PDA

View Full Version : FLAC help?


GNRrockslife
2009-08-02, 07:32 PM
I need some help decoding flac files for my personal use on my iPod, etc. I had been running on an older version of flac frontend from early 2005, I'm not sure of the version number. Anyways, my computer crashed and had to reinstall windows, now I'm having trouble decoding flacs. I installed the newest version of frontend I could find (2.1), and it keeps giving me an error message when I try to boot the program. It says "Compnent 'MSCOMCTL.OCX' or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid". Does anyone have a solution to this problem? I've looked for troubleshooting but can't find anything helpful. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

trustthex
2009-08-02, 07:46 PM
http://www.google.com/search?q=MSCOMCTL.OCX

paddington
2009-08-02, 08:46 PM
ooh ohh

lemme paste this one




Sometime certain Microsoft Libraries can become unregistered when installing and uninstalling a lot of software. One very common problem is the MSCOMCTL.OCX.

To correct the error, first search your drive for MSCOMCTL.OCX to see if you have it. If not you can download it from HERE (http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/mscomctl.zip)

The file should be placed in your C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM directory. Or, if you are C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32 if you are using WinXP.

Once it is there click START--> RUN and type "REGSVR32 MSCOMCTL.OCX" (No quotes) in the box.

That should fix the problem.

juxtiphi
2009-08-02, 09:06 PM
ooh ohh

lemme paste this one




Sometime certain Microsoft Libraries can become unregistered when installing and uninstalling a lot of software. One very common problem is the MSCOMCTL.OCX.

To correct the error, first search your drive for MSCOMCTL.OCX to see if you have it. If not you can download it from HERE (http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/mscomctl.zip)

The file should be placed in your C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM directory. Or, if you are C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32 if you are using WinXP.

Once it is there click START--> RUN and type "REGSVR32 MSCOMCTL.OCX" (No quotes) in the box.

That should fix the problem.

nice post!

I have had the same issue usually when uninstalling nero and can verify the result :)

GNRrockslife
2009-08-02, 09:31 PM
Yea, that works, thanks. I was searching troubleshooting for frontend, I didn't know it was a Windows issue.

Karst
2009-08-03, 06:17 PM
Of course it is a Windows issue! Pffff.

Get a Mac.

Its nice, sleek and shiny.

Works straight out of the box.