PDA

View Full Version : transferring cassettes to cdr


PEPPER
2006-12-26, 04:20 PM
I have quite a few cassette tapes that id love to get transferred to cdr.The music probably wouldnt be of great interest to anyone else as its just a local band i taped with a dictaphone.Although the quality obviously isnt great id like them to be transferred and saved as lossless recordings.Would anyone be at all interested in helping me out,im sure something can be arranged in return.I really have no skill at all with doing this kind of thing,and would rather leave up to someone who knows what theyre doing from the start.Id prefer it was someone in the u.k but beggars cant always be choosers.

SallySimpson
2006-12-26, 04:48 PM
I'm interested in this issue as well, I would like to know which software I need and so, but to put the tape into my comp as wab, or other lossless formats.
My b/f put some of my vinyls into CD with polderbits, well, I don't have this app. any more.
Any idea?

Thanks.

AAR.oner
2006-12-27, 07:35 AM
you will need an audio card or A/D device to run your tape deck thru to the comp [RCA being the lowest quality connection, some higher end dwecks and cards will also have digital transfer capabilities]...you can then use any audio recording program to capture with...imo, the best free program being Audacity
http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

PEPPER--are these standard cassettes, or those micro ones? and what kinda bands are they? PM me and i might be able to help out

PEPPER
2006-12-27, 08:54 AM
I only have a cheap stereo and doing tape to tape is causing problems.I want to make copies of my master cassettes so i dont have to send of the orginals.But when playing it back( the copy) the sound is only in one speaker.When i wound it back a bit further it was in both speakers.I know it isnt my speakers with a lose connection as ive checked and double checked all that.Now im left with a situation,do it forget it or send the masters and take the risk of them getting lost/damaged in transit.

PEPPER
2006-12-27, 02:46 PM
The band are called the vow ,here is a short intro to them.

The Vow were a 3 piece Dark Heavy Pop combo, formed in Peterborough England Feb.1997 by Vocalist & Guitarist Paul Cummins and Bassist Rich Mackman. After some months writing and demoing songs, the pair were introduced to Steve Farmer who lived in the nearby town of Oundle- a phenomenal drummer who's rambunctious enthusiasm completed the line-up and cemmented an astonishingly powerful union that was to last for the next three years.

Within weeks the band had recorded its first feisty demo with gifted producer Andy Hawkins and proceeded to gig its fucking arse off across the UK for the following 18 months, picking up rave fanzine reviews, choice support slots and a couple of near misses with labels (Elemental Records financed an EP in November 1999) The Vow were also featured in Kerrang Magazine's best unsigned bands feature in April 2000.

With the addition of 2nd guitarist Mike Mueller the band continued to play shows through until Sept 2000. Sadly, The Vow's short but roallercoaster career was to end here, over worked and burnt out from touring, and in Schism with their manager Steve Loughlin, who'd managed to run up a fairsized debt, they decided to call it a day.
In the 3 years that they were together, The Vow recorded 5 CDs, and played over 200 shows, A worthy and passionate monument to their hard work, self belief and dedicated commitment.

direwolf-pgh
2006-12-27, 09:04 PM
years back I tried this - with some success. A tape deck to the computer may need a pre-amp because straight "line-in" signal strength may not be strong enough... I'm about to do a "Janes" tape from my master. may need some help.
Normally I would do a
tape deck>16bandEQ>computer>"your choice of recording program"

-could someone correct/assist if there is a better way.

Five
2006-12-28, 09:21 AM
^wolf, you're using the EQ strictly as a preamp? not bad in a pinch, but one of the things that I like about the E-MU 0404 is that it can boost/cut/left-right balance the level at input right as it enters the computer. Which card have you got there?

direwolf-pgh
2006-12-28, 09:50 AM
^wolf, you're using the EQ strictly as a preamp? not bad in a pinch, but one of the things that I like about the E-MU 0404 is that it can boost/cut/left-right balance the level at input right as it enters the computer. Which card have you got there?Yes - I was using the EQ as a pre-amp. Then using a RCA>1/8"stereo cable into a standard 16bit sound card (Mac or PC) for straight capture.
I was thinking of other options to capture off the tape deck.
I know I cant use my Sony MiniDisc..too bad I can't record direct to an ipod.
I have a digital cam - but no benefit there..
any thoughts appreciated :) and thanks.

GreyfulDave
2006-12-28, 10:55 AM
Can you run Cool Edit to capture, cut tracks and clean up? That's what werks for me using the back door on my comp and the line in straight to Cool Edit. Werked fantasicly on cds that have stoppers as well. Like the new McKennitt i did last nite, encoded with a "start.exe" (no copy bug)stuck to the capture any other way. Cheers, greyfulDave :wave:

Five
2006-12-28, 12:17 PM
Yes - I was using the EQ as a pre-amp. Then using a RCA>1/8"stereo cable into a standard 16bit sound card (Mac or PC) for straight capture.
I was thinking of other options to capture off the tape deck.
I know I cant use my Sony MiniDisc..too bad I can't record direct to an ipod.
I have a digital cam - but no benefit there..
any thoughts appreciated :) and thanks.
well, there's this:
http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Product_Id=277661

I've got one, it also has 1/8" line in but I haven't tested how good it is (I'm guessing its decent). the mic is really nice aside from the huge problem that there is no way to adjust the input volume. That would probably do better than a stock soundcard :down:

You really really should upgrade that soundcard... the previously-mentioned E-MU 0404 I've used a lot, bit of an awkward interface at first but it allows you to boost/cut the input before it hits the wav editor (unlike M-Audio Audiophile 2496 which only cuts). The difference is quite significant, price is only about $120CDN in my city.

What about the cassette deck? They are not all created equal... I'm using a Yamaha KX-650, you can find them these days on ebay for around $20 (of course, they used to cost much much more).

spiritinaphoto
2006-12-28, 01:39 PM
I only have a cheap stereo and doing tape to tape is causing problems.I want to make copies of my master cassettes so i dont have to send of the orginals.But when playing it back( the copy) the sound is only in one speaker.When i wound it back a bit further it was in both speakers.I know it isnt my speakers with a lose connection as ive checked and double checked all that.Now im left with a situation,do it forget it or send the masters and take the risk of them getting lost/damaged in transit.
Maybe you should see if there's anyone local to do it if you're that worried about losing your masters and if you don't want to invest in new hardware. What town are you in?

PEPPER
2006-12-28, 02:02 PM
Ive got it sorted now,ive arranged it with someone. :)

direwolf-pgh
2006-12-28, 02:35 PM
well, there's this:
http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Product_Id=277661

I've got one, it also has 1/8" line in but I haven't tested how good it is (I'm guessing its decent). the mic is really nice aside from the huge problem that there is no way to adjust the input volume. That would probably do better than a stock soundcard :down:

You really really should upgrade that soundcard... the previously-mentioned E-MU 0404 I've used a lot, bit of an awkward interface at first but it allows you to boost/cut the input before it hits the wav editor (unlike M-Audio Audiophile 2496 which only cuts). The difference is quite significant, price is only about $120CDN in my city.

What about the cassette deck? They are not all created equal... I'm using a Yamaha KX-650, you can find them these days on ebay for around $20 (of course, they used to cost much much more).
thats a cool product for the ipod - too bad i dont have the video model.
-i can upgrade my soundcard>then do the usual connect/config.
-I have 3 tape decks ..that I dont use. :lol: Id use the Harmon-Kardon 3head/3 motor for the transfer.
this looks a tasty gadget for the job - but this tape isnt worth the $350M-AUDIO MICROTRACK 24/96 (http://remixmag.com/mag/remix_maudio_microtrack/index.html)
ok.. I think I have the bases covered now and know which direction to head.
Thanks Five & everyone

SundayDriver
2006-12-28, 04:11 PM
Is there someone here that specificially offers to do tape transfers?

I have two master audience tapes from '96 that were walkman recorded. I would like to transfer them over to digital format and was planning to go tape>iRiver iHP 120. But I pulled out the specs on my tape deck to find out that it's only 120-10000 Hz. That's pretty poor! But I'm wondering if it would matter if the walkman only supported up to perhaps 15000 Hz. :hmm:

PEPPER
2006-12-30, 11:02 AM
Maybe you should see if there's anyone local to do it if you're that worried about losing your masters and if you don't want to invest in new hardware. What town are you in?



Im in plymouth,devon uk,so this is my plea to anyone in the plymouth area.I need someone who i can send my master tapes to,and have them transferred onto data discs ( or dvd) in flac format.I dont expect this done for the love of it,so hopefully something can be arranged.If there isnt anyone on here local enough...then i l have to think of something else.

spiritinaphoto
2006-12-30, 01:52 PM
Im in plymouth,devon uk,so this is my plea to anyone in the plymouth area.I need someone who i can send my master tapes to,and have them transferred onto data discs ( or dvd) in flac format.I dont expect this done for the love of it,so hopefully something can be arranged.If there isnt anyone on here local enough...then i l have to think of something else.
I think it'd help if you altered the thread title slightly to indicate you're looking for someone in your area--I imagine it'd get a bit more attention. You might also want to try the tapers' section on here.

Five
2006-12-31, 01:11 PM
I have two master audience tapes from '96 that were walkman recorded. I would like to transfer them over to digital format and was planning to go tape>iRiver iHP 120. But I pulled out the specs on my tape deck to find out that it's only 120-10000 Hz. That's pretty poor! But I'm wondering if it would matter if the walkman only supported up to perhaps 15000 Hz. :hmm:
it matters. imagine an mp3 encoder that cuts off at 10k instead of 15k ... huge diff!

thats a cool product for the ipod - too bad i dont have the video model.
-i can upgrade my soundcard>then do the usual connect/config.
-I have 3 tape decks ..that I dont use. :lol: Id use the Harmon-Kardon 3head/3 motor for the transfer.
this looks a tasty gadget for the job - but this tape isnt worth the $350M-AUDIO MICROTRACK 24/96 (http://remixmag.com/mag/remix_maudio_microtrack/index.html)
ok.. I think I have the bases covered now and know which direction to head.
Thanks Five & everyone
the microtrack2496 is worth getting for taping new shows. HK is quite a good deck. just grab a soundcard, M-Audio2496 or E-MU0404 for $120 or so for better digital recording and also better playback.

chaos
2007-01-14, 08:34 PM
Chiming in a little late here but has anyone thought about one of these if they have a lot of cassette's to transfer ?
Just slide it into an empty drive bay.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Plusdeck2c-PC-Cassette-Deck-Tape-To-MP3-Converter-Drive_W0QQitemZ220071397089QQihZ012QQcategoryZ86535QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item220071397089

Thought about getting one awhile back but i don't have enough cassettes to make it worth while and it would end up collecting dust :cool:

Audioarchivist
2007-01-15, 12:35 AM
Chiming in a little late here but has anyone thought about one of these if they have a lot of cassette's to transfer ?
Just slide it into an empty drive bay.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Plusdeck2c-PC-Cassette-Deck-Tape-To-MP3-Converter-Drive_W0QQitemZ220071397089QQihZ012QQcategoryZ86535QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item220071397089

Thought about getting one awhile back but i don't have enough cassettes to make it worth while and it would end up collecting dust :cool:

Wow. Kind of interesting for a novice, but wow and flutter on an auto-reverse deck would suck. Azimuth adjustment (tape head alignment to the recorded tracks on the tape) is crucial for optimum sound reproduction,and high frequencies...
I'd rather get a good real tape deck on Ebay and plug that into a sound card or whatever... which I did years ago.:tunes:

Five
2007-01-15, 11:39 AM
^I agree

they have something similar for transferring vinyl to audio cdr, with a built-in crap turntable and standalone burner for ppl who can't seem to plug a couple wires together and use a wav editor.

do it right, those all-in-one units are for ppl like my grandma.

AAR.oner
2007-01-15, 04:37 PM
i usually just run my mics about 8 ft from my stereo speakers, ORTF @<hidden> ~3.5', and press play on the tape deck ;)

:D

in all seriousness, the old adage "if it looks to good to be true, it probably is" holds even more weight in the video/audio/computer world...