PDA

View Full Version : EDIROL R-09 HR


PEPPER
2009-07-05, 02:06 PM
Im going to be buying one very soon and wondered what the best card( size 1gb,2gb etc ) to buy would be.I do most of my recordings at the same venue,and shows last around two hours.So to be on the safe side,what size card would i need to say record up to 3-4 hours.Any help with this small question is greatly appreciated.

AAR.oner
2009-07-05, 02:38 PM
at 16bit/48kHz with my PMD671, i get around 5.5 hours on a 4GB card...should be the same for the R09 i'd assume

PEPPER
2009-07-05, 03:46 PM
Thanks for the info,i think that should be plenty for my needs.Should have said i would be recording in 16 bit.

AAR.oner
2009-07-05, 05:38 PM
4GB should be more than adequate unless yer at a fest and don't wanna change cards...i usually record at 16/48 for use with dvd's, if i remember correct i get around 6hrs when recording at 16/44.1 for CD only

PEPPER
2009-07-05, 06:00 PM
Well ive been using minidisc for the last few years,and at times have missed parts of the shows,due to me starting the md off too soon( and running out of disc space ).So hopefully i wont ever miss anything and always have complete recordings. again.Just have to try and understand what all the buttons are for exactly on the back of the machine.Also im quite impressed with the internal mics on the edirol,incase i get the chance to record with permission,otherwise it will all be stealth.

mike1061
2009-07-05, 10:18 PM
A 4 gig card will do for almost everything. Then you could always get a second one later. I have 5 now, some are 2 gigs. You only need more, when you go to a huge festival, and stay there all day.
Thanks Mike

zoso-shane69
2009-07-06, 02:05 AM
I have the R-09 Regular model and I use 4GB for 24bit just to be safe. For me anyway Energizers and 4GB always. When I taped Rush the first time I ran out of space at the end of show on a 2GB card.

rspencer
2009-07-06, 02:23 AM
Cards are cheap. Go big, 8GB or 16GB. Then you can do 24bit. Even if you don't, you never know when you'll want/need to do multiple shows on 1 card. I don't like to erase shows until I have a backed-up master. So I copy to the HD, & the show stays on the card until I have a back-up.

lintoni
2009-07-06, 02:40 AM
Cards are cheap. Go big, 8GB or 16GB. Then you can do 24bit. Even if you don't, you never know when you'll want/need to do multiple shows on 1 card. I don't like to erase shows until I have a backed-up master. So I copy to the HD, & the show stays on the card until I have a back-up.

+1:thumbsup

jamroom
2009-07-06, 02:46 AM
Cards are cheap. Go big, 8GB or 16GB. Then you can do 24bit. Even if you don't, you never know when you'll want/need to do multiple shows on 1 card. I don't like to erase shows until I have a backed-up master. So I copy to the HD, & the show stays on the card until I have a back-up.

Me too, also. I never erase the card unless I have a copy on the hdd and a dvd burned with the master file.

Do this, it makes sense.

PEPPER
2009-07-06, 03:54 AM
Me too, also. I never erase the card unless I have a copy on the hdd and a dvd burned with the master file.

Do this, it makes sense.

Perfect sense,i will back up all recordings to data dvd before i erase a note.Im really exited about getting it now,hope i dont sound too much like a small kid.:D

livejamz
2009-07-06, 02:37 PM
I just got mine last week. I have recorded 4 nights ;ast week. I have 3 4 gig cards I didnt have time to get them transferred. They are cheap got a 2 pack at Best Buy for $12.99

PEPPER
2009-07-06, 03:22 PM
I ordered mine today and will have to get a 4gb card asap.

dorrcoq
2009-07-06, 03:54 PM
Cards are cheap. Go big, 8GB or 16GB. Then you can do 24bit. Even if you don't, you never know when you'll want/need to do multiple shows on 1 card. I don't like to erase shows until I have a backed-up master. So I copy to the HD, & the show stays on the card until I have a back-up.

Great advice right there! Definitely don't waste your time on anything smaller than a 4 gb.

PEPPER
2009-07-08, 05:01 PM
Well it arrived in the post today,and ive also ordered an 8gb card for it.Seems easy enough to operate,but have one question.I saw on youtube a small clip and it says you can shut the red rec light off altogether so you dont draw attention while recording.Ive looked in the manual( maybe not close enough ) but cant find anything that tells you how to do this,anyone know?.

dorrcoq
2009-07-09, 03:36 PM
Not sure about the HR, but on the earlier 09 you can set the time it stayed on.

mike1061
2009-07-09, 11:03 PM
I don't know either. I just ignore mine, but I thought I read it was done with a firmware upgrade. But I was looking into it for a much older model.
Thanks Mike

AAR.oner
2009-07-10, 10:27 AM
black tape :thumbsup

PEPPER
2009-07-10, 02:20 PM
I think i will just stick the edirol in my shirt pocket.Then there will be nothing to see,except for the tiny red light on top,which is not a real distraction to anyone else.Hoping to make my first recording with my edirol tomorrow night,its only a tribute band,but really cant wait to get my first recording done with it.

LeifH12345
2009-07-10, 02:37 PM
Internal mics, or external?

PEPPER
2009-07-10, 02:52 PM
Im going to try the internal mics and see how it goes.I have mics i can use ,but really want to try the internal mics first.Fingers crossed i will get something at least listenable with my first attempt.:)

carbohydrates
2009-07-10, 09:30 PM
please report back with sound quality info, any issues you come across, general experience taping with the Edirol...

I have been lusting over this thing for about 2 years now and had a bad experience with my crappy little Sony MD the other night... i think it was the last straw!

let me know how it went, I would very much like to hear a new user's feelings before laying down the money.

carbohydrates
2009-07-10, 09:32 PM
another quick question to anyone:

assuming I got an R09-HR, can anyone suggest a reasonably priced STEALTH-friendly external mic?

rspencer
2009-07-10, 10:15 PM
another quick question to anyone:

assuming I got an R09-HR, can anyone suggest a reasonably priced STEALTH-friendly external mic?

What's your budget? "Reasonably priced" will vary from person to person.

If you can spend over $400, shop around for some DPA 4060s or 4061s, if you like omnidirectional mics.

Below that, you should be able to get Sennheiser, Audio Technica, Sound Professionals, Core Sound, and probably your best bang for your buck, Church Audio.

PEPPER
2009-07-11, 02:28 AM
please report back with sound quality info, any issues you come across, general experience taping with the Edirol...

I have been lusting over this thing for about 2 years now and had a bad experience with my crappy little Sony MD the other night... i think it was the last straw!

let me know how it went, I would very much like to hear a new user's feelings before laying down the money.

No problem,although if its not a great recording,dont be put off.Ive been using minidisc for about five years( and have been really happy with it ),and will be using it alongside the edirol tonight.I will do my best to post a sample here with the settings etc.

carbohydrates
2009-07-11, 08:57 AM
I wont be put-off, I will most likely pull the trigger on the Edirol this weekend... I have actually been pretty happy with my Sony MD > small sony mic setup, but its been many years that I have wanted something better. The Edriol seems to be it.

I appreciate the posts.

AAR.oner
2009-07-11, 12:00 PM
another quick question to anyone:

assuming I got an R09-HR, can anyone suggest a reasonably priced STEALTH-friendly external mic?

we have an entire forum dedicated to various gear options, prices, links, reviews, etc:
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=76


start with the stickied threads at the top depending on the gear yer lookin for

PEPPER
2009-07-12, 08:01 AM
Well i recorded a show lastnight with the edirol and here is the result.Next time i might use an external mic.This is a full audio clip.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qudjkdU_ZXg

carbohydrates
2009-07-12, 08:14 AM
thanks again... really that is not too bad, I could see wanting an external mic, but if not, the internals are liveable...

I ordered an Edirol yesterday, pumped to get it and get out to a show!

PEPPER
2009-07-12, 09:43 AM
Maybe a bit of tweaking and the recording might sound nicer,but im happy just to have got out and tested it.I wish you all the best with your new purchase its a really nice piece of gear.Would be interested in hearing you opinions once you've taped a show or two.Also its really really really simple to use,navigating menues etc,just a really nice recorder.

PEPPER
2009-07-12, 12:00 PM
I hope this doesnt sound odd,but is it possible to burn audio cds from 24 bit /48khz recordings.

jmusiclover
2009-07-12, 12:09 PM
I hope this doesnt sound odd,but is it possible to burn audio cds from 24 bit /48khz recordings.

Sure, but you'll need to convert to 16Bit/44100 first. Use r8brain (http://www.voxengo.com/product/r8brain/) or similar.

PEPPER
2009-07-12, 12:23 PM
Well i recorded in 24 bit 48hz,transferred the wavs to pc and just burnt them onto cd.Not sure whats happened then,as im sure it was set 24 bit 48 hz.

AAR.oner
2009-07-12, 12:41 PM
you can't a burn a listenable audio CD using a 24bit 48kHz file, you need to down sample it to 16bit 44.1kHz before burning...you can use r8brain like jmusiclover recommended above, or Audacity which is also free...but keep a copy of the original 24/48 file as well

PEPPER
2009-07-12, 12:55 PM
I must have not had it set at 24 bit then,but im sure i did.Can you tell what it was recording in( rec quality etc ) by looking at this.Pleases excuse my lack of knowledge.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v137/plymboy/analysis.jpg

AAR.oner
2009-07-12, 01:51 PM
can't really tell from that, athough its strange that it rolls off ~16kHz

best way to tell what the orig file was recorded at is to open it in an audio editor...download Audacity (http://audacity.sourceforge.net/download/) or GSpot (http://www.headbands.com/gspot/), open the original raw file and it'll tell you the bit depth & sample rate it was recorded at

you can then use Audacity to downsaple to 16/44.1

PEPPER
2009-07-12, 05:36 PM
I added the original untouched wav file to gspot and this is what i have.As im not good at understanding this,does this mean anything.

http://http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v137/plymboy/gspot.jpg

jmusiclover
2009-07-13, 12:48 AM
http://i27.tinypic.com/2yvo4dv.jpg

PEPPER
2009-07-13, 01:50 AM
So it was recorded in 24 bit 48 khz,how was i able to burn this to cd though( please be patient with me.....if you can ).Is there a problem with the recording,as all i did is set the edirol to 24bit 48khz and now i have theses two wav files that ive been able to split into seperate tracks and burn to cd.

rspencer
2009-07-13, 02:13 AM
Your burning software is likely doing a dither & downsample on the fly. Likely not as good in quality as a dedicated conversion.

PEPPER
2009-07-13, 02:19 AM
Ok,well im very grateful to all of you for the info you've shared and patience you've had with me.

PEPPER
2009-07-13, 02:29 PM
Now i was told i could downsample a 24bit file to 16bit using goldwave.I imported the orginal 24bit file into gw,then simply saved it as 16bit,is that all there is to it.I have taken a screenshot,so hopefully i will know if its right or not.Is the info circled in red correct,also is the rest of the info correct.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v137/plymboy/gspot2.jpg

LeifH12345
2009-07-13, 03:08 PM
Now i was told i could downsample a 24bit file to 16bit using goldwave.I imported the orginal 24bit file into gw,then simply saved it as 16bit,is that all there is to it.

You are correct. Happy taping.

jmusiclover
2009-07-13, 03:08 PM
Your sample rate is still at 48000.

If you're gonna use Goldwave you need to go File -> Batch Processing, then you can change the sample rate to 44100Hz which is what you need for CD, as mentioned previously.

PEPPER
2009-07-13, 03:25 PM
Thank you jmusiclover:)

jmusiclover
2009-07-13, 04:16 PM
No probs. Got there in the end :thumbsup

PEPPER
2009-07-14, 04:08 AM
Your sample rate is still at 48000.

If you're gonna use Goldwave you need to go File -> Batch Processing, then you can change the sample rate to 44100Hz which is what you need for CD, as mentioned previously.

Sorry to be a pain in the ass but have just one more tiny thing to ask.For some reason i get an error message in goldwave when i do this.It says processed 0 of 2 and errors 2 warnings 0.

macmini
2009-07-21, 03:15 AM
hi there,

short and quick question:

i currently run a pair of at853s in combination with a sonosax preamp into a sony d-100.
i now want to replace the d-100 with an edirol. will there be any problems with the phantompower unit/sonosax? any compatibility issues? i've read that the edirol doesnt handle phantompowered mics? is that right?

many thanks :-)

mac

Five
2009-07-21, 02:43 PM
from what you describe it should work just fine with the new deck. :thumbsup

PEPPER
2009-07-23, 06:12 AM
Also incase anyone wants to know about how to turn off the rec light during recording,its easy.

Go to "Display Setup"
Scroll Down to "Rec/Peak LED" and change to "Power Save"

maybe a lot of people knew this already,but incase you didnt,i think its very useful.