PDA

View Full Version : Having difficulties with port forwarding,


Aimee Wilbury
2009-02-24, 12:28 PM
I have a Linksys WRT54GS, and whenever I try to get into the setup page, it always says the password is invalid, although its the default.

I've tried resetting the router, and several variations of the default user/pass (it's either blank & "admin" , or "admin" and "admin", and I've tried things like "admins" or "administrator"). I know my mom is too noobish to set a password for the router, so it's not her.

Any help?

U2Lynne
2009-02-24, 12:35 PM
I believe default is username "admin" and blank password.

Aimee Wilbury
2009-02-24, 12:45 PM
I tried that, as well. :(

thanks anyways.

U2Lynne
2009-02-24, 01:11 PM
Try resetting your router and then try. If that doesn't work, then I'd call Customer Support.

Aimee Wilbury
2009-02-24, 01:13 PM
I did try resetting the router.

Unfortunatly, I bought it for $5 at a yard sale several years ago so I can't call customer service as there's no warranty!

thanks anyways.

stoner
2009-02-25, 07:47 AM
Rerunning the disk should allow you to reset the password.
PS - I think its an excellent router

direwolf-pgh
2009-02-25, 07:53 AM
username is blank.. password is admin

if for some reason this does not work, get a pen or paperclip and default the router settings with the reset button.
you hold the reset button in..then plug in the power while continuing to hold it - check the front lights for status.

:wave:

stoner
2009-02-25, 08:59 AM
You must have the disk to deal with password issues. The software brings the password back to the default. Did you get a startup disk?

stoner
2009-02-25, 09:49 AM
You must have the disk to deal with password issues. The software brings the password back to the default. Did you get a startup disk?

try here for a start - http://forums.linksysbycisco.com/linksys/board/message?message.uid=109883#U109883

Aimee Wilbury
2009-02-25, 11:16 AM
I didn't get a disk with the router.

I'm looking at the link, thank you.

Aimee Wilbury
2009-02-27, 10:38 AM
Attempted it, still no luck.

My mom switched the cords around on the router (I have no idea why), so I tried doing a hard reset. Nothing. Still same error.

rainy12
2009-03-06, 07:31 AM
When doing the hardware reset (the recessed button in the back) hold the button in for about 30 seconds and see if that works.

Aimee Wilbury
2009-03-06, 10:08 AM
I've done that maybe 10 times.

thanks anyways.

Horace
2009-03-06, 07:01 PM
Some are:
"admin"
&
"password"

Try those,
Horace

Aimee Wilbury
2009-03-07, 08:11 AM
Still, "Site Unauthorized."

thanks anyways