PDA

View Full Version : Two PC at once ?


rich65vwbus
2008-03-05, 06:31 PM
Tax returns any day now thinking of getting a new computer...More ram memory ect. Can I have two logged in under my user name at the same time
(Double your dowloads & uploads) Running dsl with ports open any opion ?:hmm:

U2Lynne
2008-03-05, 06:33 PM
rich, you only get so much 'speed' per house/line. So, having two PCs running does not double your download or upload speeds. If you get 200 down and 100 up right now, it will just split it (approximately) so you get 100 down and 50 up per machine if they are both running.

katnapz
2008-03-12, 12:44 AM
You mean....The Den doesn't go to .....11??? :wtf:

On a more serious note: If you're on an XP SP2 system your TCP connections are limited to 10 (there is a hack/patch out there to fix this but user beware), sooooo, theoretically this could be impacting your torrent capability. A second computer hooked to your network would be another 10, but if your pipeline is already maxxed out it won't help much as Lynne noted.

Unless of course, your new computer comes with a compatible "11 knob" software...this will allow you to synchronize with the hidden "11 knob" booster app built into The Den platform.....:D The administrators have been working with the developer on this for awhile but I'm not sure of the progress....I've heard that so far he won't let anyone touch it...only look at it....

vladsmythe
2008-03-12, 12:48 AM
You mean....The Den doesn't go to .....11??? :wtf:

On a more serious note: If you're on an XP SP2 system your TCP connections are limited to 10 (there is a hack/patch out there to fix this but user beware), sooooo, theoretically this could be impacting your torrent capability. A second computer hooked to your network would be another 10, but if your pipeline is already maxxed out it won't help much as Lynne noted.

Unless of course, your new computer comes with a compatible "11 knob" software...this will allow you to synchronize with the hidden "11 knob" booster app built into The Den platform.....:D The administrators have been working with the developer on this for awhile but I'm not sure of the progress....I've heard that so far he won't let anyone touch it...only look at it....

Where is the button for "Bullshit"? :hmm::hmm::clap::clap:

Five
2008-03-12, 01:12 AM
:lol :lol :lol

good to see you around here katnapz :wave:

rspencer
2008-03-12, 01:47 AM
You mean....The Den doesn't go to .....11??? :wtf:

On a more serious note: If you're on an XP SP2 system your TCP connections are limited to 10 (there is a hack/patch out there to fix this but user beware), sooooo, theoretically this could be impacting your torrent capability. A second computer hooked to your network would be another 10, but if your pipeline is already maxxed out it won't help much as Lynne noted.

Unless of course, your new computer comes with a compatible "11 knob" software...this will allow you to synchronize with the hidden "11 knob" booster app built into The Den platform.....:D The administrators have been working with the developer on this for awhile but I'm not sure of the progress....I've heard that so far he won't let anyone touch it...only look at it....

Where is the button for "Bullshit"? :hmm::hmm::clap::clap:

I found it.

:bs:

U2Lynne
2008-03-12, 11:16 AM
TTD is constantly working on new things to make this site better. We even recently installed the ATM: IMPORTANT: Automated Thread Moderation Being Installed at TTD
(http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/showthread.php?t=54668) It just has a couple of kinks we are working out....

rich65vwbus
2008-03-12, 05:39 PM
Decided to let sis have old pc got a Fujitsu lifebook 3 g ram 250 on hard now its not the pc thats slow gotta improve bandwith. thinking about new router any suggestions?

direwolf-pgh
2008-03-12, 06:32 PM
Decided to let sis have old pc got a Fujitsu lifebook 3 g ram 250 on hard now its not the pc thats slow gotta improve bandwith. thinking about new router any suggestions?
buying a new computer does not improve your bandwidth.

www.speakeasy.net/speedtest

run a test - tell us your speeds

rich65vwbus
2008-03-12, 07:00 PM
I got 778 kbps download and 142 kbps upload wish these would reflect on my actual speed

direwolf-pgh
2008-03-12, 07:11 PM
lynne said divide by 8

96kb down / 20kb up (i hope you're not paying more than $25/month for that)

U2Lynne
2008-03-12, 07:21 PM
lynne said divide by 8
That was in a different thread.



(You freaked me out there. I knew I posted that and the post was nowhere to be found in this thread!)

rich65vwbus
2008-03-12, 07:26 PM
Calling ATT I'm paying more than that and supose to have an " upgrade" form normal DSL

katnapz
2008-03-12, 07:46 PM
:lol :lol :lol

good to see you around here katnapz :wave:

Good to see you too Five. :wave: I'd probably try to be more active but as things stand I'm remoting into my torrenting computers just to get here....hell, can't even type in this text box without about a 5 second lag (got a pipe about the size of a drinking straw at the location I'm at...not even dial-up speed). Hope you're doing well....

Anyways, just so I can be said to post on topic, this thread was just posted recently regarding the 10 TCP's....
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/showthread.php?t=54979
Good advice. Go back and check your settings if you've modded them. Reminds me of an update from MS a while back that undid the setting change you could make to Firefox for it to download more website streams at a time so a page would load faster. Since I hate to leave people hanging who have never heard of this before:
http://www.wikihow.com/Make-Firefox-Load-Pages-Faster
(my apologies for the small hijack of the thread)

And I really wish I could see the vid that Lynne referred to in her post but it aint' happening until I'm home this summer sometime. I'll keep it on my "to do" list along with listening/watching all the torrents I've been storing on my home hard drives! :) At least my ratio is staying up (along with my Bullshit ratio of 2:1, ie, 2 bullshits for one post....)

dcbullet
2008-03-12, 08:32 PM
Two PC's at the same time...:drool

rich65vwbus
2008-03-12, 09:25 PM
I got 778 kbps download and 142 kbps upload wish these would reflect on my actual speed

Raised hell with ratbastards at att 5159 kbps download 438 upload ...a little better.:)