PDA

View Full Version : portforwarding question??

Jeff B
2007-01-17, 07:56 PM
I bought a router, I have a static ip address on my computer, when I forward a port--the website shows me as firewalled. If I don't forward a port and just have a static IP on my computer--I show up as firewalled. Neither seem to allow me to connect to more people or increase my speed Whats up??????
I have a dynamic IP connection from ATT DSL

cicada
2007-01-18, 12:03 AM
I am by no means an expert at getting things set up properly (feel free to disregard my comments). The mods here are so helpful and I am sure resources exist right here at the Traders Den that would address your issues. I will share my resources in an effort to help.

You did not mention whether you have PC or Mac and you did not mention the router (wireless, etc). You may have already hit the portforwarding website http://www.portforward.com/routers.htm. If not, check it out!

Also be sure to open up the firewall if you are on windows xp http://gruven42.webhop.org/xpfwbt/xp_firewall_bt.htm.

I am sure there are much more knowledgeable folks than I (again, my apologies if you already have this stuff covered). It was somewhat of a chore for me to properly set up a static IP. I trust you that you got that part covered. I used this site to steer me http://www.portforward.com/networking/staticip.htm.

Oh, regarding port forwarding on my router, my router mfr advised me to open the DMZ and this worked, but it was a mistake. Once I found the portforwarding website above I discovered that I would need the DNS Server #. So, I did have to call my ip for the DNS Server #. Once I had those numbers, I was good to go (Again, I am NOT suggesting using DMZ~!)

If none of this helps... maybe it will get some others thinking about possible solutions that I have overlooked. Good luck!

U2Lynne
2007-01-18, 09:57 AM
We do need some more info Jeff - what OS are you using, how about your XP firewall, do you have anti-virus programs?