PDA

View Full Version : I need help!!


shamanray974
2009-11-07, 01:23 PM
I'm new to torrents and I usually just listen to them on my computer. My problem now is that I'd like to put some of my torrents on cd and in my windows media player so that I can put them on a portable device. I've searched the internet and these forums and can't seem to find a simple answer on how to do either of these things. Please help a noob out. Thanks :)

AAR.oner
2009-11-07, 01:54 PM
not totally clear on yer ?, but i'm assuming you've run the torrent and now have a show folder containing the lossless files [flac, shn, etc.....] and any info texts & checksums

to burn to CD, you will need to decode the lossless files to wav, i'd recommend either Trader's Little Helper [windows] or xACT [mac] -- links to these freeware progs are here:
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/faq.php?faq=new_faq_item#faq_software

once the flacs/shns are wav files, you can burn to an audio CD using whatever burning prog you usually use

direwolf-pgh
2009-11-07, 03:16 PM
here are the plugin filters you need to play flac in Windows Media Player/Media Center

http://www.xiph.org/dshow/

and this cool plugin handles the flac tags

http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=151072&package_id=166998&release_id=488267

shamanray974
2009-11-07, 04:38 PM
Thanks. This is exactly what I needed to know. I'm going to try and make this work now. Thanks again :clap:

shamanray974
2009-11-07, 05:01 PM
I'm totally lost now. I have traders little helper and I clicked decode audio files under the format tab. I have no clue what to do next or how to get these into my burning program (I'm using Nero 7)I don't even see the files anywhere that I could drag and drop them?????? Please help. Thank you.

paddington
2009-11-07, 05:06 PM
for nero, you just need the FLAC plugin and you can drag and drop.

here it is

http://www.bitburners.com/software/flac-v10033/3816/

place the dll file in your \program files\Nero\Core folder and then open Nero. You can then drag and drop FLACs into it like anything else.

shamanray974
2009-11-07, 05:31 PM
I can't figure out how to get the dll file into the core nero folder (i'm really new to this, don't know where that is located and have never used it before) I also still don't see where the files I've hopefully converted through traders little helper are converted to wav now. I was also able to get the flac files into my windows media player but when I went to add them to my portable device it said all of them errored???? I really need a step by step on all of this as I'm more lost now than when I started. How did you guys figure all of this out to begin with? Is it really this complicated to get torrents onto disc or a portable player? I've been here half of the day working on this and still no dice. This is why I snail mail traded for so many years. This is all VERY confusing????:(:(:(

paddington
2009-11-07, 05:51 PM
windows media player sucks for playing anything other than videos (and isn't great for that). Don't burn with it.



If you are using Nero, open C:\Program Files\Nero\Nero 7\Core\ or similar path. Find the place where you see lots of other dll files and just copy/paste it in that folder. It's most likely the 'Core' folder, depending on your version of the program.

Start Nero afterward and the FLAC drag and drop will just work. Nothing to it, just place the file, open the program and off you go.

mooncusser
2009-11-07, 09:55 PM
Aren't computers fun!

kingjman
2009-11-08, 05:00 PM
burrrn is a free windows program that converts and burns flac to CD...very simple.

shamanray974
2009-11-09, 01:59 PM
Thanks for all of the help everyone. I've got it mostly figured out now.:)

dorrcoq
2009-11-19, 03:20 PM
May be you can try this as well,
If you have a local setup of the web site, drop the existing database at the server and delete the joomla folder at the server. and then get a DB script of the local server and run it on the server using phpMyadmin. For this you need to create a DB manually using CPnael MYSQL Databases first.

Then upload the local joomla folder to the servers www directory using a FTP client or File manager.
Then you have to change the configuration.php file on Joomla root to have the DB settings as per the server.
Most of the time changing the host, DB Name and the DB password will do the work.
This is a manually process but this work for me.
_______________________________________
Website I developed for cash money (http://www.paydaytown.com) company.

:hmm: