PDA

View Full Version : Recognizing Peers/Seeds; No UL/DL, though? Perhaps PC help needed?


ProducerDrew
2005-02-11, 06:42 PM
Hey,
First time this one's happened... I'm using Shad0w's experimental client on my box and BitTornado on my laptop, but I'm having the same problems with both. Everything's been working fine forever, but today I noticed my system was running kind of slow so I shut it down, restarted it. So far, so good. I reconnect to the moe. torrent, and although it connects to both seeds and peers, I leave it online for about 6 hours of school and come home to find a whopping 0.06MiB downloaded and 0.04MiB uploaded. Something struck me as odd, since I'd been working on the Bob Dylan "Night of the Hurricane" torrent while on the school connection and had no problems there. Turns out the Dylan torrent had the same issue as the moe torrent once I was on my home cable connection. So I call up my cable provider to see if there's been any sort of Bittorrent ban or anything - nope, they're fine with BT. I try downloading from easytree, but same problems with torrent connections from files available on their board. So I check my router settings and yeah, my firewall's configured correctly still and I've got a DMZ set up for my computer's IP address. So I call my fifteen year old little brother who works tech support for the local Catholic school's network; even he can't think of anything. In desperation, I turn to the Bittorrent experts of the Traders' Den. I can download from FTPs fine, and still access web pages; it's only BitTorrent uploading and downloading that just doesn't seem to want to move an inch. When I took my laptop back to school, the Dylan torrent started working again, so I'm pretty darn sure it's something to do with my router or the connection here -- but what could have happened during a system shutdown that would create a problem like this? Any ideas? Help? Suggestion?

I'd appreciate any and all :) That moe.vie is just killing me right now.. Thanks!

Edit: I'm running Windows XP on both systems, but I haven't installed Service Pack 2 yet. Linksys Wireless-G Broadband Router, SURFBoard SB4100 Cable Modem, Vista Media Cable Internet Service.

U2Lynne
2005-02-11, 08:05 PM
When was the last time you had it successfully running from home? Can you think of anything that has changed since then? Is your Windows XP firewall off (you didn't say)?

If it's your router.... have you updated the firmware lately? I was reading something some Linksys routers where if your download speeds get too great, then your connection gets dropped, but that doesn't sound like what you are talking about (it is in this FAQ (http://dessent.net/btfaq/)).

ProducerDrew
2005-02-11, 11:11 PM
Last time it was running fine was immediately before I turned the computer off and turned it back on. My little brother asked me about Windows Firewall as well; it doesn't appear in my control panel or "security menu", and I think this is because I don't have Service Pack 2 installed. Should I do that now? It seems weird that I would suddenly lose BT ability because I don't have SP2 installed. I went ahead and read through that Linksys faq.. and nothing seems to sound like my situation. Literally EVERYTHING else works other than BitTorrent. It's very strange. I just did an AntiVir test and cleaned out two trojans, but the problem still remains. About to do a Spybot Search & Destroy run... I'm starting to get depressed now, though.

wazoo2u
2005-02-12, 12:28 AM
Double check your router settings. Make sure that your internal LAN IP is properly set. Make sure your internal LAN is using a static IP, and your router knows that. Check that your router ports are still forwarded & are forwarding TO THE CORRECT IP.

ProducerDrew
2005-02-12, 11:41 AM
Wazoo,
I'm pretty sure everything is OK, although I am definitely no expert with networking. My router's firewall connection is enabled; the option for "Block Anonymous Internet Requests" is unchecked; my ports from 6881 to 6889 are being forwarded to the first IP address in my array of computers as always. I tried enabling a DMZ, but since that didn't work I turned it back off. How exactly would I ensure that my internal LAN is using a static IP (I think it is -- .100)? How would I see if my router recognizes that? I've been poring through the options on my Linksys setup page and can't seem to find anything related to static IP, except for the static DNS listings (which are all 0.0.0.0) down on the main setup page.

Thanks again for all the help on this issue... it's almost like the issue I'm having is with my uploading, and BT not working is just a symptom of that. I'm starting to notice some webpages timing out when I first try to access them, then loading up after a few tries. I'm doing another virus scan on both systems just in case, but my little brother is convinced it's something with my router. It just seems weird that it would change its own settings.

U2Lynne
2005-02-12, 02:44 PM
Here is a good link on setting up Linksys routers: http://www.linksys.com/tech_helper/advanced.html

See if that helps you out or gives you some tips. It starts out by helping you set up a static IP address, which you will need and I'm unclear whether you have done this correctly.

ProducerDrew
2005-02-12, 04:43 PM
Lynne, thanks for the link - followed all of the directions on their site, and set up a static IP (didn't have one expressly set in windows TCP/IP settings before) for my computer, then directed the router to expose my computer in DMZ mode so I should have had no firewall protection whatsoever -- same problem, no upload connecting to any other users, although they are showing up as peers and seeds (shad0w's BT client shows the yellow "problem connection" light, but according to my router there's no firewall protection up). Any new ideas would be appreciated :)

ProducerDrew
2005-02-13, 06:10 PM
Any more ideas? Still having this absence of upload bandwidth, and it's not really interfering with anything BUT bittorrent and a few page loadtimes; it's upsetting me enough now though that I'm tempted to rent a new cable modem from the cable co. to replace the one I've got to see if that's the problem. Any other ideas of ways to find out what's wrong with my upstream before I go to such measures? Any help is VERY much appreciated!

U2Lynne
2005-02-13, 06:54 PM
Let me change the title to put PC in there and see if someone else can come in and help. I'm the wrong person if this is a PC issue.

ProducerDrew
2005-02-14, 11:16 AM
Lynne,
I thought it might have been a PC issue at first; the fact that I'm sitting on my school connection right now and accessing torrents fine, yet have no upstream bandwidth at home, is starting to make me think it's a modem or router issue, which will be a pain to work with... so, thanks for the topic change and bump; hopefully someone will give me an idea of something to try before resorting to a new cable modem or router.

wazoo2u
2005-02-14, 05:56 PM
Did you plug your computer directly into the cable modem ? See if that eliminates the problem. That will eliminate the router from the equation, if nothing else. Are you SURE that you've set the router to talk to the correct IP's on your LAN ? I mean, powering down the computer wouldn't change anything on your router, but it could possibly cause your networking settings to change.

Are ports 6969 and 6881> forwarded ?

ProducerDrew
2005-02-15, 11:14 AM
wazoo,
I attempted that, but then had no connection whatsoever - my little brother told me that it's probably because the router's address is registered with the cable co., not my computer's individual address (that makes no sense to me, but I stopped developing my "computer geek" skills right around the time broadband and networking blew up). Ports 6881-89 (I think; not at home right now) are definitely still forwarded for BT, just like I'd set them up to forward back when I was on everydayjones... I've never had 6969 forwarded though. Is that something specific for this site? I can't transfer easytree torrents anymore, now, either... There is a possibility that there's a communications issue, IP-wise, between the router and the LAN. I know that this would be a big pain for you, seeing how much information on the subject has already been posted in this post alone, but since I've had no luck when I follow the IP-configuration suggestions on the Linksys FAQ, could you suggest a from-the-beginning, step-by-step path for me to ensure that all the networking settings didn't get screwed by my computer shutting down that one day? Thanks so much for the help; I still haven't had enough free time in a day to get in touch with the cable co., so if I can get this fixed w/o having to try a new modem that'd be great!

uhclem
2005-02-15, 03:05 PM
wazoo,
my little brother told me that it's probably because the router's address is registered with the cable co., not my computer's individual address
This matters. Maybe your little brother can configure it for you.
I've never had 6969 forwarded though. Is that something specific for this site?
You don't need to open port 6969 at all. Port 6969 is the port on the TTD tracker that your client connects to. Your client initiates that connection so you don't need to open a special port for it.

ProducerDrew
2005-02-16, 05:56 PM
Ok, everybody -- I got the cable co to help me recognize first my desktop, then my laptop; the connection worked, but the BT problem was still there. The weirdest part was when we ran a test on the UL/DL speeds and the UL speed showed as normal. I've got my cable modem connected directly to my laptop now and although I can recognize peers and seeds still, there's -nothing- happening on my UL and DL. I just can't imagine how 7 months of normal operation can suddenly crap out on a whim, especially when I'm backdoor-free and everything runs fine on any connections but mine. The cable guy suggested I try a new modem first, then they'll check for problems on the outside line. It's just odd that everything looks to be working fine... EXCEPT BITTORRENT. And just when so much good shit is coming up on this site too... anyone want to do some trades or B+P for the two new moe posts and the Phish 12-02 setbreak video? :)

U2Lynne
2005-02-16, 06:39 PM
The way things are sounding, I would think your modem is at fault also (you have reset it I assume).

I'm not a moe or phish fan, but I'll bet if you ask in those threads you will find someone will to help you out.

wazoo2u
2005-02-16, 09:36 PM
wazoo,
I attempted that, but then had no connection whatsoever - my little brother told me that it's probably because the router's address is registered with the cable co., not my computer's individual address (that makes no sense to me, but I stopped developing my "computer geek" skills right around the time broadband and networking blew up). Ports 6881-89 (I think; not at home right now) are definitely still forwarded for BT, just like I'd set them up to forward back when I was on everydayjones... I've never had 6969 forwarded though. Is that something specific for this site? I can't transfer easytree torrents anymore, now, either... There is a possibility that there's a communications issue, IP-wise, between the router and the LAN. I know that this would be a big pain for you, seeing how much information on the subject has already been posted in this post alone, but since I've had no luck when I follow the IP-configuration suggestions on the Linksys FAQ, could you suggest a from-the-beginning, step-by-step path for me to ensure that all the networking settings didn't get screwed by my computer shutting down that one day? Thanks so much for the help; I still haven't had enough free time in a day to get in touch with the cable co., so if I can get this fixed w/o having to try a new modem that'd be great!
OK, the first part makes no sense because your cable company assigns an IP addy to your MODEM, based on the MAC Hardware address. You plug the modem into the WAN port of your router which doesn't give a rat's ass what addy your modem is, just cares about letting your LAN talk to it.

Try www.portforward.com (http://www.portforward.com) for a step by step setup routine.

I think we've covered all the obvious bases... I'm kinda out of ideas on this one. Good luck.

ProducerDrew
2005-02-17, 10:42 AM
Well, one of the tech guys at the cable place is now convinced I have some sort of virus, even though he's not seeing any tell-tale signs on his end of viral infection. AntiVir, which my brother claims is the best thing going for free anti-virus software right now, cleans things up but not completely, I guess; I used Spybot Search & Destroy and even though that keeps having some "Z-Demon" error that I can't get rid of, I've been told by the same cable tech guy that Spybot is a piece of crap and I should stick with Ad-Aware (my brother told me the exact opposite.. I guess I'll try doing every imaginable thing to make sure that I have my system clean of viral problems, but even that may not help. Thanks for all of the help and suggestions everyone; wazoo, I'm going to try that step-by-step guide once I run through all of the virus problems... I appreciate it!

ProducerDrew
2005-02-23, 10:36 AM
Ok, it's OFFICIAL - God does not want me to use BitTorrent anymore. My momma was right.

As of yesterday, the cable co. rewired the entire set of outside lines for my apartment complex (they said it looked pretty bad). So, I hook up my freshly-formatted laptop directly to my new cable modem, which is plugged into these new wires. Everything works fine.

BitTorrent doesn't.

I mean, what the hell? The cable guy's advice was "Try DSL". What the hell? How can something that was working PERFECTLY from August through January just crap out one day, while EVERYTHING ELSE WORKS?

The real killer is when I go up to school, sit on the wireless network, and get 20k/s speeds on any given torrent. It's definitely something to do with my connection at home, but now it seems as if the cable co is giving up (since everything ELSE works, and not a damn person in their tech department knows what BitTorrent even is) and I'm screwed b/c I need to buy a phone line JUST FOR DSL if I decide to do that (living off of my cell phone)...

So, that's about it. God said, "Thou shalt not BitTorrent", and that was that. I'm so depressed.

U2Lynne
2005-02-23, 11:55 AM
I just don't understand this. This is for torrents on *any* site? Not just here, right? Have you tried using ports other than 6881-6889? I've seen sites suggest using ports upwards of 51000. So, maybe try 51000-51010 instead. But, I'm just not sure that that is going to make a difference. I think something else is going on here and I just can't figure it out.

ProducerDrew
2005-02-23, 01:47 PM
Exactly :) I'm running the laptop straight into the modem, so there's no ports on a router to forward; torrents from here, eztree, etc. work perfectly fine when I'm connected to the school network but does the same deal (connect, count out the peers and seeds, then sit there at 0k/s on both UL/DL) as before whenever I get home. NOONE can figure this madness out. I'm calling the cable co. again today because I think the only thing left to check is the wiring in my actual walls; the cable guy yesterday said that they couldn't be the problem, since they were installed less than 3 years ago -- but hell with that, 3 years is a lifetime in broadband technology, and I've probably got squirrels in my walls or something. It's just so damn weird that it's JUST BITTORRENT THAT DOESN'T WORK! :(

ProducerDrew
2005-02-25, 12:30 AM
I'm completely flabbergasted. The cable guys came out today, replaced metal ends of cables that were outside around my place, tried everything they could think of - still nothing. Finally, though, I figured out a good idea: Here's the console report from Azureus about what's happening:

23:27:07] 24.163.239.143:6881 [Azureus 2.2.0.2] has sent their handshake
[23:27:07] Sent Bitfield message to 24.163.239.143:6881
[23:27:07] 12.146.227.74:20439 [BitComet 0.56] has sent their handshake
[23:27:07] Sent Bitfield message to 12.146.227.74:20439
[23:27:07] 12.146.227.74:20439 [BitComet 0.56] has sent BitField
[23:27:08] Sent Interested message to 12.146.227.74:20439
[23:27:09] 69.164.59.86:6881 [Mainline 3.4.2] has sent their handshake
[23:27:09] Sent Bitfield message to 69.164.59.86:6881
[23:27:10] 24.131.173.163:6881 [Shad0w 5.8.7] has sent their handshake
[23:27:10] Sent Bitfield message to 24.131.173.163:6881
[23:27:10] 24.131.173.163:6881 [Shad0w 5.8.7] has sent BitField
[23:27:10] Sent Interested message to 24.131.173.163:6881
[23:27:11] 64.78.108.6:6884 [BitTornado 0.3.7] has sent BitField
[23:27:11] 64.78.108.6:6884 [BitTornado 0.3.7] is interested
[23:27:11] Sent Interested message to 64.78.108.6:6884
[23:27:11] Sent Unchoke message to 64.78.108.6:6884
[23:27:12] 68.231.139.73:6881 [Azureus 2.2.0.2] has sent BitField
[23:27:12] Sent Interested message to 68.231.139.73:6881
[23:27:12] 69.164.59.86:6881 [Mainline 3.4.2] has sent BitField
[23:27:12] 69.164.59.86:6881 [Mainline 3.4.2] has 1571
[23:27:12] Sent Interested message to 69.164.59.86:6881
[23:27:13] 68.84.25.8:6884 [BitTornado 0.3.7] has sent their handshake
[23:27:13] Sent Bitfield message to 68.84.25.8:6884
[23:27:19] 64.78.108.6:6884 [BitTornado 0.3.7] is unchoking you
[23:27:19] Sent Request piece #347: 32768->49151 message to 64.78.108.6:6884
[23:27:19] Sent Request piece #347: 49152->65535 message to 64.78.108.6:6884
[23:27:20] Failed to establish outgoing connection [65.186.196.14:6884 []] : Connection timed out: no further information
[23:27:20] Connection Ended with 65.186.196.14:6884 []
[23:27:20] Failed to establish outgoing connection [24.98.219.150:53483 []] : Connection timed out: no further information
[23:27:20] Connection Ended with 24.98.219.150:53483 []
[23:27:20] Failed to establish outgoing connection [68.38.193.68:6883 []] : Connection timed out: no further information
[23:27:20] Connection Ended with 68.38.193.68:6883 []
[23:27:21] 68.119.47.3:15326 [Azureus 2.2.0.2] has sent their handshake
[23:27:21] Sent Bitfield message to 68.119.47.3:15326
[23:27:21] 68.119.47.3:15326 [Azureus 2.2.0.2] has sent BitField
[23:27:21] Sent Interested message to 68.119.47.3:15326
[23:27:22] Failed to establish outgoing connection [65.28.182.62:16705 []] : Connection timed out: no further information
[23:27:22] Connection Ended with 65.28.182.62:16705 []
[23:27:27] 24.163.239.143:6881 [Azureus 2.2.0.2] has sent BitField
[23:27:27] Sent Interested message to 24.163.239.143:6881
[23:27:31] 68.231.139.73:6881 [Azureus 2.2.0.2] has 2022
[23:27:33] 12.146.227.74:20439 [BitComet 0.56] is unchoking you
[23:27:33] Sent Request piece #347: 65536->81919 message to 12.146.227.74:20439
[23:27:33] Sent Request piece #347: 81920->98303 message to 12.146.227.74:20439
[23:27:37] 68.84.25.8:6884 [BitTornado 0.3.7] has sent BitField
[23:27:37] Sent Interested message to 68.84.25.8:6884
[23:27:42] 64.78.108.6:6884 [BitTornado 0.3.7] has requested #34:0->16383
[23:27:42] 64.78.108.6:6884 [BitTornado 0.3.7] has requested #34:16384->32767
[23:27:49] 64.78.108.6:6884 [BitTornado 0.3.7] is choking you
[23:27:57] 69.164.59.86:6881 [Mainline 3.4.2] is unchoking you
[23:27:57] 69.164.59.86:6881 [Mainline 3.4.2] sent keep-alive
[23:27:57] Sent Request piece #271: 0->16383 message to 69.164.59.86:6881
[23:27:57] Sent Request piece #271: 16384->32767 message to 69.164.59.86:6881
[23:28:04] 68.84.25.8:6884 [BitTornado 0.3.7] sent keep-alive
[23:28:04] Sent Cancel piece #347: 16384->32767 message to 66.126.170.189:6881
[23:28:14] 24.163.239.143:6881 [Azureus 2.2.0.2] is unchoking you
[23:28:14] Sent Request piece #271: 32768->49151 message to 24.163.239.143:6881
[23:28:14] Sent Request piece #271: 49152->65535 message to 24.163.239.143:6881
[23:28:23] 64.78.108.6:6884 [BitTornado 0.3.7] has 384
[23:28:33] Sent Cancel piece #347: 81920->98303 message to 12.146.227.74:20439
[23:28:35] 68.234.210.225:25085 [BitComet 0.56] has sent their handshake
[23:28:35] Sent Bitfield message to 68.234.210.225:25085
[23:28:37] PEPeerServer has accepted an incoming connection from : 68.234.210.225
[23:28:37] Established incoming connection from 68.234.210.225:4678 []
[23:28:37] 68.234.210.225:4678 [BitComet 0.56] exchanged handshake, but peer matches pre-existing identity
[23:28:37] Connection Ended with 68.234.210.225:4678 [BitComet 0.56]
[23:28:38] 68.234.210.225:25085 [BitComet 0.56] has sent BitField
[23:28:38] Sent Interested message to 68.234.210.225:25085
[23:28:42] 64.78.108.6:6884 [BitTornado 0.3.7] sent keep-alive
[23:28:43] 24.151.194.93:6881 [Shad0w 5.8.7] has sent their handshake
[23:28:43] Sent Bitfield message to 24.151.194.93:6881
[23:28:43] 24.151.194.93:6881 [Shad0w 5.8.7] has sent BitField
[23:28:43] Sent Interested message to 24.151.194.93:6881
[23:28:44] 24.131.173.163:6881 [Shad0w 5.8.7] has 228
[23:28:45] 24.131.173.163:6881 [Shad0w 5.8.7] sent keep-alive
[23:28:52] 68.231.139.73:6881 [Azureus 2.2.0.2] has 1991
[23:28:54] 68.231.139.73:6881 [Azureus 2.2.0.2] has 1201
[23:28:57] Sent Cancel piece #271: 16384->32767 message to 69.164.59.86:6881
[23:28:59] PEPeerServer has accepted an incoming connection from : 68.234.210.225
[23:29:03] Established incoming connection from 68.234.210.225:4711 []
[23:29:03] 68.234.210.225:4711 [BitComet 0.56] exchanged handshake, but peer matches pre-existing identity
[23:29:03] Connection Ended with 68.234.210.225:4711 [BitComet 0.56]
[23:29:04] Sent Cancel piece #347: 0->16383 message to 66.126.170.189:6881
[23:29:04] Sent Request piece #271: 16384->32767 message to 66.126.170.189:6881
[23:29:10] 24.131.173.163:6881 [Shad0w 5.8.7] has 1788
[23:29:14] Sent Cancel piece #271: 49152->65535 message to 24.163.239.143:6881
[23:29:18] Sent Keep-alive message to 68.231.139.73:6881
[23:29:18] Sent Keep-alive message to 24.131.173.163:6881
[23:29:23] 68.234.210.225:25085 [BitComet 0.56] sent keep-alive
[23:29:28] 24.131.173.163:6881 [Shad0w 5.8.7] has 1360
[23:29:28] Sent Keep-alive message to 68.119.47.3:15326
[23:29:28] 68.119.47.3:15326 [Azureus 2.2.0.2] sent keep-alive
[23:29:28] 68.119.47.3:15326 [Azureus 2.2.0.2] is unchoking you
[23:29:28] Sent Request piece #271: 49152->65535 message to 68.119.47.3:15326
[23:29:28] Sent Request piece #271: 65536->81919 message to 68.119.47.3:15326
[23:29:33] Sent Cancel piece #347: 65536->81919 message to 12.146.227.74:20439
[23:29:33] Sent Request piece #271: 81920->98303 message to 12.146.227.74:20439
[23:29:43] Sent Keep-alive message to 68.84.25.8:6884
[23:29:57] Sent Cancel piece #271: 0->16383 message to 69.164.59.86:6881
[23:29:57] Sent Request piece #271: 0->16383 message to 69.164.59.86:6881
[23:29:58] Saving Download List (3 items)
[23:29:58] Saving state for download 'ph1995-09-30ii.dvdf'
[23:30:14] Sent Cancel piece #271: 32768->49151 message to 24.163.239.143:6881
[23:30:14] Sent Request piece #271: 32768->49151 message to 24.163.239.143:6881
[23:30:14] PEPeerServer has accepted an incoming connection from : 65.28.182.62
[23:30:18] Established incoming connection from 65.28.182.62:4875 []
[23:30:18] Sent Handshake of DataID: C35649B889AF471D441B73F930D302116B2E9424 PeerID: -AZ2202-6Eas7A16d0JY message to 65.28.182.62:4875
[23:30:20] 68.234.210.225:25085 [BitComet 0.56] is unchoking you
[23:30:21] Sent Request piece #271: 98304->114687 message to 68.234.210.225:25085
[23:30:21] Sent Request piece #271: 114688->131071 message to 68.234.210.225:25085

ProducerDrew
2005-02-25, 12:32 AM
It keeps on failing to establish an outgoing connection; it's like there's some sort of firewall problem, but I'm running this directly from my cable modem to laptop, no router to mess with IPs or anything. Any ideas based on any of Azureus' error messages? Hopefully? :)

Rider
2005-02-25, 01:18 AM
I have a strange feeling your ISP is blocking ports and not telling. I've found my ISP to be clueless. I have road runner and found the people at the local oficce will have no clue about port blocking traffic and stuff like that. They will just keep sending the same retarded tech out to my house. I know a girl who was hired to be a cable installer for Road Runner, the night before she started work I had to teach how to install a NIC card.

I know for a fact there have been serveral times my ISP has cut back my connection and my speeds. I call them and they always say they don't do that. Then they send a guy to do all sorts of work that has'nt worked the last 40 times they have been out here.

It's funny how these problems I have only happen durring months when I'm using BT heavily. Then once a new billing period starts everything works fine again.

My point, your ISP is blocking something, the people you talk are either to dumb to know or are jsut plain lying to you. The fact that they keep sending someone out to your house is a sign that they are dumb.

ProducerDrew
2005-02-25, 11:02 AM
Rider, I think you're absolutely right. I'm going to try going to another Vista III Media cable user's house on the other end of town today, then try someone's house that has BellSouth DSL, and see if I can BT on any of them. If I can't BT at the other cable modem at all, I'm guessing it's the whole city's system that's got the problem, not just my house. Which sucks, but means that it may get fixed (but probably not, since I seem to be the only one in town complaining). If BT works fine at the other person's cable internet connection but not at mine, I'm calling up the national office and requesting that whatever the hell they have blocked on my connection be removed or risk losing my business to BellSouth effective immediately. You said that you've called and confronted a co. like this, but I couldn't figure out whether that actually did you any good or not -- my big thing is, every week I go without a BT connection, I'm missing out on three or four new GREAT releases getting dropped on this board, and I'll end up spending the same in $$ on blanks and trades that I would on a connection if this doesn't get taken care of soon.. I'm usually a patient guy, but if this problem getting fixed will take a full month's billing cycle, or possibly more, I'm not going to bullshit around like that. Is that the only way your problem was fixed (by waiting)? I don't really trust them to have it fixed if all I do is wait.. although daily telephone calls and tech support visits don't seem to help, either.

Rider
2005-02-25, 02:02 PM
Rider, I think you're absolutely right. I'm going to try going to another Vista III Media cable user's house on the other end of town today, then try someone's house that has BellSouth DSL, and see if I can BT on any of them. If I can't BT at the other cable modem at all, I'm guessing it's the whole city's system that's got the problem, not just my house. Which sucks, but means that it may get fixed (but probably not, since I seem to be the only one in town complaining). If BT works fine at the other person's cable internet connection but not at mine, I'm calling up the national office and requesting that whatever the hell they have blocked on my connection be removed or risk losing my business to BellSouth effective immediately. You said that you've called and confronted a co. like this, but I couldn't figure out whether that actually did you any good or not -- my big thing is, every week I go without a BT connection, I'm missing out on three or four new GREAT releases getting dropped on this board, and I'll end up spending the same in $$ on blanks and trades that I would on a connection if this doesn't get taken care of soon.. I'm usually a patient guy, but if this problem getting fixed will take a full month's billing cycle, or possibly more, I'm not going to bullshit around like that. Is that the only way your problem was fixed (by waiting)? I don't really trust them to have it fixed if all I do is wait.. although daily telephone calls and tech support visits don't seem to help, either.


Nope it never really helped me at all. One thing I found though with Road Runner. When you call Road Roader they have a menu system. At one point they ask "Is the connection light on your modem blinking or off" if you say its blinking they send you the local office, if you say the light is on steady, you connect to the national tech center. Not sure if your comapnay is like that but I found no mater what always talk to the national guys.

I"m sure my problem is still, I jsut dont notice cause I dont download much anymore, last month twoards the entil of the billing period it started acting but that was just for a few days.