PDA

View Full Version : Azureus 3.0.3.4 Questions and Problems


door71
2007-12-05, 10:27 AM
I had no problem whatsoever downloading before Monday's update.

1. I would left click on the link.
2. Choose open file in the add download screen.
3. Hit ok and a 30 second launch would appear. I could either wait the 30 seconds or launch it earlier.
4. Then a Azureus pop up would appear and tell me my file was now downloading.
5. It would appear on my Azureus dashboard and in my designated desktop file.

Now I get nothing after step 2 that is similar to before. I have seen a screen that says " Could not open'attachment.php'. It doesn't appear to be a .torrent file"

Can anyone help.

Thanks.

saltman
2007-12-05, 10:36 AM
are you on a PC?

go to My Computer
click on Tools>folder options
click on File Types Tab
scroll down to .torrent
click on it, highlighting
click on change in the "opens with" areas and browse to the Azureus .exe file


I think it's a program association problem.
Try to redo it and see if it works even if it is there currently.
If that checks out and it still doesn't work, post back here.


also let me know what browser you are using. could be a browser setting.

door71
2007-12-05, 10:41 AM
Thanks Saltman. I'll get back to you.

U2Lynne
2007-12-05, 10:46 AM
In step 2, are you talking about a pop-up box that appears where you get a choice to open in an Application or to Download the file? Do you get that box at all?

He's using IE and doesn't know computers real well. So, the more specific the answer, the easier for him to fix.

saltman
2007-12-05, 10:51 AM
I am unfamiliar with the 30 second launch you are talking about in step 3, also. That must be some new IE security feature. I've been using firefox for many years and haven't played with IE recently.

Are you on Vista or XP? and what version of Internet Explorer are you using?

door71
2007-12-05, 11:09 AM
I did what you suggested Saltman. I tried a SRV show and the torrent file appeared in the desktop folder. The following link seems to be downloading for me now. :clap: It was different from what I was used to but it works.



http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=38129&d=1195080410



Thanks!!!

door71
2007-12-05, 11:32 AM
In step 2, are you talking about a pop-up box that appears where you get a choice to open in an Application or to Download the file? Do you get that box at all?

He's using IE and doesn't know computers real well. So, the more specific the answer, the easier for him to fix.


It is a Add Download screen with the URL info at the top.

Then 3 choices for download type...save file, open file, or save file and open.
Then your save to folder info.

U2Lynne
2007-12-05, 11:36 AM
It is a Add Download screen with the URL info at the top.

Then 3 choices for download type...save file, open file, or save file and open.
Then your save to folder info.
OK, it's similar to what I get. My first choice is Open in Application (and you can click on Application to choose one), then Download as File, and I forget what the last one is. It sounds like you got it to work with Download as File? If you did, then you might try changing it to Open in Application, choose Azurues, and see if it now does what you want.

door71
2007-12-05, 11:51 AM
Thanks to both of you for all your help.


The big test is when I try another download. :D

door71
2007-12-06, 07:24 AM
:disbelief

If it wasn't 10 degrees there would be a monitor shaped hole in my front window.

I'm trying like hell to get a screen shot up here.

door71
2007-12-06, 07:41 AM
I have IE 7. How do I check if IE is blocking downloads from this site?

direwolf-pgh
2007-12-06, 09:50 AM
you are not blocked - after clicking on a torrent - you're getting the correct pop up window.
=====================================================================
try this:

close Azureus
find the torrent you wish
click the torrent file
choose open

(azureus should then launch & begin your download)

if another program opens = bad.
if you are presented with a list of programs (because it doesnt know what to do with the file)
find Azureus in the list presented & check 'always use this program'.

if that doesnt work - uninstall azureus & reinstall azureus.... or download utorrent.

www.utorrent.com

door71
2007-12-06, 10:29 AM
Thanks Wolf. We tried the uninstall/reinstall.

There seems to be a problem with "attachment .php" It doesn't recognize it.

In the pop up window right below where you designate the save to folder there is a box "Generate a file name automatically" and right below that a "save as" designater which says attachment.php. Do I leave that box unchecked and the save as (as attachment.php)?

I'm going to try closing Azereus and see what happens.

U2Lynne
2007-12-06, 11:02 AM
Like I said before, it used to be that the name of the file to download was "downloadtor.php" and now it is "attachment.php". A simple change to the file name should not cause the problems. Somewhere in your preferences you had set it up to be fine with the name "downloadtor.php" and so now you need to do the same thing with "attachment.php".

Did you ever say what version of IE you are running? There is probably an "About IE" or something like that under one of the tabs on the top of your browser.

door71
2007-12-06, 11:07 AM
The torrent went to the desktop and Azureus opened it and came up with a pop up box saying "Could not open 'attachment.php' It doesn't appear to be a .torrent file" I can't screen print what I am seeing but I have an idea.

http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i253/Snake_Skin_Babe/100_3711.jpg Here is the shit I am getting.

utorrent sound like my next step. Thanks!!

door71
2007-12-06, 11:08 AM
Like I said before, it used to be that the name of the file to download was "downloadtor.php" and now it is "attachment.php". A simple change to the file name should not cause the problems. Somewhere in your preferences you had set it up to be fine with the name "downloadtor.php" and so now you need to do the same thing with "attachment.php".

Did you ever say what version of IE you are running? There is probably an "About IE" or something like that under one of the tabs on the top of your browser.

Version 7. I just don't know where to go to change it to attachment.php.

door71
2007-12-06, 05:09 PM
It's doing the same thing with utorrent.

Where would I go to change downloadtor.php to attachment.php?

Would that be somewhere in the download client or in Explorer?

Thanks for all your help.

direwolf-pgh
2007-12-06, 05:34 PM
It's doing the same thing with utorrent.

Where would I go to change downloadtor.php to attachment.php?

Would that be somewhere in the download client or in Explorer?

Thanks for all your help. hold that thought. lets go back to the original problem..

I had no problem whatsoever downloading before Monday's update.

1. I would left click on the link.
2. Choose open file in the add download screen.
3. Hit ok and a 30 second launch would appear. I could either wait the 30 seconds or launch it earlier.
4. Then a Azureus pop up would appear and tell me my file was now downloading.
5. It would appear on my Azureus dashboard and in my designated desktop file.

Now I get nothing after step 2 that is similar to before. I have seen a screen that says " Could not open'attachment.php'. It doesn't appear to be a .torrent file" something (a toolbar or software pop up blocker) is preventing you from receiving the .torrent file.

attachment.php is the window that opens, then offers you the .torrent file.
please try this..

goto torrent page>
RIGHT CLICK on the torrent and select the 'Open In New Window' option
you should then have a new window that offers the .torrent file.
when offered the .torrent file - select Open.

all should be well.

door71
2007-12-06, 05:59 PM
This is what just happened.

http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i253/Snake_Skin_Babe/100_3713.jpg

door71
2007-12-06, 06:03 PM
This is the first thing that comes up when I follow your steps .

http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i253/Snake_Skin_Babe/100_3714.jpg

direwolf-pgh
2007-12-07, 01:23 AM
This is the first thing that comes up when I follow your steps .

http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i253/Snake_Skin_Babe/100_3714.jpgthis window should automatically open in Internet Explorer!
are asking Azureus to open it?

door71
2007-12-07, 07:19 AM
I have utorrent on here now. I am asking utorrent to open it.

door71
2007-12-07, 07:34 AM
This is what is going on this morning.


http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i253/Snake_Skin_Babe/100_3715.jpg


http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i253/Snake_Skin_Babe/100_3716.jpg


http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i253/Snake_Skin_Babe/100_3717.jpg

http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i253/Snake_Skin_Babe/100_3718.jpg


http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i253/Snake_Skin_Babe/100_3719.jpg

direwolf-pgh
2007-12-07, 09:45 AM
id swear your just messin with me..
but if not try this:

Open Internet Explorer>
select Tools from the top menu > select Internet Options>
Select the Advanced Tab>
Select RESET (this button will reset your browser to default settings)

then
Select the Privacy Tab>
uncheck Pop Up Blocker

close window - close IE 7 - hell, reboot if you wish.

then go back to that Doors torrent screen
and Left (regular) click on the torrent link.

an IE window (file download) should appear asking you what to do with the torrent file.
Select Open.
Utorrent should then launch and downloading should begin.

good luck :wave:

door71
2007-12-07, 10:23 AM
:lol I'm not messing around with you Wolf. Believe me.

I'm not proficient enough to be coming up with all this bullshit on my own.

Let me try your last suggestion........I have rebooted..............looked at the utorrent help info...etc.......cussed.

:thumbsup

door71
2007-12-07, 12:00 PM
Insert every cuss word known to mankind here....................................:disbelief

fubar
2007-12-07, 12:27 PM
pwned

saltman
2007-12-07, 01:01 PM
man I'm at a loss. something is very weird. just for kicks if you are willing try downloading firefox. It works just like IE and is free.

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/

that is a very non-technical guess.... Just throwing that out there.


Do you have the same problems at other torrent sites? or opening links in general?

door71
2007-12-07, 07:14 PM
pwned

No shit Fubar. pwned I was.

After I fucked around and crashed the PC and had my wife reformat it just now..................the fucking thing works now.

We were already thinking about starting over so we moved everything to the secondary drive earlier this week. So we didn't loose anything.

door71
2007-12-07, 07:17 PM
man I'm at a loss. something is very weird. just for kicks if you are willing try downloading firefox. It works just like IE and is free.

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/

that is a very non-technical guess.... Just throwing that out there.


Do you have the same problems at other torrent sites? or opening links in general?

We didn't have problems opening any links at all. I just download from TTD. It's fixed now.

door71
2007-12-10, 12:13 AM
Trying to install FlacFrontend............2 versions of Flac have failed upon installation.

What version of Flac does anyone recommend?

U2Lynne
2007-12-10, 12:29 AM
I think most PC users would recommend Traders Little Helper. Links are in the Software FAQ and there is a thread at the top of this forum about it by the author.

door71
2007-12-10, 12:46 AM
So TLH will take place of FlacFrontend and the MKW.SHN conversion that I used to have?

U2Lynne
2007-12-10, 12:53 AM
TLH will convert to and from flac/shn/ape/wav and I think they just added mp3 to that list. It also checks for SBEs, and makes st5s, md5s, and ffps. It really is an all-in-one lossless trading application. Read all about it: http://tlh.easytree.org/

door71
2007-12-10, 12:56 AM
OK. Thank you.

I just tried to install the TLH program and received an error right at the end of installation.

direwolf-pgh
2007-12-10, 01:02 AM
hey door71,
www.pctools.com
goto this site & download Spyware Doctor
run the scan and see what it finds
(no its not free but it will preform a proper scan)
your workstation is messed up.
:)

door71
2007-12-10, 01:07 AM
hey door71,
www.pctools.com
goto this site & download Spyware Doctor
run the scan and see what it finds
(no its not free) - your workstation is messed up.

We have AVG, Zone Alarm, and System Mechanic 5.............just ran a complete scan last night with system mechanic and it didn't come up with any errors.

PS...........I'm firewalled but i don't dare fuck with trying to fix that. :rolleyes:

U2Lynne
2007-12-10, 01:12 AM
As I said before, Robert has a thread about TLH at the top of this forum. If you are having difficulties, I would post in that thread and see if he has any suggestions. Make sure you tell him what OS you are using and any other information you think he may need to know about what you did to install (like did you already have any sort of lossless software installed prior to trying to install TLH).

door71
2007-12-10, 01:51 AM
I cannot even begin to explain the weird shit. All I know is:

We started vines while changing from Comcast to Verizon Fios.

We installed Azureus and I was downloading torrents that TTD or my ratio didn't reflect............we talked about that in another thread months back..we finally got that problem and firewalled fixed.

We had FlacFrontend and that MKW.............SHN conversion program...and finally that Lplex or whatever that program is that converts 24 bit to audio DVD.............Lou's show are great BTW.

Now I am just confused.

AAR.oner
2007-12-10, 06:28 AM
hey door, sorry to hear that the nightmare continues...just a fwiw, but when you finally reach that point that the comp goes flying thru the window, might i recommend a Mini -- only $600 and not a headache to be had ;) :D
http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebObjects/AppleStore.woa/wa/RSLID?nnmm=browse&mco=7B723644&node=home/shop_mac/family/mac_mini

door71
2007-12-11, 12:55 PM
Thanks for all your help. I'm firewalled but still downloading. Some of the weird shit has stopped.

I have a friend coming by soon to fix our other problems and tell me once again.."Stop fucking with shit." :lol

fubar
2007-12-11, 01:19 PM
good luck