PDA

View Full Version : Cable vs DSL help.


vladsmythe
2007-12-01, 03:34 PM
I want to upgrade to cable on comcast monday, so I can upload faster.

this thread makes me nervous:

http://tapecity.org/showthread.php?t=20938

Nobody at the city can help me understand it. Can someone here please tell me if I should not use cable?

vladsmythe
2007-12-01, 03:47 PM
please help

Tubular
2007-12-01, 04:01 PM
Basically Comcast will prevent you from uploading using bittorrent once you complete your download or when initially seeding a show. Now would not be a good time to start using Comcast cable internet. Does your DSL service offer an extreme package for more money? Either that or Verizon FIOS (incredible upload speeds, like 1000 kb/s) would be the way to go. ANYTHING but Comcast if you want to use bittorrent IMO. When I had Comcast cable I was only able to upload at about 45 kb/s, and that was spotty after they started throttling/sandvining me. Encryption helped out a lot for me, but for some people they get throttled so much that even encryption won't help. There are ways around sandvine, but it doesn't work for everyone, esp. Vista users I think.

rosc2112
2007-12-01, 04:08 PM
Yeah that was the thread I started because I'm being sandvined. Google around, there is a lot of information about Sandvine on the net. And at this point, I would say, avoid comcrap like the plague if you want to upload torrents.. It hasn't effected my DC++ connection or downloads, just uploading by way of BitTorrent. All of the suggested work arounds, do not help completely (firewall tricks, port changes, etc.) So, my next test will be enabling encryption, or just getting a VPN to by-pass comcrap.

I didn't have a choice in switching to comcrap, I can't get dsl here, otherwise I would not have switched.

I do get much faster downloads, but, that doesn't help much on sites that have ratios ;/

vladsmythe
2007-12-01, 04:15 PM
My buddy has comcast. He doesn't upload torrents, but when he's downloading say, at 350kb/s he's upping at over 100kb/s. Does that indicate anything?

rosc2112
2007-12-01, 04:19 PM
No, as sandvine is mostly affecting bittorrent seeding (I read that its also affecting gnutella and lotus notes users..)

Tubular
2007-12-01, 04:23 PM
The problem is with uploading after completing your download, or with initially seeding a show. Comcrap, Concast :down: So if you upload a lot of shows, you will have problems.

Tubular
2007-12-01, 04:26 PM
Which client are you using rosc2112? Enabling encryption entails only checking a box in your client, really easy. And it will probably help you a lot.

jaygs
2007-12-01, 06:26 PM
Not that I'm a big uploader...or comcast fan....but I am on comcast and don't have these problems. I can upload to my limit....I actually have to throttle back my torrent client so I have some "reserve" upload capacity otherwise the torrent upload swamps out the ability to download anything...torrent or otherwise.

Tubular
2007-12-01, 07:14 PM
Yeah, not everyone has problems yet, but someone said a couple months ago that if you have Comcast you will eventually get hit; they are steadily implementing Sandvine across the country. Just curious, with your ratio, are you able to upload after you complete a download? I understand that uploading while downloading isn't a problem, but that isn't the problem people are having.

jaygs
2007-12-01, 11:59 PM
Yes I can upload after the download is complete.

dorrcoq
2007-12-02, 01:09 AM
Yes I can upload after the download is complete.

But apparently you choose not to.... :disbelief

U2Lynne
2007-12-02, 01:24 AM
Why don't you call them and see if they use Sandvine and if not if they plan to in the near future? According to them, they aren't actually targeting bittorrent, so don't ask them about bittorrent itself.

Tubular
2007-12-02, 01:54 AM
It would be like asking a used car salesman if the cars he sells have any major problems. :lmao: I doubt a Concast PR person will reveal any plans they have regarding the secretive, underhanded tactics the company uses to reduce bandwidth usage among customers.

direwolf-pgh
2007-12-02, 02:26 AM
why is California always the last state to get cable TV, Fios, etc..
ive never figured that one out :hmm:

and a bigger DSL package would probably be better than Comcast, Vlad..imo.

jaygs
2007-12-02, 09:38 AM
But apparently you choose not to.... :disbelief

Actually, I do....I try to upload so my ratio is 1, but if after a couple days there is little or no traffic, then I stop. To maintain at least a .5 ratio, I let torrents that are active run up way past 1.0. I can't help it if some torrents don't get much action. And I'll admit, I don't get too concerned about it. I've upped all of my rare radio captures over the years -- but that's not very many.

dorrcoq
2007-12-02, 12:31 PM
I've upped all of my rare radio captures over the years -- but that's not very many.

Not on this site, it doesn't look like

Patty Mac
2007-12-04, 12:52 AM
Sandvine works by sending out rst packets to both ends of the connection and killing the transfer. I found a software solution that blocks the rst packets. The caveat of this is, both ends of the connection need to have a means to block the rst packets, for this to work in blocking sandvine.

Here is the solution I found:

The firewall program for it is here http://www.looknstop.com/En/download.htm. Registering it is up to the end user.

The .rls configuration file for it is here. http://rapidshare.com/files/70040752/sandvine.rls.html

Directions:

1. Install Look n Stop
2. start up Look n Stop
3. click on the Internet Filtering tab
4. click on the load button near the bottom
6. find the sandvine.rls file you downloaded and click open
8. make sure the Internet Filtering enabled checkbox is checked.

If you did it right there should be only 1 rule. My internet stopped working properly with all their fancy rules so I deleted them all and now everything works perfectly. Last thing you need to do it attach the rule to your bittorrent client.

9. click on the rule
10. click on edit with the rule highlighted
11. near the bottom left corner it says Application, click it.
12. find your bittorrent client (ie Azureus or utorrent) and hit ok

You will have to ok all of your internet accessing apps after installing this, as part of the progs learning process.


Also there is this:

I've had success working around the comcast visegrip by using option 1 from What's Working on this page www.p2pnet.net/story/13725

Those are two people who have found work arounds for comcast and it works no problem. Thx to mutescream and kilimenjaro for the tech help.:)

slewofboots
2007-12-05, 06:33 PM
So....
Patty you are such a badass with your ability to block Sandvine, yet you can't even figure out how to port-forward (hence the red circle next to your name in all your posts)?

tsk tsk tsk.

Patty Mac
2007-12-05, 09:29 PM
So....
Patty you are such a badass with your ability to block Sandvine, yet you can't even figure out how to port-forward (hence the red circle next to your name in all your posts)?

tsk tsk tsk.

I'm not even on the tracker dude. Also, if you check the bottom of my post, you'll see that the advice isn't even from me. I saw it on another site and thought I'd post it here. I even gave credit to the two people who posted. I don't use comcast, I was just trying to help.:wave:

direwolf-pgh
2007-12-05, 10:54 PM
So....
Patty you are such a badass with your ability to block Sandvine, yet you can't even figure out how to port-forward (hence the red circle next to your name in all your posts)?

tsk tsk tsk.the red dot means he is not online at the moment. :lol:

slewofboots
2007-12-06, 03:00 PM
well shit now I feel like an ass. OK then direwolf, how does one tell if a member is port-forwarded or not if possible?

direwolf-pgh
2007-12-06, 03:15 PM
well shit now I feel like an ass. OK then direwolf, how does one tell if a member is port-forwarded or not if possible?goto any torrent >
click on Peers List (expand to see seeders/leechers)>
note the left column. :)

Ive been poking around this site for two years and still find new links/views.

and for the record, Patty Mac is a very enjoyable/friendly person to chat with :wave:
its easy to read posts out of context - happens to me all the time too.

Sacredroots
2007-12-06, 04:05 PM
I have comcast but it's either that or DSL for me.I am sticking with cable for now.The throttling has not affected me as of yet.I live in a small town.