PDA

View Full Version : all region DVD player


daddyray
2008-12-11, 04:20 PM
I need a new region free DVD player....a link perhaps? Both of mine are grinding so loudly that I cannot hear the music I am trying to watch and I bought em both just around Devon ave in Chicago. nothing fancy just able to play EVERYTHING.
thanks.

vladsmythe
2008-12-11, 04:30 PM
Philips makes nice ones for about $50.

alzeppelin
2008-12-11, 04:56 PM
Am I the only person who has had trouble with Phillips players? I have bought 2 so far and both seem to have trouble playing certain discs, especially dual layers.

It would be nice to find a player that is somewhat cheap and proven to play all burned discs.

rspencer
2008-12-11, 05:24 PM
I've used $40 Cyberhome players with no problems. PAL or NTSC, any region. I know some of the cheap Philips will even play basic AVI or MPEG files.

dcbullet
2008-12-11, 06:12 PM
I've used $40 Cyberhome players with no problems. PAL or NTSC, any region. I know some of the cheap Philips will even play basic AVI or MPEG files.


Use this as well. It's tiny and I just plug it in when needed.

Five
2008-12-11, 07:54 PM
LG LDA-830 has never failed me, plays anything I've thrown at it except mov and wmv. not certain about region-free, but apparently it can be hacked as well...

look it up on videohelp.com :D

rbiased
2008-12-11, 10:48 PM
If you are willing to pay a tad more for a better quality unit that is all region and PAL/NTSC have a look at the ones from Oppo: http://www.oppodigital.com/

mudster
2008-12-13, 09:27 AM
Amazon has a Phillips model (read the reviews and a very good user review tells exactly how to set it to all-region) for $40 or so. I had it in my cart and the price actually dropped to $35! It plays almost anything I drop in there and I can't tell any visual difference from my more expensive decks. Search multi-region dvd.

rainy12
2008-12-19, 04:40 PM
If my Oppo ever breaks I'll give up drinking till I have enough for a new one.

daddyray
2008-12-19, 05:01 PM
I found my old Advent slim line and it works just fine...thanks for the info.