmed I could get the same info from Linux apps, that's what I used.

jabulon