PDA

View Full Version : anyone know how to name a folder with a leading dot?


cmaz
2005-02-08, 04:59 PM
i know this is kind of way off topic, but i wonder if anyone here can answer this:

back when i installed the furthurnet app on my computer, it created a folder named ".furthur" (leading period, no quotes). i didn't like where it created it, so i made another one on my D drive with the same name. Now, when i recently tried to make another folder with a leading dot, my computer wouldn't let me do it. i'll type something like ".tourecooder" (again, no quotes) and i get an error message saying, "you must type a name."

i can't rmember if there was a trick to it back when i did it with the furthur folder but i don't think so....So, does anyone know how to name a folder with a leading dot?

wazoo2u
2005-02-08, 06:54 PM
I typed ".aaaa" on my WinXP SP2 machine and had no problem creating the directory.

diggrd
2005-02-09, 12:45 AM
My win2000 machine gave me the same error in windows explorer but I could do it from the command prompt no problem

wazoo2u
2005-02-09, 07:46 AM
I typed ".aaaa" on my WinXP SP2 machine and had no problem creating the directory.
OK, check that. I used PowerDesk Explorer to create the folder. Using "My Computer" or Windows Explorer, it failed.

Wacky windows bug. Try a 3rd party file manager.

kotti
2005-02-09, 07:57 AM
Or just use the command prompt like diggrd suggested :) The command for creating a directory is md (short for make directory I guess) so "md .something" does the job.

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\k>md .something

C:\Documents and Settings\k>dir
Volume in drive C is C-WinXP
Volume Serial Number is A48D-90D5

Directory of C:\Documents and Settings\k

09.02.2005 14:56 <DIR> .
09.02.2005 14:56 <DIR> ..
09.02.2005 14:56 <DIR> .something
08.02.2005 20:46 <DIR> Desktop
04.01.2005 13:48 <DIR> Favorites
24.01.2005 21:56 <DIR> My Documents
22.12.2004 22:31 <DIR> Start Menu
0 File(s) 0 bytes
7 Dir(s) 2 159 190 016 bytes free

C:\Documents and Settings\k>

cmaz
2005-02-09, 05:45 PM
D'oh! DOS, yeah, i should have thought of trying that.

Thanks!

ssamadhi97
2005-02-09, 06:08 PM
cmd.exe != DOS

Windows has stopped being a "part" of DOS several years ago.

</nitpick> :p

Punkishlyevil
2005-02-09, 06:10 PM
I want to make a directory called "...And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead" (without the quotes of course) but it seems that because I put spaces there it made a folder for each individual word. So I did it without the spaces and figured I could just edit it later, and the ... worked find before the spaces, but after I tried to add them, it said "you must type a file name". Is there anyway to get around this?

kotti
2005-02-09, 06:35 PM
Command prompt is your friend.

C:\Documents and Settings\k>md "...And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead"

C:\Documents and Settings\k>dir
Volume in drive C is C-WinXP
Volume Serial Number is A48D-90D5

Directory of C:\Documents and Settings\k

10.02.2005 01:34 <DIR> .
10.02.2005 01:34 <DIR> ..
10.02.2005 01:34 <DIR> ...And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead

09.02.2005 14:56 <DIR> .something
08.02.2005 20:46 <DIR> Desktop
04.01.2005 13:48 <DIR> Favorites
24.01.2005 21:56 <DIR> My Documents
22.12.2004 22:31 <DIR> Start Menu
0 File(s) 0 bytes
8 Dir(s) 1 326 686 208 bytes free

C:\Documents and Settings\k>

Punkishlyevil
2005-02-09, 07:01 PM
Command prompt is your friend.

C:\Documents and Settings\k>md "...And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead"

C:\Documents and Settings\k>dir
Volume in drive C is C-WinXP
Volume Serial Number is A48D-90D5

Directory of C:\Documents and Settings\k

10.02.2005 01:34 <DIR> .
10.02.2005 01:34 <DIR> ..
10.02.2005 01:34 <DIR> ...And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead

09.02.2005 14:56 <DIR> .something
08.02.2005 20:46 <DIR> Desktop
04.01.2005 13:48 <DIR> Favorites
24.01.2005 21:56 <DIR> My Documents
22.12.2004 22:31 <DIR> Start Menu
0 File(s) 0 bytes
8 Dir(s) 1 326 686 208 bytes free

C:\Documents and Settings\k>


Sorry, I am not familiar with doing things via the command prompt so I did not know I needed quotes to make it all one. But thank you. :)