PDA

View Full Version : Newly burned CD-R's not playing back

PhxHorn
2010-01-02, 01:47 PM
I was having trouble with my old burner, and so I bought a new one a couple weeks ago. It seemed to be fine when burning videos, but burning audio is a problem same as it was with the old burner. I'm trying to burn newly decoded wave files to CD-R. TLH says the files are decoded just fine. The burner says everything went fine, but the CD won't play. The player shows one long track, and I get no sound. I've tried the CD in multiple players, and so I don't think it's the players.

I've also tried my old burner, and both the old and new burner says the burn was successful. I used ImgBurn, which seems to be fine.

The only common thread I can think of is the PC itself. Is there any way to trouble shoot this? I'm no expert, though. The decoded wave files do play back fine when I play them on the PC.

PhxHorn
2010-01-02, 02:24 PM
Now this is interesting...I tried playing back the CD-Rs in the new burner, and they all play back. Both the ones burned in the old burner, and in the new burner. They are burned as wave files. So why is it that they won't play on my home CD player, my car CD player, nor my ghetto blaster?

lintoni
2010-01-02, 03:11 PM
Just a stab in the dark, but the other possible common thread is the actual media that you're using to burn. Have you tried a different brand?

Thulani
2010-01-02, 03:13 PM
You burn your CDs as data or as an Audio CD (Red Book)?

PhxHorn
2010-01-02, 03:13 PM
Well, it's Memorex. Always been fine so far, but it's not a bad idea....

daddyray
2010-01-02, 03:16 PM
some files will play in one's computer but not in other "venues." For there are some file types that play in iTunes on one's computer but will not work in an iPod nor will they work as a CD.well at least this is true here.....
what file types are these...wav or mp3 or .shn or what?

peaktime
2010-01-03, 12:24 AM