PDA

View Full Version : Help! Brand New To This Site


tim81786
2008-03-18, 11:25 AM
Ive heard of this site for a while but just became a member. I been downloading some rush shows and noticed that my client (limewire) is taking so long to download the material. Then I noticed that I am firewalled. I saw the page where you can try to fix it but all the talk of ports and what is your port number and all that shit is so confusing to me, I am so not knowlegible with this stuff. So can someone help me but explain it to me in a really really simple way. Thanks!:)

saltman
2008-03-18, 11:41 AM
You need to explain your system. Is it a laptop or desktop? apple or pc? do you have it on a network? Is it a cable modem connected directly to your computer?

It's easy not that bad. I would use utorrent instead of limewire. It is free.

tim81786
2008-03-18, 11:53 AM
Well, I have a hp dv1000 laptop that runs windows xp. I have the free version of limewire the pro version I would have to pay for. I might get it just so I can get somewhat faster downloads.

U2Lynne
2008-03-18, 12:11 PM
I would not use limeware. I'd get something like uTorrent. Also, take a look at these two sections in the FAQ:
BitTorrent Help (http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/faq.php?faq=new_faq_item#faq_bittorrent)
Freeware Software (http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/faq.php?faq=new_faq_item#faq_software)

tim81786
2008-03-18, 12:22 PM
Ok I downloased uTorrent but my port is blocked. How do I fix that?

saltman
2008-03-18, 12:42 PM
do you have it on a network? Is it a cable modem connected directly to your computer?

tim81786
2008-03-18, 01:15 PM
No I have a dsl connection

saltman
2008-03-18, 01:33 PM
while in utorrernt.

click options> preferences> click on connection
The port number listed in the listening port box is the number you want to foward.

you should also have the box checked for add utorrent to windows firewall exceptions.



Your DSL modem may have a firewall built in. What model? You should be able to go into it's software and forward the port above there. Then you will be all clear.

There was a box to test the port when you installed utorrent. did that fail?

tim81786
2008-03-18, 02:04 PM
I went into my network connections folder and I changed the firewall settings. I added a port and used the port number. Would that help. I have sbcglobal