PDA

View Full Version : BitTorrent (Mainline) version 5.0 to be banned


U2Lynne
2007-10-24, 08:32 PM
It seems that BitTorrent version 5.0.7 does not want to play well with the tracker. This has been going on for a while, but as we get more peers on the tracker, it has become more of an issue. It is mainly v5.0.7 that is causing problems, but other 5.0 versions have pounded the tracker as well. So, starting Monday October 29, BitTorrent v5.0 will be banned from our tracker.


Other suggested clients are in the FAQ (http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/faq.php?faq=bittorrent#faq_clients).

Highly suggested:
uTorrent (http://www.utorrent.com/)
Azurues (http://azureus.sourceforge.net/)

Both of those clients play well with just about every tracker. Also, if you really like BitTorrent, then get an older version (http://download.bittorrent.com/dl/) (like version 3.4.2 which is popular)

edit: I will not be banning version 6.0 at this point since I have not noticed there being any problems with it yet.

halfmexi
2007-10-28, 01:53 PM
I am using BitTorrent 6.0 do you know if they fixed the problem with this version - really nice, hate to lose all of my 'in process' downloads from you site.

U2Lynne
2007-10-28, 01:59 PM
I have not seen any problems with version 6.0. There are a couple of you using that version so I will not ban it tomorrow and we will see if there are any problems with it.

I'll modify the notice to reflect that version 6.0 is not effected by this ban.

Five
2007-10-28, 04:01 PM
I am using BitTorrent 6.0 do you know if they fixed the problem with this version - really nice, hate to lose all of my 'in process' downloads from you site.
you can also pick up where you left off with another client by re-downloading the torrent (or re-opening it if you have your personalized torrent on your drive where you can find it), open it with the new client then point it to the same folder where the incomplete files are. you might lose a little data but not much.

ameyer17
2007-10-29, 04:36 PM
For what it's worth, Mainline 6.0 is apparently based on utorrent.

ArchivalAudio
2007-11-15, 12:05 AM
hey
I know that Lossless Legs
banned BitTorrent (Mainline) last year
and it stumped me
at the time
but they sited the same reasons
it caused many weird things on the trackers
I was encouraged to use Azureus...
and now I see that is much batter....
I would encourage at least Mac Users and may be PC folks to get Azureus instead

and enjoy
:tunes:

mcrundwell
2007-11-17, 04:44 AM
hi

how do i find out what version i have and how do i get version 6

yours confused

mcrundwell

paddington
2007-11-17, 09:00 AM
Hi.

You can usually click the ABOUT text in the HELP menu on most programs to see the version number.

Regardless of that, you can be assured you have the newest by uninstalling your current version, and installing this:

http://www.bittorrent.com/download

Though, I think you'll find that the version 6 is based on uTorrent (as someone has said) and that said, you're likely better off uninstalling what you have and installing this:

http://www.utorrent.com/download.php

happy downloading!

mcrundwell
2007-11-18, 05:08 AM
many thanks

and also thanks for the posts of LZ 10/12/07 cant come too soon

paddington
2007-11-18, 10:52 AM
:lmao: I'm sure there will be some cell phone recordings up before midnight in the US on the 10th!

TheGoop
2007-11-22, 07:40 PM
I have bittorrent v4 right now. If I were to download utorrent, would I need to reconfigure my ports? It's been so long since I set up a client, I forgot. Thanks

Sacredroots
2007-11-25, 09:21 AM
Get rid of Bittorent and use Utorrent or Azurues.

U2Lynne
2007-11-25, 11:43 AM
Sorry TheGoop, I didn't see your post until now. BitTorrent 4 is fine here, but if you want to switch to uTorrent (a very popular client!), then your ports are fine as long as you input the same port number into uTorrent when you set it up. I think uTorrent has a default set to switch ports all the time, so just go into the Preferences and tell it you want to use one port and input the port number you have already forwarded through your router/firewall. Just make sure you don't use BitTorrent and uTorrent at the same time with the same port or they will get confused.

TheGoop
2007-11-25, 03:49 PM
Sorry TheGoop, I didn't see your post until now. BitTorrent 4 is fine here, but if you want to switch to uTorrent (a very popular client!), then your ports are fine as long as you input the same port number into uTorrent when you set it up. I think uTorrent has a default set to switch ports all the time, so just go into the Preferences and tell it you want to use one port and input the port number you have already forwarded through your router/firewall. Just make sure you don't use BitTorrent and uTorrent at the same time with the same port or they will get confused.

Awesome...thanks!

TheGoop
2007-11-25, 04:03 PM
Ok one more question.

I read that if you have UPnP enabled, then that will enable thr bt client and firewall to cooperate w/out doing port forwarding. And if that doesn't work, then you have to do the whole port forward thing. I read that straight from the bittorrent help website.

Is this true? I have UPnP enabled and have had no problems. I just wanna make sure I have everything set up right.

games
2007-11-29, 09:39 PM
How does one mainline a BT client, seriously? Cause I wanna try.

jasonrh
2008-01-04, 11:01 AM
Does anyone else find it at least vaguely amusing that this bit torrent tracker has banned the original BitTorrent software due to problems?

Its like a butcher only selling garden burgers. ;)