PDA

View Full Version : making new torrent..error -> to large.....


bigwurock
2006-11-05, 12:10 AM
trying to upload a show & when i am done making the torrent & try to upload it with the submit page it give me an error..to large...i come up with like a 600+kb torrent..i think max is like 350kb or something...it is for a dvd..any ideas on what i should do..??..i have never come across this before
thanks

schmoe75
2006-11-05, 12:14 AM
hhmmm, how big a show is it? Teddy uploaded his PH 12/31/99 seed that was 20+ gigs and Nightfall uploaded a torrent in the last month that was around 20 gigs...which is a good question? i think you're right, there's a limit of around 300 kb for the torrent file....Lynne?

U2Lynne
2006-11-05, 12:18 AM
What program are you using to make the torrent? (We've had people say they had problems uploading torrents created with torrentspy.)

bigwurock
2006-11-05, 12:20 AM
hhmmm, how big a show is it? Teddy uploaded his PH 12/31/99 seed that was 20+ gigs and Nightfall uploaded a torrent in the last month that was around 20 gigs...which is a good question? i think you're right, there's a limit of around 300 kb for the torrent file....Lynne?


show is only 8.03GB...just 2 dvds...my torrent comes out to be 645kbs...this is really strange...i have redone it 4 times and comes out the same size everytime... :hmm:

U2Lynne
2006-11-05, 12:23 AM
What application are you using to make the torrent file? And, have you ever used another before? What bt client are you using?

bigwurock
2006-11-05, 12:27 AM
What program are you using to make the torrent? (We've had people say they had problems uploading torrents created with torrentspy.)


am still using bittorrent 4. something...i am wondering if it got screwed up...because a new bitttorent 5.0 came out and asked me if i wanted to download it...i did but could not get that to work so i went back to my old version & now this has started...never a problem with all the other uploads..??

bigwurock
2006-11-05, 12:28 AM
btw...390.6kb is the max...just in case anyone needs to know....

Chachi420
2006-11-05, 12:34 AM
yeah, I had that problem on occasion when I used to use torrentspys...it was strange...I switched to maketorrent2 after lynne's suggestion and that worked for me. Try maketorrent2 and see if that helps

U2Lynne
2006-11-05, 12:35 AM
When you create a torrent, many programs ask what size you want the 'Piece Size' to be. Default is usually pretty large, but if you make it smaller, the torrent size will be larger. Do you have the option to change that size? (Azureus suggests 2 MB for a 4 GB show I have, so perhaps choose 3 or 4 MB?)

schmoe75
2006-11-05, 12:37 AM
show is only 8.03GB...just 2 dvds...my torrent comes out to be 645kbs:
Is that 645 kb or 64.5 kb?

Teddy's 12/31/99
Full Size: 25.63 GB, Torrent File Size: 261.0 KB

bigwurock
2006-11-05, 12:44 AM
When you create a torrent, many programs ask what size you want the 'Piece Size' to be. Default is usually pretty large, but if you make it smaller, the torrent size will be larger. Do you have the option to change that size? (Azureus suggests 2 MB for a 4 GB show I have, so perhaps choose 3 or 4 MB?)


i am using bittorrent 4.4.1..when i make a torrent the box gives me this...

make torrent file for this file/directory (search for the files/folder)
then it says piece size...32kb,64kb,128kb,256kb,512kb,512kb,1.0mb,2.0mb
i have it on 256...can't remember if it was always on this or not
then it just needs the tracker addy....

bigwurock
2006-11-05, 12:45 AM
Is that 645 kb or 64.5 kb?

Teddy's 12/31/99
Full Size: 25.63 GB, Torrent File Size: 261.0 KB


nope it comes out at a full 645kb...crazy...

U2Lynne
2006-11-05, 12:46 AM
OK, try to set the piece size to 2.0mb for this torrent.

schmoe75
2006-11-05, 12:52 AM
nope it comes out at a full 645kb...crazy...
yeah, something is way off there...10 gig torrent shouldnt be more than 65-70 kb torrent file or so

U2Lynne
2006-11-05, 01:00 AM
yeah, something is way off there...10 gig torrent shouldnt be more than 65-70 kb torrent file or so
Yeah, I think it must be the default piece size on his client. The bigger the piece size, the smaller the torrent size. Most clients adjust the piece size based on the size of the torrent folder.

bigwurock
2006-11-05, 01:01 AM
OK, try to set the piece size to 2.0mb for this torrent.


i set it to 2.0mb....now this torrent came out to 83kbs......should be good to go right lynne..??..what is the difference on how many kbs..??..does that have anything to do with the speed of the torrent..??..

schmoe75
2006-11-05, 01:06 AM
yes, it should be good, try it again and see what happens.

...and its not kbs...its kb. thats how many kilobytes the torrent file is..not the creation or transfer rate like we're used to with the video/audio codec stats, and has nothing to do with seeding speed ;)

U2Lynne
2006-11-05, 01:11 AM
Do you want me to go geeky on you?

The piece size has to do with the bt clients. If you look at your client details, you will see that it deals in pieces. And, every piece is broken up into many smaller blocks which are actually the parts that you grab via bt. But, you don't get credit in your client until you complete a piece (which is a certain amount of blocks).

If you download a show without stopping (or you have a setting set in your client to say write every step of your download), it will make no difference to you. But, if you stop/start constantly, you may lose some of you show because you don't have your client set to write all your 'blocks' even if you don't have the complete piece.

OK, I don't want to get more geeky than that right now, so.... night! :wave:

bigwurock
2006-11-05, 01:21 AM
thanks schmoe75 & lynne.....you people are full of the smarts!...i didn't know that info lynne, very good info to know...thanks again to both of you.. this is a great place to get help... :thumbsup