PDA

View Full Version : Adding transparent image to image in photoshop


tgunn2760
2008-06-22, 09:19 PM
Does anyone know how to do this?

I created a transparent image in PS, problem is my DVD author doesn't support PNG files.

So I can get around it by using the BMP file I have for the top menu, adding the transparent PNG file to the BMP, then saving as BMP and importing into DVD author. Hopefully the transparent PNG will become part of the BMP file.

How do I go about doing that?

xjsb125
2008-06-22, 11:04 PM
Have you tried saving the file as .psd and importing it into your authoring program? What authoring program are you working with? What are you trying to work towards with the transparent image in the menu?

Jerm
2008-06-23, 09:42 AM
I doubt the DVD authoring program has transparency support unless the image editing portion of it is pretty beefy. Maybe an .eps with an embedded clipping path would work if it supports 'placing' of .eps files...?

tgunn2760
2008-06-23, 10:12 AM
I doubt the DVD authoring program has transparency support unless the image editing portion of it is pretty beefy. Maybe an .eps with an embedded clipping path would work if it supports 'placing' of .eps files...?

You're right, it doesn't, this is the reason I want to add the transparent image to a BMP background in PS, and save both as one BMP, which I can then use as background in the menu.

I extracted the transparent image, added it to the menu, then the authoring program crashed. When I tried to add it again, the authoring program wouldn't let me.

I tried adding both PNG and GIF transparencies, no luck.

Jerm
2008-06-23, 02:30 PM
You're right, it doesn't, this is the reason I want to add the transparent image to a BMP background in PS, and save both as one BMP, which I can then use as background in the menu.

I extracted the transparent image, added it to the menu, then the authoring program crashed. When I tried to add it again, the authoring program wouldn't let me.

I tried adding both PNG and GIF transparencies, no luck.

Yeah man...I don't think it's gonna work because you'll have to 'flatten' the finished file in Photoshop before being able to save it in a file format that the DVD program will support, but when you flatten it, you will lose transparency.

What DVD authoring program are you using? Does it support pdf? If so, since pdf supports transparency this might be a work-around...I'd need to mess around with it to know for sure.

tgunn2760
2008-06-23, 02:36 PM
Yeah man...I don't think it's gonna work because you'll have to 'flatten' the finished file in Photoshop before being able to save it in a file format that the DVD program will support, but when you flatten it, you will lose transparency.

What DVD authoring program are you using? Does it support pdf? If so, since pdf supports transparency this might be a work-around...I'd need to mess around with it to know for sure.

DVD author Pro.

I don't think it supports PDF either.

classictrader
2008-06-23, 06:51 PM
Are you talking about placing something like a logo over your background image? I'm not familiar with creating DVD menus or even doing anything besides burning a DVD (even that doesn't work sometimes!), but I would suggest trying to save your transparent image as a GIF. I don't know if that file format is supported by your DVD software, but in other applications, a GIF is the way to go (as in HTML documents, etc.). You will have to choose "preserve transparency" in the file save options box for this to work. Hope it works for you.

tgunn2760
2008-06-23, 06:55 PM
Are you talking about placing something like a logo over your background image? I'm not familiar with creating DVD menus or even doing anything besides burning a DVD (even that doesn't work sometimes!), but I would suggest trying to save your transparent image as a GIF. I don't know if that file format is supported by your DVD software, but in other applications, a GIF is the way to go (as in HTML documents, etc.). You will have to choose "preserve transparency" in the file save options box for this to work. Hope it works for you.

The transparency was saved in both gif and png formats, however these formats are not accepted by my authoring software.

So I need to add the transparent logo onto the menu background, which is in bmp format, and save both as one bmp, hopefully preserving the transparency of the gif which is now merged with the bmp.

That's what I don't know how to do with PS.

paddington
2008-06-23, 08:05 PM
I may not be grasping what you are trying to do, but DVD menu stuff is really primitive. You need to make whatever you have as a flat BMP and import that as one thing image to the authoring program. Don't try to get too fancy with transparencies becuase you'll generally not have much luck.

if it's a button or something, put it in the BMP as a de-activated state, then use the authorign programs built-in graphics to make a ring around it to select or something like that.

classictrader
2008-06-23, 08:06 PM
The transparency was saved in both gif and png formats, however these formats are not accepted by my authoring software.

So I need to add the transparent logo onto the menu background, which is in bmp format, and save both as one bmp, hopefully preserving the transparency of the gif which is now merged with the bmp.

That's what I don't know how to do with PS.

Okay, so you're going to add the logo into your existing background now? There are a few options for doing this by changing your "Layer Mode" settings in the Layers pallet. You'll be able to do some simple, but sometimes cool effects with the way the logo appears in this way.

Hopefully I'm not confusing you more.

It will hopefully work for you with this option. If not, or if you have any other issues, I'll try to help out however I can.

tgunn2760
2008-06-23, 09:03 PM
Okay, so you're going to add the logo into your existing background now? There are a few options for doing this by changing your "Layer Mode" settings in the Layers pallet. You'll be able to do some simple, but sometimes cool effects with the way the logo appears in this way.

Hopefully I'm not confusing you more.

It will hopefully work for you with this option. If not, or if you have any other issues, I'll try to help out however I can.

You got it. It's the Heart logo I am trying to paste on top of the background, and I know you can do it via the layers pallet, but don't know HOW TO DO IT.

The logo is transparent, in two formats, png and gif.

This will only work if I can add the gif or png to the bmp, then saved the merged image as bmp and import it into the authoring program.

tgunn2760
2008-06-23, 09:04 PM
I may not be grasping what you are trying to do, but DVD menu stuff is really primitive. You need to make whatever you have as a flat BMP and import that as one thing image to the authoring program. Don't try to get too fancy with transparencies becuase you'll generally not have much luck.

if it's a button or something, put it in the BMP as a de-activated state, then use the authorign programs built-in graphics to make a ring around it to select or something like that.

It's Heart's logo. I don't have to have it, but it looks really nice if it's included.

paddington
2008-06-24, 02:39 AM
I think this seems more complicated than necessary.. are you trying to paste the heart logo on some rasterized bmp, but the logo currently has no transparency? When you paste the logo, it will create the layer. When you save as bmp it will flatten. Do always go WINDOW>LAYERS and WINDOW>HISTORY and have those open on your desktop at all times to you can see what the hell you are doing. You can close the rest of that shit that open by default (not the tool bar).

if you need the Heart logo as transparent, die-cut, I have now hooked you up by making one and saving as a Photoshop.psd file. Open this in photoshop, size it, select all, copy, paste on your background bitmap.

Good to go.

http://www.thesongremains.com/Heart.psd

tgunn2760
2008-06-24, 10:25 AM
I think this seems more complicated than necessary.. are you trying to paste the heart logo on some rasterized bmp, but the logo currently has no transparency? When you paste the logo, it will create the layer. When you save as bmp it will flatten. Do always go WINDOW>LAYERS and WINDOW>HISTORY and have those open on your desktop at all times to you can see what the hell you are doing. You can close the rest of that shit that open by default (not the tool bar).

if you need the Heart logo as transparent, die-cut, I have now hooked you up by making one and saving as a Photoshop.psd file. Open this in photoshop, size it, select all, copy, paste on your background bitmap.

Good to go.

http://www.thesongremains.com/Heart.psd

Thanks for your troubles.

It worked, I was able to add the transparency to the bmp, but the program crashed again.

I guess I will have to make the menu without the Heart logo.

paddington
2008-06-24, 11:26 AM
well then you are fucked.

try a better authoring program, like DVD Lab Pro.

tgunn2760
2008-06-24, 12:31 PM
well then you are fucked.

try a better authoring program, like DVD Lab Pro.

I have Lab Pro.

I like the other one because I can import the video folder in it, which I have edited on my SA. It imports chapter points too.

For Lab I would have to rip it to a single VOB, demux it and then add chapter points manually.

It's generally easy to find band logos on a solid background, but I had a hell of a time finding the Heart one, and the ones I did find were small.

If I had a nice sized white Heart logo on a black background I could then add three layers of jpgs or bmps and that would work.

paddington
2008-06-24, 12:46 PM
you can easily make that in the psd I sent you...

but how's this?

Jerm
2008-06-24, 01:43 PM
you can easily make that in the psd I sent you...

but how's this?

Don't spoil him :) Make him work for it.

tgunn2760
2008-06-24, 04:21 PM
you can easily make that in the psd I sent you...

but how's this?

Thanks..I'll give it a twirl.