PDA

View Full Version : Azureus 2.5.0.4 outdated


pawel
2008-10-30, 07:44 PM
I like Azureus but when I changed ISP two months ago it started to behave very strange. Normally my speed should be around 100 kb/s in the daytime, and 230 at night, while Azureus was choking between 14-80 kb/s, most time below 50 average :hmm:

I just switched to uTorrent and now I'm able to seed at my max.

Anybody noticed such problem?

E_rock
2008-10-30, 09:48 PM
Old news. No offense. I was die hard Azureus. Same kind of problem with an update. Switched to Utorrent and never looked back. Much lighter load and easier to use.

Zenith023
2008-10-31, 05:31 AM
Old news. No offense. I was die hard Azureus. Same kind of problem with an update. Switched to Utorrent and never looked back. Much lighter load and easier to use.

Snap. Plus, uTorrent is nowhere near as resource heavy as Azureus (in my experience). On my old machine (which used to be my 24/7 torrent machine), if I tried to do anything else on it, like browse the web (or even in extreme cases open windows explorer, or move the mouse(!)) it would take forever - really, painfully slow. I changed to uTorrent and things returned to normal. :)

AAR.oner
2008-10-31, 06:10 AM
i wonder if Azureus acts differently on a Windows PC than it does on a Mac...i've never really noticed any problems/resource hog issues using Azureus on the OSX platform

Zenith023
2008-10-31, 07:00 AM
i wonder if Azureus acts differently on a Windows PC than it does on a Mac...i've never really noticed any problems/resource hog issues using Azureus on the OSX platform

Yeah, I think it does. I know a few Mac users who use Azureus and say it's fine. I *think* it is generally more geared towards Mac users (at least, that's the impression I always got).

sanpablobay
2008-10-31, 08:51 AM
i wonder if Azureus acts differently on a Windows PC than it does on a Mac...i've never really noticed any problems/resource hog issues using Azureus on the OSX platform

i use it on both a pc & a mac, and i've never really had major slow down issue because of it alone on either.

saltman
2008-10-31, 09:42 AM
you don't know what your missing until you've tried something else. It's now called Vuze anyway. Coded in Java, what else do you need to know.

Five
2008-10-31, 10:18 AM
Azureus is also coded in Java, isn't it? kills my pc just like zenith describes. otherwise great, of course.

saltman
2008-10-31, 10:34 AM
Azureus is also coded in Java, isn't it? kills my pc just like zenith describes. otherwise great, of course.That's what I was saying. coded in java = slow and buggy

U2Lynne
2008-10-31, 10:40 AM
Ever since I updated to Vuze (3.1.1.0 now - I'm on a mac), it's been really fast for me. It used to take ages to load, but now opens up within a couple of seconds, and I can't even tell it's on. I think they've worked on the whole resource hog thing that everyone complained about.

AAR.oner
2008-10-31, 05:06 PM
That's what I was saying. coded in java = slow and buggy

really? not for us Mac headz, must just be a windoze thing ;)

:lol4:

dude87
2008-10-31, 09:07 PM
I've had no problems using Azureus/Vuze on both Windows and Linux machines, my Linux machine is pretty low-powered overall and doesn't have any problems running it. When I ran torrents on Windows boxes I didn't have any real issues either (I had other issues with Windows, but that's another story).

I've used uTorrent on Windows machines, and it runs fine, but I didn't find any reasons to prefer it to Azureus.

Five
2008-11-01, 05:57 AM
That's what I was saying. coded in java = slow and buggy

really? not for us Mac headz, must just be a windoze thing ;)

:lol4:
perhaps its M$ sabotage!! ;)

dcbullet
2008-11-01, 11:11 AM
You need memory to run Azureus/Vuze. I've never noticed a problem with it.

Robbie_B
2008-11-02, 05:07 AM
That's what I was saying. coded in java = slow and buggy
Indeed as Pawel says every time there is a new version,it clogs up the connection.

I prefer using Vuze over utorrent,but now after the last update, Azureuz has some sort of conflict with my Norman firewall aswell. If I have my firewall on, and starts Azureuz it causes an immediate computer crash,so the alternative is to disable the firewall completly:rolleyes:

pawel
2008-11-02, 07:11 AM
Thanks everybody for comments. I had no (memory) problems with Azureus in the past, and I prefer if a torrent program use a bit more memory than HD, which was/is the case of uTorrent.

Maybe the problem is cause by the Java engine update, and older version of Azureus which is not optimized for a new code? I don't like Vuze, so seems I have to say 'bye, bye' to Azureus and switch to uTorrent.

U2Lynne
2008-11-02, 09:45 AM
What don't you like about Vuze? I've heard a lot of people don't like the interface, but you can change it to look just like old Azureus.

dude87
2008-11-02, 12:16 PM
What don't you like about Vuze? I've heard a lot of people don't like the interface, but you can change it to look just like old Azureus.

That's what I've done. I don't like the "Vuze" UI at all, but running in Azureus mode it runs great and acts the way I expect it to.

On the Linux version (at least) you go to Options-Interface-Start and click on the "Vuze UI Chooser" and then select classic. Set it once and forget that the "Vuze" look exists :cool:

pawel
2008-11-02, 01:31 PM
I don't know the latest version. The first I looked was heavy, and as said with nasty interface.

hugofuguzev
2008-11-02, 02:19 PM
I was die hard Azureus. Same kind of problem with an update. Switched to Utorrent and never looked back. Much lighter load and easier to use.

What he said...I swore by Azureus for years, then it seems they updated it and fucked it all up (remember New Coke, gang??? :lol4:) Utorrent is way easier to use...my only beef with it is it doesn't seem like you can ban heavy duty leecher IP's when you're uploading like you could with Az. I believe in a fair distribution of upload speed, not one leecher out of twenty gobbling up 90% of it...:down:

dude87
2008-11-02, 03:42 PM
I don't know the latest version. The first I looked was heavy, and as said with nasty interface.

There's always been an option to ditch the new look and go back to the classic Azureus interface. It's not necessarily easy to find, but it can be done for all versions that I've used.