PDA

View Full Version : Huge proplems with transfer MC > HDD (Toshiba L300-notebook / Vista)


uninvited94
2008-06-07, 01:56 PM
Guys,

IŽm struggling with problems transferring MC (via Kenwood-tapedeck) to my brand new notebook. IŽm using the same Audacity as with the old PC running XP, this is running with Vista, but this may not be the cause why I cannot get anything on my HDD.

I did, as always, all this:

http://www.online-tech-tips.com/computer-tips/transfer-audio-cassette-to-computer/

The thing is, I have no proper Soundcard-input as it is a notebook, all I have is a Headphone- and a Mic-line-in. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance!!

direwolf-pgh
2008-06-07, 02:01 PM
vista has issues (ha ha) with a few older soundcards, but your laptop is new.

check the control panel for vendor supplied app. to control the soundcard.
the default vista sound cp is probably somewhat disabled by their software.

best guess & good luck

edit:
Check the Toshiba EasyMedia software/control panel
http://www.toshiba-europe.com/leadinginnovation/plain/about.asp?feature=usability&id=easy_media

uninvited94
2008-06-07, 02:13 PM
Thanks a lot, Direwolf!! IŽll try my best...my planned transfers MC > HDD and Vinyl > HDD were about 50% the cause why I bought a new PC. Hope it will work soon.

diggrd
2008-06-07, 02:24 PM
Check to see if all devices are showing

uninvited94
2008-06-07, 02:34 PM
No. Only these:

diggrd
2008-06-07, 02:51 PM
Right click in that box to bring up the menu in the pic above

uninvited94
2008-06-07, 03:07 PM
I have the strange feeling this does not look that good...

LeifH12345
2008-06-07, 03:18 PM
I think you've posted about this before, how does audio get screwed up during a transfer? Why sometimes do 1 or 2 tracks get all choppy?

uninvited94
2008-06-07, 03:21 PM
No, that was another problem on another PC, this is about a new notebook and no Line-In-signal at all...before, I could transfer stuff w/o a problem, except the flaws mentioned. :)

LeifH12345
2008-06-07, 03:22 PM
I see. I had nothing running, maybe the screen saver did it.

diggrd
2008-06-07, 05:08 PM
Using stereomix you should get sound try editing preferences in audacity

uninvited94
2008-06-07, 05:22 PM
No sound. The strange thing is that I canŽt even hear the incoming sound on the notebook. IŽll try on, thanks for all the advice until now!!

Five
2008-06-15, 01:30 AM
my laptop is like yours, only mic in (mono!) and headphone jacks. also, the built-in soundcard is pretty crap. so I got a USB device, Edirol UA-1EX and all is well :D

uninvited94
2008-06-15, 05:13 AM
Thanks for the advice!! I found out how to transfer in the meantime, even in Stereo, but IŽll check this USB-device. :thumbsup

Five
2008-06-15, 06:07 AM
you're welcome... you will find the sound is a big improvement over any built-in soundcard.

also, I looked over that guide, didn't see it mention that you have to set the bit depth and sample rate in the Audacity preferences before you start if you want something other than default (I think its 24bit/44.1kHz ... most times you'll want "cd quality" which is 16bit/44.1kHz).