PDA

View Full Version : 0% Upload on Completed Downloads


btclient
2007-09-30, 08:15 AM
Hello - I get about 300KB/sec download speed on some torrents, and their upload speeds are about 50KB/sec. But once the torrent completes, the upload goes to 0KB/sec. I am pretty sure this means my uTorrent 1.7.5 build 4602 client is firewalled. But the thing is on SP2 I disabled the firewall, I don't have another one running, and I bypassed my router. So right now I'm hooked directly to the net without a firewall and router and after a few restarts of uTorrent -- still firewalled. The port checkers et all confirm blocking. I can't figure out what to try next. Any suggestions?

Thanks!

BT

dude87
2007-09-30, 10:02 AM
This has nothing to do with being firewalled. Who is your ISP? It's likely they are using Sandvine technology to block bittorrent traffic, do a google search (or read through these forums) for more information. Turning on encryption in your uTorrent client could help although some ISPs might be able to block encrypted traffic as well.

U2Lynne
2007-09-30, 10:49 AM
^^^ what he said

Here's a couple of threads to check out:
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/showthread.php?t=44856
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/showthread.php?t=43773
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/showthread.php?t=45154

btclient
2007-10-01, 05:25 PM
Thank you for the suggestions. I am using Comcast. I reverted to uTorrent 1.6.1 and tried the encryption setting "trick." Nada. Restarted/rebooted everything and still not open. I be sad about not being able to share my downloads. Maybe I will try a different client.

- BT

dcbullet
2007-10-01, 05:34 PM
You can also slow down your download speed in your bt client to be less than or equal to your upload speed. This way when you complete you have already shared back as much as you have d/l.

Just a thought.

krokodyle
2007-10-01, 07:25 PM
Thank you for the suggestions. I am using Comcast. I reverted to uTorrent 1.6.1 and tried the encryption setting "trick." Nada. Restarted/rebooted everything and still not open. I be sad about not being able to share my downloads. Maybe I will try a different client.

- BT

It's most likely Comcast themselves rather than uTorrent, but it's worth a shot. Good luck in doing the right thing and sharing back. :)

dude87
2007-10-01, 11:33 PM
Thank you for the suggestions. I am using Comcast. I reverted to uTorrent 1.6.1 and tried the encryption setting "trick." Nada. Restarted/rebooted everything and still not open. I be sad about not being able to share my downloads. Maybe I will try a different client.


From all reports if Comcast is sandvining you changing clients won't help. If you can get another ISP I would do so (even DSL with lower bandwidth that you can actually use is better than Comcast not allowing you to upload).

I suffered through caps at Cablevision/Optimum Online until I was able to switch to Verizon FiOS.