PDA

View Full Version : How many ports needed?


hey-daddio
2007-01-25, 11:24 PM
Hi,

My cable company seems to be blocking the bittorrent ports for the last week or more now. Torrents seem to upload ok while downloading, but when done will not connect to anyone although the light is green. I have two old boxes (with W98 and bittornado) that run torrents exclusively and have the 6881-6999 port range split between them. (I have noted the suggestions to change to the range of 40000-52000.)

My question, being an idjit on such matters, is:

Is only one port # needed per machine? Or one # per torrent for each instance of bittornado? Or more? The more the merrier?

I would suspect the first is correct and I've been exposing myself recklessly, but again; I'm an idjit, or at least made to feel that way by computers sometimes.


Thanks
Bob

U2Lynne
2007-01-25, 11:37 PM
It depends on the bittorrent client you are using. Azureus, and I think utorrent also, only need one port and all traffic goes through that port. Other clients need one port per torrent running.

hey-daddio
2007-01-25, 11:53 PM
Thanks U2Lynne, you are a true gem....