PDA

View Full Version : Problems with connection cutting out


Snowdogyyz
2006-12-19, 09:54 AM
I have a cable modem (Time Warner Cable) and a linksys router. Many times when I download a show, it will work for awhile and then just stop. Then, I have to unplug the modem and router, let them sit for a minute, plug the modem in, then plug the router back in. Then, it may work, or it may kick out again. This does not happen when using email or internet. It is starting to happen quite a bit, which makes it very difficult to download and keep the share ratio up. Anyone have an idea on what this could be? I didn't have this problem when I first hooked up the router. Any help is appreciated.

U2Lynne
2006-12-19, 01:53 PM
That happened to me with our old linksys also. Then I read that some linksys models do have problems with p2p sharing and cut out (as you are seeing) and so we got a D-Link and haven't had any problems.

Which model linksys do you have? You may want to take a look at the website and see if this is mentioned. And, do you have the firmware up-to-date (since maybe they've fixed this problem)?

Snowdogyyz
2006-12-19, 02:29 PM
That happened to me with our old linksys also. Then I read that some linksys models do have problems with p2p sharing and cut out (as you are seeing) and so we got a D-Link and haven't had any problems.

Which model linksys do you have? You may want to take a look at the website and see if this is mentioned. And, do you have the firmware up-to-date (since maybe they've fixed this problem)?


Ahh, that could be it. I will check tonight when I get home and try that out. Thanks very much for the input!

Five
2006-12-19, 05:04 PM
I'll check my linksys as well, I sometimes get the same prob

thanks

paddington
2006-12-19, 05:20 PM
some of the older linksys WRT series firmware had problems with ports being saturated due to not letting go when the client stops using them. It's a known issue and it's in the uTorrent FAQ. Go to linksys.com and find the downloads for your router, based on the model tag on the BOTTOM (not the silkscreen on the front). Get the right firmware and flash it with version 4.x or higher. Fixed my problem.

Snowdogyyz
2006-12-19, 09:39 PM
My router was old enough that the firmware didn't fix it. I went out and bought a new one and so far, so good!

saltman
2006-12-20, 08:40 AM
I had the same experience as you without the router... with TWC. They came out and did some diagnostics and determined it was a bad modem and poor wiring. They redid the wiring, gave me a new modem and now it's all good. It took multiple calls in to tech support to get them to come out. At least 12.

SRVRules
2006-12-20, 10:09 PM
james I hope that solution works for me too. I just upgraded the firmware on my linksys to 4.3 or something (WRT54G v.2). I get really tired of having to power off the pc, modem and router every 24-36 hours.

Thanks for the tip!