PDA

View Full Version : 2 questions about burning a dvd...


YouEnjoyMytrades
2007-02-02, 10:36 PM
I have this junky program that came w/ my laptop called "Power2Go" and you can burn cd's/dvds with it. But it's not letting me burn them.

So I have DVD Architect 2.0 on my computer. And the thing I downloaded fits on 1 DVD but in Architect studio it says its too big and needs to be split up. Even when I do that, it doesn't let me click the final button to burn it.

Does anyone know what I can do about this?


Next, I went to download.com to look for a nero program to use, and i can get a 30 day trial of nero 7 ultra enhanced something. sounds good, but its apparently a large program that takes up a lot of space, and i don't want that. I would prefer an older program of nero that i can just simply burn a dvd with. But on download.com there doesn't seem to be older versions that I could find.

So if anyone could direct me to a place to download an older, more simple version of nero that would be greatly appreciated.

thanks.

schmoe75
2007-02-02, 10:58 PM
My sig

YouEnjoyMytrades
2007-02-03, 10:59 AM
Okay, so now I downloaded ONES, and this program looks like its a really nice program to use, very simply laid out. When I click "Record" to burn my dvd it says "Waiting target drive (E: )..."

what does this mean?

I've tried 4 different kinds of DVDs, Verbatim DVD-R, Sony DVD+R, Maxell DVD+R, and some Generic DVD-R.


I was trying to use my Power2Go program and I was looking at "supported discs" and it had all the different kinds of dvd discs but said "Read only" and I looked under the supported cds and next to those it would say Read/Write or something like that.


Can anyone help me? Any solutions/tips/info/anything?

YouEnjoyMytrades
2007-02-03, 11:34 AM
well apparently my computer doesn't have a dvd burner? i always thought it did.

I have a gateway mx3231 laptop.

I looked online and other people were saying they can burn dvds on there, do you have to pay extra when you BUY the laptop to get the dvd burner w/ the computeR? this really ticks me off now.


whats the best way to transfer dvd files to a computer that i know how to burn dvds on?

U2Lynne
2007-02-03, 12:00 PM
Many times when you buy a computer, you have various options you can add/subtract. I would guess that having a DVD burner vs. CD burner was one of the options.

You may try using ftp to transfer the files, if that is an option. Or, if the computers are on the same network, you can do a direct transfer over ethernet. You can also connect them via firewire, if they both have that capability. Depending on the size of the files, burning as data to CDs is also an option.

Five
2007-02-03, 02:58 PM
whats the best way to transfer dvd files to a computer that i know how to burn dvds on?
get an external HD with a USB connector (about $40) and as big a HD as you can afford (I bought a 320GB HD for about $100 a few months ago, prices still dropping!).

Then you can spit stuff out to the external and re-connect to another computer that can burn DVDs and/or archive stuff on the external. Its really easy to hook it all up.

hope this helps

YouEnjoyMytrades
2007-02-03, 03:19 PM
unfortunately my laptop doesn't have a firewire port, it is a pretty standard laptop.

The first thing I thought of was to burn the files onto cd's but each file is about 900 MB individually so that doesn't fit on a cd.

I'll look in to getting an external harddrive, i've been thinking about that.

What I might also try is put the video files into my video editing software and then before I save the file it gives me an estimate of how big the file size is going to be and its usually pretty close, so then if the file sizes are small enough to put them on a cd to transfer to a different computer I'm going to do that.


Thank you for the replies though. :thumbsup

Five
2007-02-03, 03:28 PM
Your laptop doesn't have a USB port?? Please double-check that, it is a really standard thing on all computers and laptops for many years now.

If you want to burn to cdrs, you could use spanning rar files set to 700MB each, then re-assemble them on another computer. here is a free proggy that can do it: http://www.7-zip.org/

YouEnjoyMytrades
2007-02-03, 03:47 PM
i have usb ports, i don't have a firewire port.

"If you want to burn to cdrs, you could use spanning rar files set to 700MB each, then re-assemble them on another computer. here is a free proggy that can do it: http://www.7-zip.org/"

please explain a little more about this, i am not aware of this?

thisistoto
2007-02-03, 05:24 PM
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/showthread.php?t=16114&highlight=youenjoymytrades



Trying to play catch up? :lol: