PDA

View Full Version : Is my ISP capping my DL speed?


tgunn2760
2008-06-13, 09:31 PM
I recently changed ISP providers. I had Sympatico for years, and thought the speeds were pretty good for DSL.

I went with a new ISP last month because Sympatico no longer offered unlimited bandwidth.

To get to the point, I noticed an immediate reduction in DL and UL speeds. With Sympatico I maxed out at over 600kbps, when there were shitloads of seeders. Speeds of over 200 kbps were common. UL speeds capped out at about 80 kbps, which was plenty good enough for me.

With the new ISP, my UL AND DL speeds maxed out at 150 kbps TOTAL. Two days ago, those speeds went down to 40 kbps. I called tech support earlier, he told to delete temporary files, cookies, history, which I had already done, but I still get the same shit speeds.

Sympatico, BTW, was 5 mb DL, the new one is supposed to be 7 mb, and I get dial up speeds.

The tech guy said they would check the line etc, etc, I remember the same thing happened with Sympatico initially before I started to get decent speeds.

And get this: if I am DL with Bitcomet at 40 kbps, pages will take ten seconds to load, sometimes they don't load fully, they just hang. If I close BC, the pages load fast. When BC is on it takes me forever to connect to Yahoo messenger, when BC is off, I log on instantly.

Is there any way to know if these fuckers are capping my speeds, and if so, is there a way to get around it?

dorrcoq
2008-06-13, 11:10 PM
Not sure about your ISP, but it sounds like Bit Comet is fucking with you.

SundayDriver
2008-06-13, 11:16 PM
Switch to uTorrent and enable protocol encryption. (Options>Prefs>BitTorrent) It might help.

tgunn2760
2008-06-13, 11:18 PM
Not sure about your ISP, but it sounds like Bit Comet is fucking with you.

It's not BC, Mtorrent is doing the same, didn't have problems with either before.

The speeds have dropped since I got the new ISP.

DanielG
2008-06-13, 11:36 PM
Firstly, you've got your kilobits/kilobytes mixed up.
kbps = kilobits per second
kBps = kiloBYTES per second

I'm going to assume that you mean kiloBYTEs.

Deleting your history, cookies, temp internet files will have no effect on your download/upload speeds. I'm not sure why support suggested you do that.

Which new ISP are you with?
What plan are you on? You said you have a 7Mbit download speed, but what is your upload speed?
Go to http://www.speedtest.net/ and report back your actual download and upload speed.
In your bitTorrent application, make sure you set your maximum UPLOAD speed to be 80% of the upload figure.

tgunn2760
2008-06-13, 11:49 PM
Firstly, you've got your kilobits/kilobytes mixed up.
kbps = kilobits per second
kBps = kiloBYTES per second

I'm going to assume that you mean kiloBYTEs.

Deleting your history, cookies, temp internet files will have no effect on your download/upload speeds. I'm not sure why support suggested you do that.

Which new ISP are you with?
What plan are you on? You said you have a 7Mbit download speed, but what is your upload speed?
Go to http://www.speedtest.net/ and report back your actual download and upload speed.
In your bitTorrent application, make sure you set your maximum UPLOAD speed to be 80% of the upload figure.

Been there done that. The old ISP had 5 mb DL, this one has 7.

I used to get up to 600 kbps DL, with the new one 110 at first, now 40.

I just turned of BC and pages load like lightning. When it's on, it takes 10 seconds to load a page.

I think they blocked BC, or some ports.

paddington
2008-06-14, 01:12 AM
Deleting your history, cookies, temp internet files will have no effect on your download/upload speeds. I'm not sure why support suggested you do that. because those shit heads ALWAYS suggest that first.. I'm beginning to wonder if there is some universal cheatsheet they all use or something. It's most moronic thing ever... proof they just hire telemarketers and hand them crib sheets to read off with flow charts.

:disbelief

mooncusser
2008-06-14, 01:13 AM
it works in India where the call center is. :p

paddington
2008-06-14, 01:13 AM
Been there done that. The old ISP had 5 mb DL, this one has 7.

I used to get up to 600 kbps DL, with the new one 110 at first, now 40.

I just turned of BC and pages load like lightning. When it's on, it takes 10 seconds to load a page.

I think they blocked BC, or some ports.

they're cockblocking you

strongly suggest you use uTorrent with protocol encryption and see if it does better

tgunn2760
2008-06-14, 02:01 AM
they're cockblocking you

strongly suggest you use uTorrent with protocol encryption and see if it does better

I think all ISPs do that now.

They can't come out and say that they are blocking ports or capping your up and down speeds, so they put on this charade that they are investigating the problem.

If you don't complain they will just leave it and screw you.

I can actually see the speeds being capped. When I restore BC from the task bar, the speeds are higher, and as the window opens you can speeds get lower until they hit that 40 kbps mark.

It was like this earlier, when it capped at 150 kbps up and down, and with my old ISP, Sympatico. But I didn't complain about Sympatico because I was content with speeds of on average 100+ kbps per task. With a good number of seeders, my total downloads peaked at 600 kbps.

roomful
2008-06-14, 02:40 AM
use a high port # (between about 50,000- 60,000), force encryption in uTorrent, and do a speed test in uTorrent (options > speed guide > run speed test)

tgunn2760
2008-06-14, 10:44 AM
use a high port # (between about 50,000- 60,000), force encryption in uTorrent, and do a speed test in uTorrent (options > speed guide > run speed test)

Did the speed tests, used the link from TTD as well as my ISP, my speed is 350 kbps, the connection is supposed to be 7 MBs.

Tried a high port number and encryption in BC, same shit.

The ISP is either blocking ports or capping my speeds.

40 kbps for DSL is ridiculous.

SundayDriver
2008-06-14, 11:01 AM
Definitely sounds like a BT bandwidth throttle. The encryption does not always work (as I said).

roomful
2008-06-14, 11:13 AM
The cap may not be specific to just BT. In that case there's nothing you can do about it.

Try some http downloads like www.archive.org , megaupload, etc. and see what kind of download speeds you get vs. a torrent with tons of seeders.

tgunn2760
2008-06-14, 11:26 AM
Definitely sounds like a BT bandwidth throttle. The encryption does not always work (as I said).

Yup, when I have BC on, IE pages take ten seconds to load.

When BC is off they load instantly.

tgunn2760
2008-06-14, 11:27 AM
The cap may not be specific to just BT. In that case there's nothing you can do about it.

Try some http downloads like www.archive.org , megaupload, etc. and see what kind of download speeds you get vs. a torrent with tons of seeders.

I downloaded covers that were emailed to me. The speeds were 40-60 kbps, before I used to get speeds around 300 kbps if not more.

SundayDriver
2008-06-14, 11:38 AM
Then (as I'm sure you've already guessed), your bandwith is being throttled.
My cable company does this to me too, but since the speeds are still good under the cap, I stopped paying attention to it.

To be sure of a bandwith cap, you can run this speed test:

http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/

roomful
2008-06-14, 11:47 AM
I downloaded covers that were emailed to me. The speeds were 40-60 kbps, before I used to get speeds around 300 kbps if not more.

So it's an overall bandwidth cap, not just BT. I'd check the advertised speeds for whatever DSL package you bought, and complain that you're not getting what was advertised. If they are advertising 7 Mbps down, that's 875 kBps.

SundayDriver
2008-06-14, 11:54 AM
Problem is, his non P2P bandwith (http connections) is only being throttled when he uses BT. (so it seems) Perhaps that is their way of getting around encrypted packets.

roomful
2008-06-14, 12:09 PM
or maybe BT is eating up all of his bandwidth. tgunn, with your BT client closed, what kind of http download speeds are you getting?

tgunn2760
2008-06-14, 12:12 PM
Problem is, his non P2P bandwith (http connections) is only being throttled when he uses BT. (so it seems) Perhaps that is their way of getting around encrypted packets.

It's definitely that. I can't connect to Yahoo messenger and pages won't load when BC is on. All while it's only DL at 40 kbps.

Sympatico, my old ISP, throttled my speeds even worse. I was getting under 10 kbps total (!!!!) before they fixed the problem.

I thought I had virus or spyware.

I ran two virus scans and spybot BTW, before I called tech support.

tgunn2760
2008-06-14, 12:14 PM
or maybe BT is eating up all of his bandwidth. tgunn, with your BT client closed, what kind of http download speeds are you getting?

What bandwidth? You call 40 kbps downloads bandwidth?

roomful
2008-06-14, 12:15 PM
Problem is, his non P2P bandwith (http connections) is only being throttled when he uses BT. (so it seems) Perhaps that is their way of getting around encrypted packets.

I don't think that's how Comcast was doing it with sandvine. People weren't complaining that their browsing speed was affected, just BT traffic (mainly uploading after completing but also download speeds in some cases).

tgunn2760
2008-06-14, 12:17 PM
So it's an overall bandwidth cap, not just BT. I'd check the advertised speeds for whatever DSL package you bought, and complain that you're not getting what was advertised. If they are advertising 7 Mbps down, that's 875 kBps.

Sounds about right. Sympatico-5 MBPS, peaked at 600 kbps DL and 80 UL.

I called them yesterday so I would expect them to take a couple of days to sort it out.

roomful
2008-06-14, 12:18 PM
What bandwidth? You call 40 kbps downloads bandwidth?

that's not very much, but to figure out exactly what the problem is, please close your BT client and test some http downloads of big files (like 20 or 50 megabytes or something)!

SundayDriver
2008-06-14, 12:28 PM
I don't think that's how Comcast was doing it with sandvine. People weren't complaining that their browsing speed was affected, just BT traffic (mainly uploading after completing but also download speeds in some cases).

OK, but that was Comcast. ;) Although it's a cheap method, it would make sense to throttle someone's entire bandwith while using BT. 40 kb/s is crap though.
Is everyone using sandvine? I have no clue.

roomful
2008-06-14, 12:37 PM
OK, but that was Comcast. ;) Although it's a cheap method, it would make sense to throttle someone's entire bandwith while using BT. 40 kb/s is crap though.
Is everyone using sandvine? I have no clue.

It would make sense to only target the P2P traffic, and leave http traffic alone, so it wouldn't seem so obvious that they were throttling P2P. I mean that's discrimination, an ISP can't legally (I believe) discriminate against one form of net traffic vs. another. There is a lot of legal BT traffic, like this and other sites.

If they want to set speed limits and set limits for the total number of GB used in a month, fine, but to discriminate against BT is fucked up.

tgunn2760
2008-06-14, 12:56 PM
that's not very much, but to figure out exactly what the problem is, please close your BT client and test some http downloads of big files (like 20 or 50 megabytes or something)!

I will down a file from rapidshare, I am curious to see how that will work.

tgunn2760
2008-06-14, 01:00 PM
It would make sense to only target the P2P traffic, and leave http traffic alone, so it wouldn't seem so obvious that they were throttling P2P. I mean that's discrimination, an ISP can't legally (I believe) discriminate against one form of net traffic vs. another. There is a lot of legal BT traffic, like this and other sites.

If they want to set speed limits and set limits for the total number of GB used in a month, fine, but to discriminate against BT is fucked up.

That is absolutely right.

I find it disturbing that these people KNOW what applications I use to download.

Are they throttling BC or specific ports that P2P traffic comes from?

roomful
2008-06-14, 01:38 PM
I think at first they were throttling the default ports for BT 6881-6889, then ppl switched to higher port ranges. Then they started shaping all BT traffic, and encryption was introduced to combat this. Then sandvine was introduced, which sent false info to clients to stop seeding.

You can read more about it on torrentfreak. Search throttling and sandvine.

SundayDriver
2008-06-14, 02:12 PM
That is absolutely right.

I find it disturbing that these people KNOW what applications I use to download.

Are they throttling BC or specific ports that P2P traffic comes from?

No, they are identifying your incoming/outgoing packets, not the programs you use.

This is a strange situation because I've never heard of anyone getting throttled on a DSL connection.

tgunn2760
2008-06-14, 05:18 PM
No, they are identifying your incoming/outgoing packets, not the programs you use.

This is a strange situation because I've never heard of anyone getting throttled on a DSL connection.

Well, they called me today, I wasn't home so they left a message, they made some changes they said so things should improve.

The download speed did improve, I am now peaking at 80-90 kbps, which is crap. It looks like they throttled all downloads. I am now downloading a 100 MB file from rapidshare, and the speed is 78 kbps, almost identical to BC.

BC is closed as I am downloading this file. When it is nearly complete, I will start the downloads again on BC to see how much the rapidshare download slows.

roomful
2008-06-14, 05:22 PM
Did the speed tests, used the link from TTD as well as my ISP, my speed is 350 kbps, the connection is supposed to be 7 MBs.

Tried a high port number and encryption in BC, same shit.

The ISP is either blocking ports or capping my speeds.

40 kbps for DSL is ridiculous.

Sorry, I didn't look at this closely enough. 350 kbps is 43.75 kBps. No wonder simple browsing was fast, but browsing with a torrent running was really slow. 43.75 kBps is your current total download cap for any and all usage. I would definitely call them, complain, and get them to fix it.

Edit: OK, I see your most recent post. Do a speed test again (make sure your BT client is closed and you have no downloads running) and divide by 8. That will give you your total available download speed for all usage.

tgunn2760
2008-06-14, 05:25 PM
Sorry, I didn't look at this closely enough. 350 kbps is 43.75 kBps. No wonder simple browsing was fast, but browsing with a torrent running was really slow. 43.75 kBps is your current total download cap for any and all usage. I would definitely call them, complain, and get them to fix it.

They did..kinda...the cap now is about 80 kbps. Not just for BC, but http downloads as well. So I now KNOW they are throttling.

LeifH12345
2008-06-14, 05:33 PM
I don't get more than 70/kbps up, and get about 300/kbps down, yet my ratio is 3.5 times better than tgunn's. He has also been here longer. :wtf:

tgunn2760
2008-06-14, 05:37 PM
Tried downloading both with BC and http, both are capped at about 70 kbps, total 140 kbps.

Still way below DSL speeds.

tgunn2760
2008-06-14, 05:40 PM
No, they are identifying your incoming/outgoing packets, not the programs you use.

This is a strange situation because I've never heard of anyone getting throttled on a DSL connection.

I was throttled with the last DSL provider as well, not nearly as bad as this one though.

But they are now imposing caps on bandwidth, most are 60 GBs a month, some 75 GBs. My last three months, I averaged over 300 GBs a month.

tgunn2760
2008-06-14, 05:46 PM
Then (as I'm sure you've already guessed), your bandwith is being throttled.
My cable company does this to me too, but since the speeds are still good under the cap, I stopped paying attention to it.

To be sure of a bandwith cap, you can run this speed test:

http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/

DL: 688
UL: 662

The UL is fine..the DL is not. It's less than 1/5th of what it should be.

roomful
2008-06-14, 05:47 PM
Tried downloading both with BC and http, both are capped at about 70 kbps, total 140 kbps.

Still way below DSL speeds.

It depends what level of DSL service you bought. I think there are usually three levels: basic, standard, and extreme. Do you have a link to a webpage where it gives the details of the package you bought?

tgunn2760
2008-06-14, 07:59 PM
It depends what level of DSL service you bought. I think there are usually three levels: basic, standard, and extreme. Do you have a link to a webpage where it gives the details of the package you bought?

Up to 7 MBs downstream.

SundayDriver
2008-06-14, 09:17 PM
DL: 688
UL: 662

The UL is fine..the DL is not. It's less than 1/5th of what it should be.

yea, then (as I think you already did), you need to call them (the ISP)

Just leave off the words "Bit Torrent".

tgunn2760
2008-06-15, 07:07 PM
yea, then (as I think you already did), you need to call them (the ISP)

Just leave off the words "Bit Torrent".

Made a second call to them, speed is now up to 140 kbps.

They asked me to unplug the cable from the phone jack, and said it would take about 24 hours for the speed to normalize.