PDA

View Full Version : firewalled


jeffl1
2006-11-01, 02:08 PM
i have not been firewalled for two years, and now it says i am firewalled. i do not have a router. so i rechecked my windows fire walls and the ports 6881 to 6889 are still open. any suggestions. jeff

U2Lynne
2006-11-01, 02:12 PM
You might try stopping and then starting your torrent again. Sometimes when the tracker is busy, it give a false 'firewalled' initially.

jeffl1
2006-11-01, 11:47 PM
tried starting and stopping still firewalled

U2Lynne
2006-11-01, 11:52 PM
Do a NAT check: http://btfaq.com/natcheck.pl and if you don't pass there, then something has changed on your end.

jeffl1
2006-11-02, 09:30 AM
i tried the recommended web site and it still says i am fire walled. i deleted all my ports 6881-6889 . then installed them again and no luck . any help appreciated. thanks,jeff

U2Lynne
2006-11-02, 10:34 AM
What changed recently to suddenly make you firewalled?

Does your modem act as a firewall? Try using other ports (like 50000-50010) since some ISP have caught on and are throttling known p2p ports.

jeffl1
2006-11-02, 12:02 PM
changed to other ports 50000-50010 and no difference any other suggestions. thanks,jeff

U2Lynne
2006-11-02, 12:25 PM
You said you used to not be firewalled. Has something changed since then? Have you verified that your ports are forwarded through any sort of firewall you use (XP firewall? Antivirus protection?)

barley masticus
2006-11-02, 12:25 PM
i'm having the same problem. :hmm:
my stats say FIREWALLED, but my light is green...

U2Lynne
2006-11-02, 12:35 PM
barley, it might have been that you connected when the tracker was a bit busy and you got a false firewalled. I looked you up on a couple of torrents and you are fine on all but one (the Al DiMeloa one). I would guess if you stop and then start that one, you won't have the firewalled under your stats any longer.

barley masticus
2006-11-02, 12:40 PM
thanks again, lynne. you got it- busy server.
i'm back to normal. :D

jeffl1
2006-11-02, 02:06 PM
still firewalled checked xp and macafee for forward ports and they are open.