PDA

View Full Version : Capture Question


pigebear
2006-12-07, 01:45 PM
I am trying to capture a video from my miniDV to my pc I have adobe premiere pro 1.5 . I have no trouble with frame drop but the video file for a 1 hour tape is 14 gigs AVI. Is this right? What do i do ? It must be a preference setting that I am doing wrong. Any help would be Great THank for all your Knowlage. Sorry for the newbie Question

AAR.oner
2006-12-07, 05:36 PM
that sounds about right for one hour of raw footage...after synching/editing, you'll use whatever DVD authoring you have to compress the avi's down to the typical 4GB DVD...

pigebear
2006-12-09, 06:30 PM
Wow I knew that the file would need some space on my hard drive but not the whole thing :lol Now the question is how do you trade such a big file. I need to get the raw file to another filmer by Snail Mail. What would the standard trader do, I do know he wants to edit both our cams together so he does not want it compressed to DVD/ the only thing I could come up with is send him the master DV tapes but I do not know him that well to trust the masters? I Guess I'm stuck for now . Thanks for the Help!!!

AAR.oner
2006-12-09, 07:02 PM
i know in Final Cut, you can set your capture preference to limit capture file size to xxxxMB...yer program should have a similar option...i usually keep mine set to 4GB, makes it easier for archiving the raw footage on data dvdrs, or for sending people the footage...it'd mean having to re-capture the tape(s) tho

there's numerous programs out there that can split large avi files as well...i'd check videohelp.com for more info

stantheman1976
2006-12-09, 09:44 PM
Might be best to send him a clone of the tape. Transfer the footage to your PC and use Premieire to send it back to another tape. It will be an exact copy of what you have and the other person can transfer it however they please.